We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great night, fantastico atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Front Street | Whickham, Newcastle upon Tyne NE16 4JG, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 22% off stays!
Ghetto
1 review
“Great night, fantastico atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Good night, good staff (fit reception lady at night) deluxe room is nice, but too singles put together, uncomfey, especially if your at it ;) only 2 things wrong, 1. The bed situation 2. NO BUBBLES FOR TE BATH!!!!!!!!
Cheers the now

Room Tip: Don't sniff the bible
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    36
    14
    8
    2
See reviews for
19
26
1
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Colne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

In Newcastle on business and hotel booked by employer. I checked website and on arrival was not dissatisfied at all. The food and service in the paco restaurant was excellent. Service throughout was very friendly, well it is the North East, Yes I wasn't paying but would not be objected if I were. 3star rated but delivered 5 star quality

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suki45, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Rachel
Thank you so much for your very kind comments - we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you enjoyed your meal in Paco's Restaurant . I'm so pleased our staff were helpful and courteous , and we do hope to have the pleasure of seeing you back at the Gibside Hotel in the future .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Due to a bereavement my wife and I needed a cheap, convenient and quiet hotel as we journeyed 335 miles from Kent to Wallsend. The room was discounted but there was no mention on the website for the extra cost of breakfast. The staff were very good to me as my Aunt had just died in the afternoon and we received an upgrade to our standard room (Thank you for your kindness). The food in the restaurant was excellent however the house wine was very rough! Our stay was a mixture of standards. The bed was excellent and we both had a quiet nights sleep. The town of Whickam stuck on a steep hill is very run down. The food in the restauarant was excellent, but nearly £13 for a cooked breakfast and nearly £9 for continental is far too steep. The coffee the first morning was stewed. I liked the bathroom but there is a lack of attention to detail: two people staying for 2 nights and 1 towel! No extra soaps given. The extractor fan did not work.
So to sum up: staff were friendly but the hotel is disorganised and not 4 star. The village might be ideal for the metrocentre and the A1 is nearby but not a great place to start a holiday exploring the North east (there are about 10 car parking spaces only)!
I would not book here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suki45, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel . I'm so pleased you appreciated your up grade to a Delux room , I do apologise for the towel situation, our policy is a bath sheet and large hand towel for each guest - I imagine that the room had originally been set for single occupancy, and unfortunately when you were up graded - the additional towels were not put into you room - if you had let reception know we would have got them to you immediately. I know that wine is very subjective , we have been trying different suppliers recently , - its a very personal thing and many of our customers drink our house wine on a regular basis and enjoy it .
I'm sorry you thought that Whickham was run down - it is actually a very historic village - but sadly has suffered the same fate as most hight streets in the country , with shop closures .
Again, apologies for your coffee at breakfast -our breakfast staff would have been happy to replace the coffee for you had you mentioned it .
As far as parking is concerned, we have about 12 spaces immediately outside of the hotel - but immediately opposite the hotel - just on the other side of the road, is a public car park with about 200 spaces - which is free of charge from 5.30 pm - 9.00 am , otherwise the parking charge for the day is £1.00 , or 20 pence per hour - which we don't feel is excessive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands, UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in an executive room which was reasonable, dinner and breakfast was good, but far too expensive, breakfast was £12:50 which I think was over the top.

Decided to order a double gin and tonic as house doubles were offered for £3 but when I checked out I was charged £6, was told by reception that house doubles offer only applied to vodka which annoyed me.

She offered to call the manager but I didn't want to make a fuss over a couple of quid but it soured my stay.



Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed here for a night out in Newcastle. Gorgeous room (deluxe room) decor was lovely, huge bed, ample pillows and towels. Short taxi ride into the city centre, this cost around £8. The room was immaculate. Reception staff were friendly and helped us with our enquiries and booked a taxi for us. Would much rather stay here and pay for a taxi into the centre than pay the same price for a budget hotel in the centre that aren't as nice. Thanks gibside, we will be returning.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We booked this hotel a year in advance and had family and friends staying aswell it was our honeymoon night had a fantastic day then got to hotel about midnight had a drink in the bar then went to our room what a disgrace it was two single beds pushed next to each other and we had paid for a deluxe room it was shocking would never stay there again and they had the nerve to charge you for breakfast what a rip off hotel..

Room Tip: dont book it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suki45, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at our hotel . I am sorry you were dissatisfied with your bedroom. Our Delux rooms all feature Kingsized beds , which when required, can be seperated to make 2 singles . The beds are specially designed to be used either as kingsized or twins - and most of our guests find that they are extremely comfortable and very large .
I am sorry that you thought Breakfast was included in your rate , our bookings are all confirmed very clearly as either room only or Bed and Breakfast - had you requested Bed and Breakfast , we would have been happy to arrange that for you . Our Breakfast rates start at £3.95 - we have 3 choices , or the alternative of going upstairs to our lounge bar for just a bacon sandwich or toast , so we do feel that we offer a fairly extensive choice .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Went up for my brother-in-laws 40th birthday for 2 nights so needed a bit of space - booked a Junior suit which was perfect - 2 single beds, living area with 2 sofa's and 2 bathrooms. Staff really friendly and bar/restaurant buzzing in the evening - glad i didnt go for the cheaper hotel options

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel

Address: Front Street | Whickham, Newcastle upon Tyne NE16 4JG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 77 hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel, in the center of wonderful Whickham Village, has the location, location, location you are looking for - whether you are here on business or staying at your leisure. Built in 1982 and extended in 1990, the hotel has a reputation for relaxation. In a historic village setting, it is little wonder that many television productions have been filmed in the area. Our friendly staff, many of whom have been at The BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel for over 25 years, will give you a true home-away-from-home experience. Friendly and caring, they will make your comfort their top priority from the moment you check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.