We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable base with friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Front Street | Whickham, Newcastle upon Tyne NE16 4JG, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Glasgow
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Comfortable base with friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

We stayed one night while attending a family wedding. The staff were efficient and welcoming, and the room was comfortable, with a giant bed and nice bathroom. Breakfast food was OK, and dinner in the restaurant very good. Some areas could do with redecoration, but overall we felt we got fair value for money.
In addition, the hotel organised the wedding reception, which was very well done - again, staff friendly and helpful, food and decor good.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    36
    14
    8
    2
See reviews for
18
26
1
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

I have stayed here alot. Very reasonably priced and I must say that the service is second to none. Nothing is ever too much hassle and everyone bends over backwards to help. I would strongly recommend The Gibside to anybody. Top Class.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2010

This hotel is situated on the corner of a busy road and though they offer underground parking for about 5 vehicles it is a first come first served basis and the alternative is to park in the public car park with public recycling bins. There are no lifts. We experienced our worst nights sleep in this hotel which we chose because it offered a quieter location than the city centre. The bed is a king size which is great and the room is generally clean, modern and would have been comfortable if it hadn't been for the broken fan in the bathroom which after two showers was full of condensation. I had to get up in the middle of the night as the room was sweltering to discover the radiator had come on full pelt, on one of the hottest nights of the year. We requested the quietest room which was at the top and at the end of the corridor but other guests loudly banged their doors inconsiderately. We were woken at 5.40am as somebody decided to throw their glass bottles into the public recycling bins located in the public car park just outside of the hotel.
Breakfast staff were friendly and the food was ok, the restaurant was also friendly.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth, England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2010

My girlfriend and I stayed for one night at the Gibside Hotel while visiting friends living just outside Newcastle city centre. The hotel was quite easy to find using a sat nav, parking was ample and a 10 second walk away. We immediately felt very welcomed by the reception staff member and were pleasantly suprised by the quality of the room and en-suite.

The next morning after a rather heavy night, I enquired (at the very last minute) if we could check out a bit later as we were a bit rushed after a long lie in. The staff member told us to take our time, and not worry about rushing to hand in our keys (which is really refreshing after staying in a lot of London hotels!). When waiting for our friends to join us at the bar, three staff members asked if we were ok, offered to take our bags, and even brought over a drink for us both (which we had not requested!) so the service was really fantastic and refreshing.

Unfortunately I cannot comment on the food (restaurant was Paco's I believe) or the breakfast as we did not have time, otherwise the rest of our stay was great and we will certainly be coming back when visiting our friends again.

Thanks Gibside!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leslie fife
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2007

we stay in the hotel the year before there was 3 felmales and this year because it it was a party of 4 felmales we had to pay a bond of £30 each and then we had to wait in the morning for the staff to check rooms before we could get back out £30 each i did not think this was right and the recep/staff was very rude to us

  • Liked — rooms
  • Disliked — staff but no all the staff the bar staff was nice
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suki45, Sales and Marketing Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2008
Due to the increase in Stag/ Hen weekend bookings in the Newcastle area, we had to make a policy decision regarding groups, especially single sex groups.
We did not previously ask for bonds , but unfortunately, due to a small minority who always spoil things for everbody else - we have had to implement a bond situation for bookings of four plus guests .
The bond is completely refundable providing no damage had been done, no other guests disturbed etc - therefore anyone paying a bond is assured of its return providing their behaviour is acceptable .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2005

Nice hotel, a little difficult to find, not close to centre of Newcastle. The restaurant is excellent and the service was very good... the room was clean but cold on arrival and we did have to request a second set of towels. This could have been tolerated BUT... Our stay was spoiled by the unruly behaviour of other guests who ran up and down corridors and banged very loudly on doors until 4 am. CCTV and a more vigilant night porter would have prevented this. My letter of complaint to the hotel for their negligence in this matter did not seem to be taken too seriously. I would not return! The hotel is not at the cheap end of the market and guests deserve better care than this.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2004

ok hotel, but breakfast cold, most breakfasts sent back

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel

Address: Front Street | Whickham, Newcastle upon Tyne NE16 4JG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 77 hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel, in the center of wonderful Whickham Village, has the location, location, location you are looking for - whether you are here on business or staying at your leisure. Built in 1982 and extended in 1990, the hotel has a reputation for relaxation. In a historic village setting, it is little wonder that many television productions have been filmed in the area. Our friendly staff, many of whom have been at The BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel for over 25 years, will give you a true home-away-from-home experience. Friendly and caring, they will make your comfort their top priority from the moment you check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.