We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would not recommend it” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Newcastle Central

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Premier Inn Newcastle Central to your Saves list
Premier Inn Newcastle Central
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   New Bridge West Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 8BS, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book at premierinn.com
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“I would not recommend it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I decided to stayed at this Inn for its very convenient location. However, this is the best I can say of it. It is cheap, but what you get in exchange is not so much: the room was small, artificial lightening insufficient, the hitting did not work properly, ... and during the weekends it is impossible to sleep (it seems it is very popular for stag parties). Staff was great but this does not make the defficiencies up.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitbread-77, Naina - Social Media at Premier Inn Newcastle Central, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for your review.

At Premier Inn our main objective remains to deliver a high level of customer service in all our establishments. We apologise for the service you experienced at our hotel.

Your comments have been noted and will be duly investigated by both Head Office and the Management Team at our hotel.

Please be assured at Premier Inn we take the service provided to all our guests very seriously and your feedback will be duly followed up.

Once again thank you for taking the time to review your stay we do hope that we can welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Naina

Social Media Team,
Whitbread Hotels & Restaurants.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    248
    116
    35
    16
See reviews for
79
213
54
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Im generaly a big fan of Premier Inn, though perhaps Ive been spoiled by the beautiful new properties of Leeds City North and Edinburgh airport. This Premier Inn is far below average for the brand as its old and outdated, not the new lightening or curtins. The bathrooms are also not the usual standard. The furniture was old and stained. The room was freezing cold though we were provided with heaters for both rooms upon request. Noise from adjacent rooms. We were refunded our money without question for both rooms it was so bad. For the good reputation of Premier Inn, they need to give it a complete overhaul or close it down. Would never stay here again

Room Tip: Stay at the more modern properties on the quayside
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitbread-77, Naina - Social Media at Premier Inn Newcastle Central, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for your review.

At Premier Inn our main objective remains to deliver a high level of customer service in all our establishments. We apologise for the service you experienced at our hotel.

Your comments have been noted and will be duly investigated by both Head Office and the Management Team at our hotel.

Please be assured at Premier Inn we take the service provided to all our guests very seriously and your feedback will be duly followed up.

Once again thank you for taking the time to review your stay we do hope that we can welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Naina

Social Media Team,
Whitbread Hotels & Restaurants.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tadcaster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This premier inn had a very comfortable bed, clean room and bathroom, and a good price especially for the location, what more do you need! I can't speak for the breakfast as we decided against it due to the cost - £8.25 for all you can eat, good if you eat a lot, but not if all you wanted was cereal! The hotel itself was quiet, there was a bit of road noise but nothing unacceptable for the location. Would definitely try a premier inn again after this experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Spent a night here with friends on a recent visit to The Sage. We paid £40 for the room and just over £5 for the continental breakfast. We arrived 2 hours before check in time but our room was ready so that was a bonus. The room was spacious and comfortable, if a little cool. There was a bath in the bathroom, not just a shower. Everything was very clean. There was tea and coffee available and a hair dryer and the bathroom had soap and shower gel. We were at the front of the hotel with a view of the river and we had a very comfortable and quiet night. The continental breakfast was excellent. We had large bowls of fresh friut and compote. There was a good choice of cereal and you could have porridge if you wanted. Tea,coffee,toast crumpets and croissants as well as muffins and plenty of butter jam honey and marmite available. We thought it was excellent value and would look for a Premier Inn again. The staff were outstanding.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for one night in October, it was our first ever stay in a Premier Inn and our first ever night away together. We stayed here because of the price and location, we were going to a gig at the O2 Academy and it was just a 10-15 minute walk away. It was surprisingly quiet in our room on the 3rd floor, when we arrived we were greeted very warmly and friendly. Our room was very clean and well presented, we were very happy with it! Bed was comfy, the only thing that bothered me was the air con vent, it kept me up a little bit but I slept fine other than that. I had a breakfast the next morning and it was lovely. Had a wonderful time here and are definitely staying here again whenever we come back to Newcastle. (hopefully very soon!)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This is the third time I have stayed here; all of which were on business. The rooms are comfortable, the bar area is fine and the breakfasts very good. There was a little noise from the nightclub across the road (room 404) but I slept well anyway. The cost is very low if you book in advance and it is close to where I was visiting, so it ticked all the boxes. There is also discounted car parking next door. Would probably pick a different hotel if visiting Newcastle as part of a couple for pleasure.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the rooms looking out over the main entrace as there is some noise from the nightclub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I had not stayed at this Premier Inn before (I used another Newcastle Premier Inn before) BUT will stay HERE again. Much better. Warm and friendly welcome on arrival, gave me a quiet room and could not have done more to make me feel welcome in their hotel.
Very central location, 5 mins from Metro.
Restaurant menu has recently changed and much improved from before. More emphasis on fresh food and was of good quality. The meal deal is excellent value.
Breakfast also much improved offer with a much better selection.
Have to say though that the room was a bit 'tired' and in need of a makeover.
Have recommended this hotel to my colleagues already.
BTW I am a very fussy guest and normally complain!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn Newcastle Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Newcastle Central

Address: New Bridge West Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 8BS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#8 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Newcastle Central 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Premier Inn Newcastle Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Newcastle Central Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Premier Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne
Travel Inn Newcastle
Premier Travel Inn Newcastle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Newcastle Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.