We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out the way of the busy streets.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Waterside Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Waterside Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Waterside Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   48 - 52 Sandhill | Quayside, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3JF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Blackburn, England
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Out the way of the busy streets.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

There are a few pubs /clubs around the hotel but not enough to worry about. The staff where all polite, helpfull and cheerfull. Room was really clean, good size bathroom, nice decor, tv and stuff for brews. Full English breakfast gives plenty of choices for anyone. My windows could have done with a clean because I had a good view of the Tyne.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    82
    51
    23
    31
See reviews for
11
102
18
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cotswolds
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Our stay at this hotel was such a mixed experience it is tricky to rate accurately. The first floors have clearly been redecorated since their flood but the smell of damp and drains remains and there is no lift up to the first floor. The receptionist is lovely and very helpful, nothing too much trouble, our first room was small and dark, we were moved upon request but warned about noise at the front of the hotel. The rooms are tired and in need of refurb. Little touches missing like a full length mirror, hooks behind the doors especially in the bathroom. The lightingwas inadequate for getting ready in the evening. The main shock was that the room was not serviced for the 3 nights we were there, the bed was 'straightened' and clean towels put on the bed ( which we didnt need) but no fresh loo roll, tea and coffee etc was not topped up and the bathroom was not cleaned the whole time we were there, even after telling the receptionist. The housekeeping really lets the hotel down, mould and grime around the shower screen all of which could be removed. The cups had tide marks round them where they were just swilled out and not replaced with clean. We loved the views from our room over the bridges and had no noise problem once the windows were closed even on a Friday. The breakfast was very good and freshly cooked, waitress served with a good choice. For what we paid for the room it was good value and we would stay again, but the cleaners need to take more pride in their work and not lazily cut corners!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed at the Waterside Hotel last week and it was fantastic value for money. The location was superb, about a 10 mminute walk from the station and easy to get to the shops and other attractions. The room was clean and warm, and the double windows blocked a lot of noise from the outside. The breakfast was realy good, I don't think you could ask for much more.
The Waterside has everything you need, we didn't find any faults with it and I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Only some rooms had DVD players, so if you want one make sure you ask. Same applies for air conditio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Having stayed at the Euro Hostel in Newcastle earlier in the year, which was so cheap and fantastic value for money, we thought we would try somewhere a little more costly (only 15 quid more) and were very impressed. We were going to a gig at the Sage in Gateshead, so the location of this hotel was spot on. Spotlessly clean, lovely friendly staff, and lots of lovely finishing touches, would deinitely recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the toon :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I visited this hotel almost three years ago and decided to stay again as I was back in Newcastle for a couple of days. They were decorating on the ground floor as they had been flooded, but there was no paint smell up in the rooms.
I had a room that faced the side, I faced the quayside the last time, and the room was a bit 'worn at the edges', but it was spotlessly clean. Saying that I had the best nights sleep I've had in a while and slept like a log in a very comfortable bed.
The window was open when I arrived and there was an air conditioning unit in place, I made the mistake of closing the window (a sash type window) when I went to bed and I couldn't budge it the next morning and the room was warm after I'd had a shower.
They had loads of complimentary toiletries and also a dinky little vanity set - a little box the size of the sewing kit with cotton wool, cotton buds and an emery board. I thought that was an excellent idea.
A couple of things I felt were missing were a full length mirror and a chain on the door. I know the doors lock, but I feel safer with a chain.
The breakfast was great again, cooked to order with nothing sitting for hours on a hot plate like some places do. I have to say my scrambled eggs were absolutely delicious.
The staff were once again all very friendly and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel.
I got a cheap deal - I paid £48 for a night and would happily have paid more.
The staff, the breakfast, the little finishing touches and the location make this a great little hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

arrived.. hotel smelling of dampness. lifts out of order. mission going up the stairs with our cases. but very surprised at the rooms. nice but not worth £90 a night. bathroom modern. reception girl nice and helpful. if Ur not planning a late night this isn't the hotel to stay.. music on till about 4am as hotel right in the middle of where the river side night club is..

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Havin just undergone extesiverenovation due to flooding, I stayed overnight on the 28 september. The only inconvenience being no lift from ground floor to first floor and some carpet replacement on the stairs leading to reception. I had a very good stay. Lovely room, well furnished and great ensuite shower. The staff are very good and helpful. Full english and continental breakfast, free wifi was included in the £55 for the single room. Late breakfast and check out on the weekends which is handy. Close to the river and restaurants and bars. Short walking distance (10 mins) along the river to the Baltic Mill Museum. I will be returning to Newcastle and will certainly return here. Also the refurbishment will be finished so i am confident it will be even better. Sue at reception was great and so where her colleagues whom I don't remember their names.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Waterside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterside Hotel

Address: 48 - 52 Sandhill | Quayside, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3JF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 77 hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waterside Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Newcastle’s famous and picturesque Quayside and just an 8 minute walk to the city centre. The hotel occupies a handsome Grade II listed building steeped in history and includes free Wi-Fi, parking and the funky and lively late night bar "Jimmyz" open Thursdays, Fridays and Saturdays . The city centre plays host to an excellent choice of shopping and also plays host to the Theatre Royal, which brings in talents such as opera North and The Royal Shakespeare Company. The bar is located on the ground level or if it’s dancing you prefer, then look no further than Sea nightclub. The hotel aims to go that extra mile to ensure you have a wonderful stay.Each bedroom has a unique style; the layout of the hotel lends itself to well-appointed rooms with the privacy and intimacy of a boutique hotel. Rooms offer all modern facilities guests would expect plus some rooms have extras such as plasma screen TV and DVD player and air conditioning.At the Waterside staff believe it is important to start the day right with a delicious freshly cooked Full English Breakfast or tasty Continental Breakfast which is served every day from 7:00am – 10:00am Monday – Friday and 8:30am – 10:30am Saturday and Sunday. Although the hotel doesn’t serve lunch or evening meals the immediate area boasts an excellent range of restaurants and cafes in which to enjoy any variety of meal.The famous Jimmyz Bar has been a landmark venue in Newcastle since the major re-development of the Quayside in the early 90’s. The bar has recently had a makeover of its own and this opulent cosmopolitan venue now boasts an extensive cocktail list and the sort of hospitality which makes Newcastle a popular choice.Newcastle and the wider area is made up of a diverse variety of towns, cities, coast and countryside offering a huge selection of things to do whatever your tastes. From relaxing at the coast to soaking up world-class culture in the city centres, from getting back in-touch with nature at a woodland retreat to shopping at Europe’s largest indoor shopping and leisure complex, (Metrocentre). It’s rare to find anywhere so diverse that amazes visitors at every turn with its dialogue between ultra-modern and ancient, with award-winning dining, inspiring heritage, fantastic shopping and acclaimed architecture makes up a destination like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia and Venere so you can book your The Waterside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterside Hotel Bed And Breakfast
The Waterside Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Waterside Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Waterside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.