We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for price and location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The New Northumbria Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The New Northumbria Hotel to your Saves list
The New Northumbria Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Osborne Road, Jesmond | 61-73 Osborne Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2AN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
WIRRAL, UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good for price and location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We have stayed here previously and can say it maintains it's standard and the staff continue to be friendly and helpful. We had a room facing Osborne road but did not find noise a problem. The room was a little on the small side but comfortable enough and the bathroom is more than adequate.
Breakfast was quite adequate, a little variable but it was busy whilst we were there and probably fraught for the kitchen and waiting staff and allowing for this they coped well. We had both lunch and dinner in Scalinis, both were excellent and eating here is recommended. Dinner in Louis' however was a bit disappointing. The menu and whole ambience are not what it used to be, although if you had not experienced it previously you might find it quite acceptable.
As others have mentioned parking is a little limited and street parking is also very limited. Try and arrive early to remove this stress.
The location is obviously best if you want to be located in the student area of the city. It is not too far to walk into town and the metro is reasonably close.
Overall a recommended place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Northumbria H, Manager at The New Northumbria Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
We are pleased to hear that you feel that the hotel has kept its standards from your previous stay with us and you would recommend others to stay with us.

We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your dining experiences at Scalini's. However it is unfortunate to hear you did not have the same experience at Louis Restaurant.

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and we hope to see you again.

The New Northumbria Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    147
    54
    32
    11
See reviews for
44
137
21
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

This is a nice hotel in a good area. It is located in the lively Jesmond district which is about a 15 minute walk to the city centre.
The staff on reception are very helpful and eager to please. Rooms are modern with nice furniture and decent televisions
Another big plus was free internet that actualy worked at reasonable enough speed to do some work (Holiday Inn take note)
. I never ate dinner at the hotel but did have breakfast which was freshly cooked to order and was very nice. One thing to be wary of is parking. I arrived at 17:30 and found the limited parking full. I then had to park on a marked bay on the street which was free after 18:00 but if you are parked for more than two hours would need to be moved before 8:00am. That apart, a great hotel that I will use again.

Room Tip: Get there early to get a hotel parking space. Rooms at the front can be affected by noise from the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Northumbria H, Manager at The New Northumbria Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Its great to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at the New Northumbria Hotel and enjoyed your room and its facilities. Thank you for your kind words regarding the reception staff, they will be thrilled to hear the praise.

I am afraid that due to the location of the hotel that we do have limited car parking spaces however we are glad that this hasn't put you off returning your custom in the future.

Maybe during your next visit you could visit our adjoining bars and restaurants. We have our Italian Restaurant Scalini's, Osbornes Bar & Kitchen and also our fine dining restaurant Louis.

We hope to see you again soon.

The New Northumbria Hotel Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The breakfast was very disappointing, much to the annoyance of ourselves and the waiting staff. There appears to be an agency chef in at the time of this review, and everything was cold or done to a crisp. This was the only down side of our visit. The hotel was lovely, the staff helpful, the accomodation excellent, the facilities very good. We booked a suite, which was very well furnished(nice touch with the wall mounted HDMI socket under the TV). The bed was soft but provided us a good nights sleep. The bathroom was tidy and a good size.
Overall I'd recommend this hotel to anyone, dont let the breakfast thing put you off, I'm sure it will be sorted soon.

Room Tip: Get a suite, its worth it, and you can get a good deal online.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Northumbria H, Manager at The New Northumbria Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Its great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the New Northumbria Hotel and we are pleased to hear that you would recommend us to others. We are pleased that you appreciate our hotel suites and facilities which they have to offer.

We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your breakfast during your stay. We have taken your comments into account and passed them onto all of our breakfast staff to ensure that standards do not slip again.

Thankyou for taking the time to write this review, we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This was booked for a golf trip for 12 gents on a golfing break for 4 days staying 3 nights. We were so lucky to have found this hotel. The location in Jesmond was brilliant. The rooms were all clean and tidy, I asked to move rooms due to the cooking smells and the staff could not have been more helpfull.. We ate at Scallinis the italian attached to the hotel and the choice and food were very good. There used to large partiies so the service again was excellent. The following night we ate at Louis, again attached to the hotel, again the food was excellennt with amazing service. There was a good choice at breakfast, and all the staff in the hotel were very friendly and very helpfull. Only slight problem is parking but do not let this put you off.

Room Tip: Try to avoid been over the kitchens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Northumbria H, Manager at The New Northumbria Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thankyou for taking the time to write such a great review. We are very pleased to hear that you all enjoyed your stay and felt that you were lucky to have found us. Its great that you used our adjoining restaurants Louis and Scalini's and agree that the level of service runs through all of our venues.

We hope to see you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire UK
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed just the one night before the Great North Run, so the hotel was at full stretch, though you would not have known as the staff maintained efficiency throughout. We travelled as part of a group and our rooms were in slightly different parts of the hotel. All our rooms were clean and well-appointed, if slightly on the small size, everything worked as it should, was clean and comfortable. The staff on duty at breakfast were delightful with smiles for everyone.
The downside was the noise late at night from the bars downstairs and from Osborne Road in general. Thoughtless guests bellowing down phones in the corridors in the early hours also woke some of our group up but these are niggles that could occur in any hotel.

Room Tip: Try and avoid rooms over the bar areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Northumbria H, Manager at The New Northumbria Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
The New Northumbria are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us last weekend. We were at full capacity on that weekend due to the GNR however we are thrilled to hear that you felt that this did not negatively impact our service standards.

Thank you for your kind words regarding the breakfast staff. We will make sure that your comments are passed on!

We are very sorry about the noise, however as stated this is out of our hands, and the bars around the hotel all stop serving at 11pm.

We are very grateful for you taking the time to write this review & hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington,England
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stopped overnight before the GTNR and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We arrived early and spent time in the bar before visiting Scallinis restaurant which was also excellent.
Well positioned in a lovely part of Newcastle that we hadn't previously visited. We will be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Northumbria H, Manager at The New Northumbria Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time with us last weekend. It is great to hear that you spent time at our Italian restaurant Scalini's and Osbornes Bar and enjoyed them too. Well done for doing the Great North Run! Hope to see you again next year!

The New Northumbria Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Excellent hotel in the lovely Jesmond area of Newcastle. Perfect location for visiting/leaving off student offspring. Easy access to city centre (metro close by or taxi about £4-5) but situated in lovely residential area outside city centre. Lots of fab restaurants and bars close by. Scallinis (part of the hotel) is also a great bargain Italian restaurant. Osbornes bar (also part of hotel) has a great atmosphere and has some really cheap food offers eg yesterday (Monday) we had a burger and a pint £4.95 each! Staff very friendly and accommodating. Tip: def book one of Superior refurbished rooms....as good as any top end boutique hotel. Back of hotel much quieter than front.

Room Tip: Superior refurbished room at back of hotel best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Northumbria H, Manager at The New Northumbria Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
The New Northumbria would first like to thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate our newly refurbished superior rooms!

It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your experiences at our adjoining bar Osbornes and restaurant Scalinis. Maybe next time you could try our fine dining restaurant Louis?

Look forward to seeing you in the future

The New Northumbria Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The New Northumbria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Northumbria Hotel

Address: Osborne Road, Jesmond | 61-73 Osborne Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 83 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The New Northumbria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Northumbria Hotel is a boutique hotel located on the outskirts of Newcastle upon Tyne, in a busy vibrant residential area. We pride ourselves on our personable, friendly customer service and strive to make every guest feel special and valued. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Budget Places so you can book your The New Northumbria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel New Northumbria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The New Northumbria Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.