We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nightclub across the road” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Newcastle Central

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Premier Inn Newcastle Central to your Saves list
Premier Inn Newcastle Central
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   New Bridge West Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 8BS, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book at premierinn.com
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Nightclub across the road”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

The hotel is a typical Premier Inn, however what is not mentioned on the website is that there is a nightclub just meters away. Although they say there is soundproofing to minimise noise, it doesn't work. We could not sleep for the music and then when the club emptied there was an unbelievable amount of noise for an hour after. Wondering why - a burger van was camped outside!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the nightclub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Newcastle Central, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we always strive to provide customers with a comfortable stay, and I apologise that on this occasion your stay was less than relaxing. Please can you email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    248
    116
    35
    16
See reviews for
79
213
54
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Usual good standard of service and rooms.
Stayed on a Saturday night having travelled up for the football.
We dropped our luggage off as there was a massive queue with the view to checking in later on, bags were kept behind in the office.
We didn't really appreciate it at the time but our room was directly opposite what appeared to Newcastle's busiest nightclub.
Loads of people queuing, being rowdy and noisy.
Couldn't be bothered changing rooms but I'm sure they would have if there was one available.
Just rememeber this when booking, try to have a room on the other side of the building away from the club!!

Room Tip: Book a room on the opposite side to the night club as it is very noisy!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stayed here for one night after previously staying at another Premier Inn in London that we enjoyed. When we got to our room it smelt of cigarette smoke despite it being a non smoking hotel and signs in the room stating clearly that sensors are fitted. The smell was strongest around the bathroom and entrance to the room. We told reception who did not appear to be shocked and were not in the least apologetic. The receptionist said she would inform housekeeping. When we returned to the room some time later there was a smell of air freshner but the smell of cigarette smoke was still there.
We had difficulty sleeping as our room faced the night club over the road and the music could be heard until about 3am!
Hotel staff were friendly. The bed very comfortable and the room had adequate facilities for a one night stay.
Breakfast was ok but the choice wasn't as advertised and they were slow to replenish the food.
Not sure if we would stay at this particular Premier Inn again and would probably opt for another in Newcastle.

Room Tip: Request a room not overlooking the front of the hotel as you can hear noise from the nightclub nearb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

i stayed here with about 20 other lads at the weekend for my mates stag do. Hotel was great not so sure about the night life. However i would highly recommend this hotel. The staff are great we had a great time with the older man who stands around reception with glasses true toon fan, also the young lass and lad on reception on saturday night joanna and patrick they were brill. We headed out into town a few times couple of my pals got punched because they were wearing welsh onesies!! We will definately be back at this hotel again. keep up the good work guys!!

Room Tip: the bar can be a bit pricey but what else can you expect from a hotel, also i noticed the rooms to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Stayed here with my friend as we planned a night out on the town and for only £29 this hotel was cheaper than a taxi home for us both. At first glance the room seemed nice, small, only enough room to walk around the bed. But pretty average. But on closer inspection the room was not very clean. I found a huge clump of long brown hair on the bedroom carpet behind the door. (Neither of ours!!) and had to use toilet roll to pick this up and flush away. Also there were a few cigarette (I assume) holes/burns on the net curtain which were very unsightly. Also rather a lot of smudge/finger/scuff marks to the wall around the bed, makes it overall seem a little scruffy. Sink and taps could have been cleaner, water marks on arrival.
However this being said, the bed was very confortable and the room suited our needs as we were only back to sleep. Location was great as we could walk to pubs and clubs.
It was however very cold when we got back and the instructions for the heating on the wall did not seem to apply to the control w had so I eventually gave up and turned the fans off altogether and just put on a jumper to go back to bed!
On a final note, our member of staff on check in was nice and chatty, check in was quick and I slept ok once I warmed up. If I had paid any more than £29 I would not be a very happy customer, but as this is cheap I can overlook these few problems. But really no matter how cheap, the rooms should be clean and maintained better than they appear to be. Probably would book in again for location reasons, though I found the Travelodge cleaner for the same price.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Very clean and comfortable. Room was quite spacious and bathroom was well appointed with bath and shower. The staff were friendly and very helpful.. It was good to be able to leave the car and walk into Newcastle - only a short distance. A midweek winter break was excellent value for money

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

The value for money here is outstanding.
Welcoming professional efficient check in (thanks joel), great room great location.

Could not fault it. Checked in early as well as room already. Clean, comfortable, well appointed.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn Newcastle Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Newcastle Central

Address: New Bridge West Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 8BS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#8 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Newcastle Central 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Premier Inn Newcastle Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Newcastle Central Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Premier Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne
Travel Inn Newcastle
Premier Travel Inn Newcastle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Newcastle Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.