We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel- will be returning” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Front Street | Whickham, Newcastle upon Tyne NE16 4JG, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 22% off stays!
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel- will be returning”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed here for a night out in Newcastle. Gorgeous room (deluxe room) decor was lovely, huge bed, ample pillows and towels. Short taxi ride into the city centre, this cost around £8. The room was immaculate. Reception staff were friendly and helped us with our enquiries and booked a taxi for us. Would much rather stay here and pay for a taxi into the centre than pay the same price for a budget hotel in the centre that aren't as nice. Thanks gibside, we will be returning.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    42
    15
    8
    3
See reviews for
23
32
1
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We booked this hotel a year in advance and had family and friends staying aswell it was our honeymoon night had a fantastic day then got to hotel about midnight had a drink in the bar then went to our room what a disgrace it was two single beds pushed next to each other and we had paid for a deluxe room it was shocking would never stay there again and they had the nerve to charge you for breakfast what a rip off hotel..

Room Tip: dont book it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suki45, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at our hotel . I am sorry you were dissatisfied with your bedroom. Our Delux rooms all feature Kingsized beds , which when required, can be seperated to make 2 singles . The beds are specially designed to be used either as kingsized or twins - and most of our guests find that they are extremely comfortable and very large .
I am sorry that you thought Breakfast was included in your rate , our bookings are all confirmed very clearly as either room only or Bed and Breakfast - had you requested Bed and Breakfast , we would have been happy to arrange that for you . Our Breakfast rates start at £3.95 - we have 3 choices , or the alternative of going upstairs to our lounge bar for just a bacon sandwich or toast , so we do feel that we offer a fairly extensive choice .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Went up for my brother-in-laws 40th birthday for 2 nights so needed a bit of space - booked a Junior suit which was perfect - 2 single beds, living area with 2 sofa's and 2 bathrooms. Staff really friendly and bar/restaurant buzzing in the evening - glad i didnt go for the cheaper hotel options

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Very clean,lovely helpful staff only fault needed more towels in bathroom but would stay again plus location is great very close to metro centre,takeaways and small shops would recommend to a friend bar and restaurant reasonable prices and clean

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed here a few weeks ago and had a lovely stay. We were upgraded to a deluxe room which was a fantastic treat. Our room was well equipped although the only complaint was that the TV was very small considering it was a deluxe room. We ate in the hotel as nowhere in the village took our fancy and found the food and service of excellent quality. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I have been gohng to this hotel for the past 6 years. 12 of us guys stay here on our annual golf outing to the area. Rooms are very clean. They were recently refurbished. The hotel has a huge bar and dining area. Hotel is under 10 mins away for Newcastle. Ideal base for trips to the area. Stay here you won,t be dissapointed.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCL / KUL
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Have been staying here every year we come back to the UK to see our family - stretching back to 14years ago. We have never ever seen any sign of it being (as one reviewer puts it) a "local hangout for lonely singles" !!!!! We used to put up at the Travel Lodge down Derwent Walk way but have long decided that Gibside's location is preferable especially if we want to avoid driving after a drink or two.

This summer, we checked in and out of Gibside three times as we travelled around the North. First two occasions we had the standard room which was decent enough. The third occasion we had the deluxe which appeared to be very recently refurbished and was very nice indeed. Staff at the recetion are always very friendly, with a smile, typical of the warm Geordie hospitality !

Room Tip: Out to the main road of Whickham, turn right, pass the news agent and cross the road at the traffic...
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel

Address: Front Street | Whickham, Newcastle upon Tyne NE16 4JG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 77 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel, in the center of wonderful Whickham Village, has the location, location, location you are looking for - whether you are here on business or staying at your leisure. Built in 1982 and extended in 1990, the hotel has a reputation for relaxation. In a historic village setting, it is little wonder that many television productions have been filmed in the area. Our friendly staff, many of whom have been at The BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel for over 25 years, will give you a true home-away-from-home experience. Friendly and caring, they will make your comfort their top priority from the moment you check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;