We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The New Northumbria Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The New Northumbria Hotel to your Saves list
The New Northumbria Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Osborne Road, Jesmond | 61-73 Osborne Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2AN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
inverurie
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for one night. The reception staff were very friendly and made as feel welcome. The Hotel provides free parking at the rear of the Hotel. We had a superior room which was clean and spacious. The Hotel can be a little noisy at times during the night, but that did not spoil our stay. The breakfast was good and the staff again very friendly. I would use this Hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Northumbria H, Manager at The New Northumbria Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
The New Northumbria Hotel are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and would return your custom in the future. We are very grateful for you to take the time to write this review. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    149
    58
    33
    11
See reviews for
48
144
21
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

My wife and i stayed for one night while we visited the hospital. Hotel was very nice clean,and modern. The staff at reception could not be more helpful when we arrived we were given a room next to the lift so asked to change because of the noise which was no problem. We had a drink at Osbornes bar which has a wide range of ales and wouldn't need to go much further.We then headed to Lois Resteraunt which we thought was very nice but quite slow and a little overpriced next time will try scillachis.But i would definetly reccomend the hotel and we will visit again the breakfast was lovely and we stayed in a superior room which was spacious and had everything you would require.

Room Tip: stay away from the lift if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Northumbria H, Manager at The New Northumbria Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
The New Northumbria Hotel are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and would return your custom in the future. We are very grateful for you to take the time to write this review. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here with some friends for a night out at the beginning of March. We got the room at a really reasonable price, at £72 per night which compared to most hotels in Newcastle is cheap.

The hotel is in a good easy to find location, and has parking behind the hotel, just tell that at reception and they will give you a ticket for your car. On check in the hotel itself is gorgeous, very much like the Malmaison, but odviously not quite as up market.

The reception staff where really friendly and helpful. We used the lift to go to the room (as we had our bags) and this was tiny and very old and a bit 'wobbly' so maybe stay clear if your not a fan.

Our room was quite nice, I had read that some of the rooms had been re-decorated, I don't think we got one of these sadly, but it was still nice and clean. There was a very large boiler tank of some sort in the room though, which was noisy and took up a lot of space.

We ate in the Italian Restaurant with the hotel on the night and the food was very nice. It was busy and had a good atmosphere. I also went for breakfast the next morning, which for £9.00 was really nice, and good value.

We got a taxi into the centre of Newcastle on the night, which was about 10 minutes away, so not to far at all.

Overall, this hotel was nice, and I would definitely return, brilliant value, especially if you book breakfast on arrival at you will then get it £7 instead of £9.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Northumbria H, Manager at The New Northumbria Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
The New Northumbria Hotel are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and would return your custom in the future. We are very grateful for you to take the time to write this review. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We wantrd to visit Newcastle, and chose the New Northumbria Hotel. I can't tell you how happy I am we did. We were greeted at reception with a big welcoming smile, from both the receptionists, and that set the tone for the rest of the staff too. The room offered comfortable accomodation, and provided two of thr best nights sleep I've had for a long time. There are several bars, and they provided a wide variety of Ale, my particular weakness, at a very reasonable price. Breakfast was efficient, and offered a good choice, and with a choice of restaurants, it was hard to chose where to eat. We chose the Italian restaurant, Scalini's, which was heaving even though it was monday night, the food was first class, and the wine like the ale was excellent and reasonable. This is a lively hotel, situated about a steady 10 minute walk away from the Metro so don't book if you want peace and quiet!!! Otherwise, I really recommend you consider the New Northumbria.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Northumbria H, Manager at The New Northumbria Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
The New Northumbria Hotel are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and are very grateful for you to take the time to write this review. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the New Northumbria Hotel for one night whilst attending a concert in Newcastle. The hotel was much better than we ever imagined for the price we paid. We had booked based on reviews on trip adviser and the hotel stood out on trivago as being cheap for the quality.

It is located in a fantastic area with many trendy bars and Resteraunts in the same street.

The room (standard double) was quite spacious, very modern and the bed was comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful and check in and check out was very quick. Free parking is available at the rear of the hotel.

Will definitely stay there again and will recommend to anyone visiting Newcastle.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Northumbria H, Manager at The New Northumbria Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
The New Northumbria Hotel are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and would return your custom in the future. We are very grateful for you to take the time to write this review. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This hotel was fabulous! When you arrive you feel the warmth. The room was absolutely clean with a modern concept. For breakfast you can get the traditional english breakfast or a selection from the buffet. The wi-Fi is included and it's close to the supermarket, bars, restaurant and the metro station. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Northumbria H, Manager at The New Northumbria Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
The New Northumbria Hotel are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and would return your custom in the future. We are very grateful for you to take the time to write this review. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We completely enjoyed our recent 5 night stay. The location is perfect, as we were visiting our daughter at uni and she lives in Jesmond. It's a very lively area unto it's own and yet still close to the city center. The rooms are modern and meticulously clean as is the entire hotel. We had a superior room on the second floor with a comfy king size bed and spacious bathroom. The staff was so friendly and very helpful. We'd especially like to thank Aimee for all her help during our stay. It's very convenient to have 2 restaurants and a bar right downstairs. The parking was not a problem for us, we always found a space. We look forward to our next stay.

Room Tip: go for a superior room or a suite if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Northumbria H, Manager at The New Northumbria Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
The New Northumbria Hotel are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and would return your custom in the future. We are very grateful for you to take the time to write this review. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The New Northumbria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Northumbria Hotel

Address: Osborne Road, Jesmond | 61-73 Osborne Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 83 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The New Northumbria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Northumbria Hotel is a boutique hotel located on the outskirts of Newcastle upon Tyne, in a busy vibrant residential area. We pride ourselves on our personable, friendly customer service and strive to make every guest feel special and valued. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your The New Northumbria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel New Northumbria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The New Northumbria Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.