We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible- it's cheap for a reason” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The New Northumbria Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The New Northumbria Hotel to your Saves list
The New Northumbria Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Osborne Road, Jesmond | 61-73 Osborne Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2AN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Terrible- it's cheap for a reason”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

We didn't have a good experience staying here. We arrived on the 2nd of January 2014. We called the day before asking if we could check in around 12, if our room was ready. We explained that I was 6 months pregnant and would appreciate it if we could get in before there usual check-in time. We were told that we would have to call again in the arrival day and that there was a charge for this (£20 I think they said). When we did finally get into our room (which was late evening as we had family commitments) we were disgusted at the state of the room. The sofa and chair were covered in stains, dirty and looked like things had been spilt in them or worse. There was nail polish marks on the sofa, the table and dressing table. The linen was clean, didn't dare check the mattress! We got up at 6am for our flight and happily left. It was a sad way to end our lovely holiday, I really cannot believe that any hotel would allow such a room to be sold to the public. Truly the worst room I have ever slept in. See the photos for yourself....

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    147
    54
    32
    11
See reviews for
44
137
21
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Stayed for two nights with a friend for a girlie break. Booked a standard room and have to say that is what is was. Basic but adequate. However the staff certainly makeup for the dating interior. The bar, restaurant and reception staff were all excellent. Craig the hotel manager was fabulous, friendly and made our stay most comfortable nothing was too much trouble. Drinks weren't too pricy and the food in main bar area was adequate and reasonably priced as well. We met a great party from Ireland, there humour and kindness topped off a memorable weekend. Thankyou.

Room Tip: Book a superior room as standard is ver basic and in need of updating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Northumbria H, Manager at The New Northumbria Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
We are pleased to hear that you had a great girlie weekend break with us. Our standard rooms are due a refurb in the near future, however we are pleased that you found them adequate for your stay. Thank you for taking the time to write this review and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deeside scotland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

We arrived in Newcastle without having booked accomodation and headed for the Jesmond areao on 2/2/2014. The 1st hotel we arrived at was The New Northumbria Hotel and the reception staff were 1st class and efficient in taking a booking in a matter of minutes. Room 121 was spot on for our 1 night stay. Clean/lgreat bed/teas and coffee/freebees and an excellent heater.All for just £50.00. This is a must stay again hotel. Ataxi ride to town centre cost £4.20 - this is a steal.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Northumbria H, Manager at The New Northumbria Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your last minute stay with us at the New Northumbria Hotel and you were pleased with the hotel and room you were given. Thank you for writing a review. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

This was our second stay at the New Northumbria. The standard rooms are a bit outdated but adequate for 1 night. Parking is quite limited so we had to park in the nearby street. We had a meal in Scallinis (a very busy Italian restaurant at the hotel) which was very nice & of good value. There are a good selection of bars & restaurant in the surrounding area. We would stay at the hotel again & recommend it to anyone looking to stay in the Jesmond area of Newcastle.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Northumbria H, Manager at The New Northumbria Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and would recommend us to others. Due to the location of the hotel, unfortunately we do have a limited amount of parking spaces however we are glad to hear you managed to get parked on a nearby street. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Lovely décor. Room was clean and tidy.
Free toiletries were lovely.
Just a lovely hotel and rooms.
Great location for been close to the university, pubs and places to eat.
Hotels breakfast if lovely and staff are friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Northumbria H, Manager at The New Northumbria Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
We are pleased to hear that you had a lovely stay with us and that you enjoyed the toiletries too. Thanks for taking the time to write a review, we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

I've been staying here for 2 or 3 nights a week since May and have nothing bad what so ever to say about this place. From the welcoming greeting you get from the team upon arrival, all the way through to the see you next week when you leave, the experience is faultless. The rooms are always clean and tidy, comfy bed, and a nice warm shower. Nothing is too much trouble for any of the staff. Credit to Craig and his team, and in particular to Amy and Steph, who are always happy to help. For as long as I have work in the north east I think I will continue to stay at this excellent hotel. Thanks guys, and see you all next week.

-James (110)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Northumbria H, Manager at The New Northumbria Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you James for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We are very grateful for your lovely comments and are glad to hear that you enjoy your stay. We look forward to seeing you again next week!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on 13th January, what can I say , lovely rooms, superb breakfast but the best thing about the hotel is the amazing staff, the night manager Alan was a star, nothing was to much trouble, he put himself out just to make our stay that much better, a true gent, he was matched by the 2 day receptionists Erika and Amie who made our time at the hotel a wonderful experience.. Many thanks and we will be back soon!

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Northumbria H, Manager at The New Northumbria Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Its great to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at the New Northumbria and that you appreciate the effort in which all the staff that work at the hotel put into their job to make sure that all customers enjoy their experience with us. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The New Northumbria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Northumbria Hotel

Address: Osborne Road, Jesmond | 61-73 Osborne Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 83 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The New Northumbria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Northumbria Hotel is a boutique hotel located on the outskirts of Newcastle upon Tyne, in a busy vibrant residential area. We pride ourselves on our personable, friendly customer service and strive to make every guest feel special and valued. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Budget Places so you can book your The New Northumbria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel New Northumbria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The New Northumbria Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.