We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WALKED OUT” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Waterside Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Waterside Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Waterside Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   48 - 52 Sandhill | Quayside, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3JF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Sunderland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“WALKED OUT”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Have nights away several times a year. First time i have walked out. Do not know where their photos came from. Were let into hotel early as business was slow. Saw the room and contacted reception immediately. Two could not get into the bed and the television screen was about the size of the computer screen i am using but on the wall so could hardly see. It was cold and the bathroom needed cleaning. Told could not get a bigger bed. Decided to leave immediately. On the way out the four staff were sitting doing nothing apart from discussing a fight involving their friend. Lost my money- better than staying! Wish i had taken photos

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    81
    51
    23
    31
See reviews for
11
101
18
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Just back from a stay at the Waterside Hotel which we enjoyed thoroughly. Nice room and a terrific breakfast - melon, croissants, cold ham and everything to help yourself. Then a nice waitress takes your order for a full English breakfast which is immediately cooked for you. A great start to the day! A local bus took us to the shops in a few minutes. All the staff were friendly, especially Heidi, and made us feel welcome. Would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Very friendly infact lovely staff. Greated by recpetion staff on arrival. Rooms were clean and tidy. Only thing i did not like were the metal cups in room for tea or coffee but thats just me! Beds were nice and soft. Bedding was spotless. No dust at all in rooms. Good value for money. Breakfast was good a cooked full english with soft drinks. Rooms were clean and tidy. Ideal location for newcastle shopping. Loads and loads of bars, resturants and nightlife so ideal base. Free car parking opposite hotel. They have a room after checkout to leave your goods in rooms and then go and do more shopping. Next to the quay. I would strongly reccomend this hotel to anyone. We paid pittance for B&B and got a brilliant service and good honest value for money. Glad we did not pay extra and go to one of the larger chains as i dont think we would of got the warm welcome service we got during our stay. We would deffo be returning back next time we want to go shopping again in newcastle.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

Great location, next to quayside and Tyne bridge, the hotel was good, it was in need of a little decoration but was clean and tidy, also they do a fab cooked breakfast, all in all an enjoyable stay and would definitely go back

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belper derbyshire
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I stayed at The Waterside for one night due to a meeting over run. I purchased my room from last minute. Com for £43.00 bed and breakfast, and for that money it was great value. The hotel is situated on the water front a stones throw from the magnificent Tyne bridge, free parking in a city centre is also a bonus.

I needed to purchased some over night stuff and a new shirt so had to walk into the city which took no more than 15 minutes to get to the centre, on the way I walked past numerous trendy bars and restaurants.

The room was clean and comfortable ( I was allocated a single) and was very warm. The double glazed windows protected the room for the sounds of the street and railway bridge close by. The room was a little tired with a patch of plaster missing from the ceiling and a laminate edges missing from the dressing table but it was okay.

The breakfast is cooked fresh to order and was good. Albeit not everyone needs to know the ins and outs of the waitress.s family life while discussing it at volume to the cook.

So all in all it's a comfortable hotel with a very friendly reception that was good value and in a good location. I would have been disappointed if I had paid the full hotel Internet rate.

And special thanks to the guest in the adjoining room ( interconnected un-soundproofed door) who didn't know how to switch the snooze off on their mobile first one went off at 4.50 !!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leigh
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Just returned from a 2 night stay.The rooms are cosy, but well appointed. As a few others have commented there is a damp smell on the stairs, but this wasn't an issue in the bedroom. Deep cleaning needs more attention as the carpet needed a good hoover around the edges.
People need to be aware that this is a 3-star B&B not an AA 3-star Hotel as the requirements between the two are very different. As a B&B the Waterside over delivers on all aspects.
The breakfast was excellent with both the continental and full English offering a great selection.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

You will either love or hate this hotel for me I loved it. You should give the very friendly staff the opportunity to look after you in the Quayside area of Newcastle. Don't let the smell of damp in the stairwell put you off as my room and the breakfast room did not smell of damp. The bedroom was very clean as were the bedlinen and the towels. Heidi and Sue were very helpful from the point of booking to time of leaving as were the breakfast staff.
In closing give the hotel a chance and allow them time to continue their refurbishment work.

Room Tip: Ask for refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Waterside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterside Hotel

Address: 48 - 52 Sandhill | Quayside, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3JF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 77 hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waterside Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Newcastle’s famous and picturesque Quayside and just an 8 minute walk to the city centre. The hotel occupies a handsome Grade II listed building steeped in history and includes free Wi-Fi, parking and the funky and lively late night bar "Jimmyz" open Thursdays, Fridays and Saturdays . The city centre plays host to an excellent choice of shopping and also plays host to the Theatre Royal, which brings in talents such as opera North and The Royal Shakespeare Company. The bar is located on the ground level or if it’s dancing you prefer, then look no further than Sea nightclub. The hotel aims to go that extra mile to ensure you have a wonderful stay.Each bedroom has a unique style; the layout of the hotel lends itself to well-appointed rooms with the privacy and intimacy of a boutique hotel. Rooms offer all modern facilities guests would expect plus some rooms have extras such as plasma screen TV and DVD player and air conditioning.At the Waterside staff believe it is important to start the day right with a delicious freshly cooked Full English Breakfast or tasty Continental Breakfast which is served every day from 7:00am – 10:00am Monday – Friday and 8:30am – 10:30am Saturday and Sunday. Although the hotel doesn’t serve lunch or evening meals the immediate area boasts an excellent range of restaurants and cafes in which to enjoy any variety of meal.The famous Jimmyz Bar has been a landmark venue in Newcastle since the major re-development of the Quayside in the early 90’s. The bar has recently had a makeover of its own and this opulent cosmopolitan venue now boasts an extensive cocktail list and the sort of hospitality which makes Newcastle a popular choice.Newcastle and the wider area is made up of a diverse variety of towns, cities, coast and countryside offering a huge selection of things to do whatever your tastes. From relaxing at the coast to soaking up world-class culture in the city centres, from getting back in-touch with nature at a woodland retreat to shopping at Europe’s largest indoor shopping and leisure complex, (Metrocentre). It’s rare to find anywhere so diverse that amazes visitors at every turn with its dialogue between ultra-modern and ancient, with award-winning dining, inspiring heritage, fantastic shopping and acclaimed architecture makes up a destination like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Waterside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterside Hotel Bed And Breakfast
The Waterside Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Waterside Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Waterside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.