We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, friendly, lovely” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The New Northumbria Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The New Northumbria Hotel to your Saves list
The New Northumbria Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Osborne Road, Jesmond | 61-73 Osborne Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2AN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great, friendly, lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Only stayed one night but I was blown away with the value, decor and the staff. I was greeted by a lovely lady on the front desk who was extremely helpful and welcoming. My room was fantastic - small but perfectly formed with a gorgeous bathroom, lovely toiletries, comfy bed and well decorated. Would recommend this place and happily stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    138
    51
    29
    11
See reviews for
41
125
21
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed just one night at this hotel while visiting sister in law at Uni in Newcastle, and cannot fault it. Travelled with my husband and 22 month old daughter.

When I booked the accommodation back in September, although I booked via a separate booking site on the internet, I got a call within 5 minutes from the hotel explaining that there was no need to bring our own travel cot as they would gladly provide one.

We checked in slightly early, and therefore our room wasn't ready, but there was no issue in leaving our car in the hotel car park while we went to my sister in law's house, and we just returned approx 2 hours later to get the keys and unload the car.

We asked for a paper the following morning and this was delivered without charge. The reception staff were lovely, the breakfast staff in particular were very friendly and efficient. We ate at Scalini's in the evening and found it to be a lovely atmosphere, great service, nice food and good value. (we had to book as it's so popular).

The room was very nice. Massive bed, table and 2 chairs, flat screen tv, dressing table/desk, lovely big bathroom with bath and shower over.

I heard others mention that the rooms at the fromt can be noisy, and whilst you were aware of people still being out and about (this is a student area after all) it did not affect ours or our daughters sleep at all.

Room Tip: we stayed in 217 and had no complaints
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

Had booked for Sept but due to health reasons had to postpone. Phoned and even though it was booked through ebooking. They kept my name on books. Arrived late evening the receptionist (Andrea) was a star even asked one of restaurant staff if he could move his car so I could park at the back. Really nice clean and friendly. Would recommend in a heartbeat

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

love it here. staff are friendly and helpful, close to shops, pubs, bars. clean room, altho a bit small but pretty neat for me. breakfast delivery on weekday. i arrived at 12.30pm, and my room is ready by 1pm. free wifi service which is important for me.

Room Tip: choose room that overlooks the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

The New Northumbria is definitely the best of the hotels in the Jesmond area ( see my review of the Best Western). Its got something for everyone, Scalinis pizza/ pasta place is always busy and the foods OK, Louis upstairs is good but pricier and the bar is busy with locals, students and residents.
Parking at rear is limited and a bit vulnerable, but I've never had a problem. WiFi System works well. Rooms are an above average standard, but can be noisy at the front because this is a lively part of town.
Overall its a good hotel if you don't want to be in the city yet want the convenience of lots of eateries and bars very close by.
I will use again next trip to Newcastle.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Stayed for one night along with 2 other colleagues on a business trip.
Was checked into room 300 that was small but had everything that was required, room and adjacent corridors were in need of refurbishment but apprantley other rooms within the hotel had recenty undergone a 'refit'.

I arrive at approx 12:30 3 hours before time of arrival I had given the receptionist was very helpful and as this room had been prepared was allowed to check in. Wifi was free and so was able to carry out work (was given x2 access codes when checkin in, very strong signal).

Didnt eat in the 2 adjoing restaurants apart from Breakfast the next morning, food was prepared fresh and was of a good standard. Overnight Parking was 'free' but can only accomadate approx 12 cars.

Busy location as is in Sudent residentail area, numerous venues to have a drink and has numerous restaurants close by.

I would stay again when next in area, why not give it a try

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Best place to stay in Newcastle at its price point or below - but not to breakfast! Otherwise Excellent. Hotel with Osbornes Bar, Scalinis Restaurant & Louis’ Restaurant - all under one ownership (best places in Jesmond ? )

We Liked:
No charge for parking. Wifi free - simple two code access - strong signal did not have to give any person details & large LCD TV in good position to view.
Great and personal service front desk - super rooms- contemporary - cleanliness - tidy (left tip and note of thanks)- great location/atmosphere. Has kettle etc, great tv and empty fridge to store whatever. Had walk round outside before dinner - many bars & great atmosphere loads of young adults and older having great time.

Osbornes Bar - great fun. Scalinis Restaurant - buzzing - wonderful lamb 'special' - 5 star! Breakfast kipper wonderful - Gary - breakfast manager excellent service - let me switch from English Breakfast without issue .

Also recommend trip to Archers ice cream parlour by mini Waitrose & Tesco round the corner - best ice cream since Rome Central Station!

Louis’ Restaurant - looked wonderful and told it had homemade ice cream ... with daughter and niece to see Newcastle University so opted for Scalinis.

We did not like:
Scalinis Restaurant - booked for 9:00 pm Saturday - not shown to table until 9:45 pm - no real apology - shunted up to bar.
Scalinis Restaurant - pre - booked breakfast £7.50 - English breakfast at 9:15 am - a sad egg. I dismal piece of bacon, I sorry sausage - a mushroom I think- was served to my wife and daughter - coffee dismal, and low grade continental options. Compare with Premier Inn - £8.25 - as much English Breakfast As You Want - Cooked to Order - plus generous continental options.
Scalinis Restaurant - my daughter and niece had ice creams at end of meal - tasted cheap. Why not serve Archers or Louis' icecream?

Room Tip: Higher up the better as Osborne bar below
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The New Northumbria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Northumbria Hotel

Address: Osborne Road, Jesmond | 61-73 Osborne Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 81 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The New Northumbria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Northumbria Hotel is a boutique hotel located on the outskirts of Newcastle upon Tyne, in a busy vibrant residential area. We pride ourselves on our personable, friendly customer service and strive to make every guest feel special and valued. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The New Northumbria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel New Northumbria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The New Northumbria Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.