We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A room with a view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Malmaison Newcastle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Malmaison Newcastle to your Saves list
Malmaison Newcastle
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Newcastle Quayside, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3DX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Hexham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A room with a view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Malmaison's house style of decoration, smooth, modern, dark colours is strong here although the hotel is currently in the middle of a revamp. We stayed just one night as part of a wine and food tasting evening but would stay again here or in Malmaisons elsewhere in the country.
Parking is not too far away, across one quiet road, but it is at the top of a multi-storey car park, in the open and costs £10 a night, £4 at weekends. Acess to reception from the rear, the car park side, is not good if you have a handicap. From the front access is fine as it is throughout the rest of the hotel.
Every member of the staff we met was friendly, knowledgable and helpful. The wine and food evening was great, good food, good wines, good company, including senior staff from the hotel and central management.
Our room was on the river front with a view of the millenium bridge with its constant changes of lighting at night. Enchanting is a strong word but it was getting on that way. Bed, bathroom and facilities all fine. Breakfast was ample and excellent with a wide range of choices. As we said we'll cheerfully stay at a Malmaison again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the river side of the hotel have a pleasant view and are as quiet as any in the hotel, whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,083 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    411
    189
    70
    40
See reviews for
88
517
27
185
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Hotel located on quayside next to Millennium bridge with a beautiful view of the 5 bridges. Room was very large, bathroom was very small. Bed was very firm but I slept well. Breakfast was good and tasty. Decor is very dark (dark purple corridors). Overall a decent place but not worthy of 5 stars.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed in this Hotel a few years back when it had just opened and were wowed by the decor and the views. A repeat visit in 2009 saw a few cracks starts to appear. However a more recent stay shows the years have not been worn well. A decade ago the signature color scheme was impressive but is now sadly dated and bit gloomy. What was cutting edge in 2001 now looks like Willy Wonka's retirement home for aging footballers.

Service was very good and the location is hard to beat. Food wise, well, again, the once impressive restaurant now looks tired. The food is well intentioned but ultimately average.

For the price, the game has been raised locally and the Mal just isn't keeping up.

Room Tip: If booking a suite don't go for the very best one - clearly the scene of many a footballer relat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Nice location beside river. Some good restaurants nearby. Room was large and comfortable. Bathroom had very nice toiletries but was small in comparison to room. Breakfast was a little disappointing. Buffet part of breakfast could have had more selection. Parking convenient to hotel and overall a good stay.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

I attended the hotel as I was attending Newcastle County Court the following day. The hotel is excellently located for the Court and offers competitive rates to barristers, thus my reason for visiting Newcastle.

The room was quiet and comfortable and served as a perfect location to work within.

Room service was excellent.

The bar area was relaxed and had a great atmosphere.

Recommended, especially for business travel.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire, UK
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We had one of those no cancellation deals, but for the price we paid we felt we had excellent value for money. Staff were pleasant, helpful and welcoming. Our room, whilst not large, had a fabulous view of the millenium bridge and the Baltic across the Tyne - which is where we went for a good value breakfast of coffee and coissants. The accommodation was clean, comfortable and warm, though it took us a while to adjust to the distinctive subdued lighting and almost funereal mauves and blacks of the interior decor - doubtless all very on trend, but for those of us whose years are slipping by it all presented something of a visual challenge. Still, the younger members of our family have been very impressed indeed that we stayed here rather than somewhere more conventional. I don't think we'll forget our stay!
Finally one thing we liked was the heavily discounted car parking offered by the hotel, which we thought was a nice touch.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I absolutely love this hotel. It's located overlooking the Millenium Bridge which is spectacular especially on an evening when it lights up. The staff in the hotel are always very friendly; the rooms are spacious and "trendy" with comfortable beds; breakfast is ample and the bar is always packed with people enjoying themselves. An extra value to this hotel are the toiletries which you can take home with you when you leave - they are quite large bottles of body wash, conditioner and body lotion with a scent you can't find anywhere else.

This is our third trip to Newcastle and each time we stay in this hotel due to it's location and the wonderful atmosphere as soon as you step inside. It's a tad spooky in as much as the decor and furniture look as though they all belong in a thriller film, but that's all part of the ambience which makes this hotel so unique.

The hotel is a good walk from the centre of Newcastle with an abundance of shops, bars and restaurants. But on an evening there's no need to venture far as restaurants and bars are found along the quay side if you decide you want a change from eating in the hotel itself.

Room Tip: A tip to ensure you stay in one of their best rooms, is to ask for a high floor overlooking the brid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Malmaison Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Newcastle

Address: Newcastle Quayside, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3DX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#11 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#12 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fog on the Tyne? Let's hope not. Otherwise you'll miss the great view of the Tyne Bridge you get from our hotel in Newcastle city centre. But then, when you're staying at Malmaison Newcastle, it's the views on the inside that tell you your boat's come in. While you're right at the heart of Newcastle's great shops and exciting nightlife, the lure of MALBAR's legendary cocktails and the Mal Brasserie's classic dishes with a twist is pretty strong. And who wants to spend all night out on the town when one hotel in Newcastle has a whole floor with a shipbuilding theme and bathtubs you could sink a battleship in? It could only be the Newcastle Mal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Malmaison & Hotel du Vin Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Malmaison Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Newcastle Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Malmaison Newcastle Upon Tyne
Malmaison Newcastle Hotel Upon Tyne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Malmaison Newcastle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.