We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great nights stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The New Northumbria Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The New Northumbria Hotel to your Saves list
The New Northumbria Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Osborne Road, Jesmond, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2AN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“great nights stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

went down Thursday for Newcastle races stayed overnight with family,hotel great, staff very helpful,hard to find a parking space as it is limited at the back of the hotel ,but got one enventualy,This is a great area to stay in very lively and plenty of bars shops and restuarants to choose from,hotel, rooms were good sized and had everything you would need,but very warm,anyway had a great time,and will return
.

Room Tip: we stayed on a Thursday night ,I would imagine the hotel restaurant and bars would be a lot more liv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Malhotra G, Manager at The New Northumbria Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking time to provide feedback. Unfortunately due to the location of the hotel car parking spaces are limited, glad you found one. If you are after some local places to go we recommend our onsite bar Osbornes and our Italian restaurant Scalini’s. Look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    129
    49
    26
    11
See reviews for
38
117
18
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

On first inspection this hotel was a instant hit. The front is beautiful with plenty of outdoor seating and a welcoming entrance. Superb summer place to sit and have a drink or a Arabic smoke!!
The reception is very well decorated and the lady behind the desk was very pleasant and helpful.
The corridors to the rooms are very nicely decorated too but my room 206 needed up dating.
I believe its on the agenda as some others have been completed. It was a very spacious room with a good sized tv.

The bar that sells food is very well decorated with cheap priced food and a good range of
beers. They even had a happy hour that ran from 5-7 and 9-10.
The main pubic bar was again very well decorated and very snug. They had entertainment in the way of a guitarist who was very good.
There is also an Italian restaurant that looked very nice with a good choice of food.

I would recommend this hotel if you like a bit of nice light entertainment in a decent upmarket location that hosts plenty if shops, bars and restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask for a newly refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Malhotra G, Manager at The New Northumbria Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We have just launched our Sheesha bar so it’s great to hear you liked it. We are sorry you found you room a little outdated it is getting refurbished soon, we do try to upgrade to the newer rooms when possible, sorry we didn't manage on this occasion. Glad you have a good and entertaining visit overall, thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
All over the place
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Although I have not stayed here I have been in touch with the reception staff who were very helpful and went beyond the call of duty to help me arrange accommodation for family. I do know the hotel is in an extremely popular area of Newcastle and would certainly book for a weekend away myself.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Malhotra G, Manager at The New Northumbria Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for your feedback we will pass it on to the reception team. Hope you do come and see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

facilities in the room that have not been updated are not great, rotten windows, bathroom floor coming away.
Bed not comfortable.
Rooms very close to each other so noise from hen dos is bad !
need to patrol the landings to check for hotel guests who are causing issues and not just rely on your guests who are sleeping to call down.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Malhotra G, Manager at The New Northumbria Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay. A number of our rooms have yet to be refurbished but this is happening soon. Apologies that there was noise during your stay and you found your bed uncomfortable, your comments will be fed back to the relevant staff. We are always looking for ways to make our guests stay more comfortable so greatly appreciate your suggestions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

The New Northumbria needs to be put into context. It is a 3 - star hotel that caters (at weekends) for stag and hen parties on a road synonymous with these audiences. Indeed the hotel bar (Osborne's) is bar far the busiest in the area.

Therefore for what it offered it was perfect. We had a group of 11 across 5 rooms and everyone (bar me - more in a moment) enjoyed their stay. Even when we had to change room sizes the day before arrival the hotel were incredibly accommodating. The rooms were large with plenty of natural light, clean and well presented. I would suggest rooms at the back of the hotel which do not face onto Osborne Rd and are therefore going to be quieter.

My quibble was over the window in my room (125). Due to being next to a fire escape we were unable to open our window and this was not pleasant whatsoever. The heat was abrasive and not comfortable during the night. But I must review the group's stay and it was more than fit for purpose.

One suggestion would be to change the breakfast times in the main restaurant. Breakfast finished at 10am at weekends with another menu to start from 10am in the Kitchen. Sadly this did not start until 11am. Some in our group complained the food was not tasty but both of these were complaints picked up along Osborne Rd.

If you are looking for a hotel for your stag party and a great place to start the night, then this hotel is the right one for you!

My partner and I stayed in room 125

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We arrived half an hour before check in and were told we had been given a complimentary upgrade. The room was a newly refurbished room. It was very hot but it was a sunny day and after calling reception at 11.45pm , I was told that they had given all the fans out but they would see what they could do. Within 5minutes a fan was delivered, which was a life saver. We ate in the hotel restaurant (Scalinis) and the food was excellent and very good value for money. We will definitely stay here again soon (I will ask for a refurbished room as a previous reviewer advised). The staff right from reception, housekeeping, in the bar and restaurant most definitely gave the most welcoming and friendliest service we have ever received. Fab!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Malhotra G, Manager at The New Northumbria Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for writing such a lovely review - its great to hear that you will be staying with us again. We are pleased that you appreciated your complimentary upgrade and thank you for such wonderful comments regarding the staff throughout the hotel - its fantastic to hear such great feedback. Yes we have now bought some more fans - due to the improvement in English weather (fingers crossed it lasts) we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Had a one night stop here last week whilst on business locally. My room was tired and definitely needed some attention, the bath panel had expanded and swollen up at the top leaving a dirty looking mess and a musty smell (see photo). The room was very small for a double with all the furniture and décor looking very tired. I mentioned to the reception staff that the bathroom need some maintenance and that the room was tired and they advised it was soon to be refurbished, in fairness the other rooms I saw looked much better, bigger and well maintained and fitted out so my tip if you are staying is make sure you ask for a recently refurbished room. I didn't get what I ordered for breakfast but what I did have was very tasty albeit a less than generous portion. At £92 this room was overpriced and does not represent good value.

Room Tip: Make sure your room has been recently refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Malhotra G, Manager at The New Northumbria Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay at the hotel. Some of our rooms are still awaiting to be refurbished - the final part of the refurbishment is due within the next few months. Sorry to hear about you not receiving what you ordered for breakfast, however if you would have brought this to their attention at the time then we would have amended the mistake straight away, however glad you enjoyed it nevertheless. Sorry to hear that you felt our hotel was overpriced, however we thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The New Northumbria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Northumbria Hotel

Address: Osborne Road, Jesmond, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 79 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The New Northumbria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The New Northumbria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel New Northumbria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The New Northumbria Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.