We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we needed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Front Street | Whickham, Newcastle upon Tyne NE16 4JG, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 22% off stays!
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Just what we needed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Went up for my brother-in-laws 40th birthday for 2 nights so needed a bit of space - booked a Junior suit which was perfect - 2 single beds, living area with 2 sofa's and 2 bathrooms. Staff really friendly and bar/restaurant buzzing in the evening - glad i didnt go for the cheaper hotel options

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    38
    14
    8
    2
See reviews for
20
31
1
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Very clean,lovely helpful staff only fault needed more towels in bathroom but would stay again plus location is great very close to metro centre,takeaways and small shops would recommend to a friend bar and restaurant reasonable prices and clean

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed here a few weeks ago and had a lovely stay. We were upgraded to a deluxe room which was a fantastic treat. Our room was well equipped although the only complaint was that the TV was very small considering it was a deluxe room. We ate in the hotel as nowhere in the village took our fancy and found the food and service of excellent quality. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I have been gohng to this hotel for the past 6 years. 12 of us guys stay here on our annual golf outing to the area. Rooms are very clean. They were recently refurbished. The hotel has a huge bar and dining area. Hotel is under 10 mins away for Newcastle. Ideal base for trips to the area. Stay here you won,t be dissapointed.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCL / KUL
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Have been staying here every year we come back to the UK to see our family - stretching back to 14years ago. We have never ever seen any sign of it being (as one reviewer puts it) a "local hangout for lonely singles" !!!!! We used to put up at the Travel Lodge down Derwent Walk way but have long decided that Gibside's location is preferable especially if we want to avoid driving after a drink or two.

This summer, we checked in and out of Gibside three times as we travelled around the North. First two occasions we had the standard room which was decent enough. The third occasion we had the deluxe which appeared to be very recently refurbished and was very nice indeed. Staff at the recetion are always very friendly, with a smile, typical of the warm Geordie hospitality !

Room Tip: Out to the main road of Whickham, turn right, pass the news agent and cross the road at the traffic...
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

Nice Hotel, but always too hot....friendly staff and okay rooms....if you get in the newer part. Pacos restaurant is very good with a nice selection of wines. But why is this hotel always so hot..Good place to stay you won't be disappointed....it's a £10.00 taxi ride into the city centre....

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Stayed on their Weekend Room plus dinner (excludes breakfast) package, which while an unusual package offered exceptional value with £25 per person and a bottle of house wine included in the deal.The main entrance was on the main street with car park at rear and not easy to find. Hotel car park very limited but public car park next door which was a negligible cost.
The room was very nice. Booked a double room but got a twin room. Dinner was served in Paco's Restaurant which was very nice with charming staff who were very attentive. After dinner we went to the bar upstairs which was very busy, and contrary to another review I saw was full of very friendly local people enjoying a weekend night out with friends and athough busy the service was good and staff very friendly. Overall would recommend the Gibside of its' weekend special particularly if visiting the Metro Centre which is next door.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel

Address: Front Street | Whickham, Newcastle upon Tyne NE16 4JG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 77 hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel, in the center of wonderful Whickham Village, has the location, location, location you are looking for - whether you are here on business or staying at your leisure. Built in 1982 and extended in 1990, the hotel has a reputation for relaxation. In a historic village setting, it is little wonder that many television productions have been filmed in the area. Our friendly staff, many of whom have been at The BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel for over 25 years, will give you a true home-away-from-home experience. Friendly and caring, they will make your comfort their top priority from the moment you check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotel.de, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.