We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, comfortable and reasonably priced” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Avenue Hotel

Avenue Hotel
Avenue Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Avenue Hotel to your Saves list
Avenue Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Manor House Road | Jesmond, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2LU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Friendly, comfortable and reasonably priced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Me and my husband stayed spent a night in this lovely B&B on our very first trip to Newcastle for Hogmany. It is located in Jesmond, in a residential area and is very quiet during the night. The owner was very friendly and told us about the the cheap taxi service which we can avail from the hotel to get to the city centre (for £6), which is just 7 minutes away. Our room was on the top floor with a side view to the cricket stadium next door. Although, our room was small, it was spotlessly clean. I however managed to find 1 small stain on my white bed sheet. We were also lucky to have a direct view to the fireworks from our room late night. The full english breakfast was excellent and the saussages were just perfectly done.
The metro station is located at a 10 minute walk from the B&B and gets you to the airport within 15 minutes. Alternately, you can also take a cab for £30. We started our evening by chilling out at the Charles Grey bar, which is located right at the monument. It is a very ancient bar with excellent ambience. Although the bar was really busy, the atmosphere was amazing. There is also a traditional hogmany parade at 17:00 just outside the pub which was fun to watch. As we had no reservations for dinner, we ended up at Aneesa's Restaurant on the recommendation of a local friend and were surely not dissapointed. The restaurant had the most amazing Indian buffet that you could ever imagine and only for £15. Although out trip was short, we really had a great time! We be surely be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    14
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
14
6
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We spent two nights at this little B&B and found it to be excellent. It was quiet at night which was a bonus. The beds are super comfortable and the room lovely and clean. Breakfast was delicious with plenty to choose from.

We had two rooms as my daughter and my granddaughter were with us. They were on the top floor which was great.

As we did not wish to participate in a rowdy, boozy weekend this was perfect for us.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Just an overnight stay this time but we will definitely book for a weekend sometime soon. Lovely place, top notch facilities and an excellent breakfast. The staff we met, Kenny and Joan, were very friendly and helpful, nothing seemed to be too much bother for them from recommending a local restaurant to catering for everyone's personal preferences at breakfast time. Newcastle Cricket Club is just across the road and that's lovely too, might be arranging a stay at the Avenue to go and watch a match.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Very friendly, very clean and no problem coming in late. Street parking right outside.The cricket club across the road is also friendly and sells an excellent pint of real ale!. We tried to get into Francesca's to eat but the queue at 17:45 was to the door, so we went to Sebastian's round the corner which was excellent and friendly. We went to Cluny 2 and came back in about 01:30

Breakfast was superb, with good quality sausage, fresh well cooked fried egg and good coffee.

We will definitely stay again. Certainly never Premier Inns after this.

Room Tip: we only saw room 1 which is on the ground floor, ideal if you have a problem with stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balsham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

managed to gain a great deal through booking.com for a 2 night weekend stay here. I stayed in a single room with ensuite shower room. The TV worked well as did the Wifi, and there was a hairdryer too. plus point, plenty of plug points to do the essential away from home charging. there was a proper wardrobe and plenty of drawer space. Clean Towels as requested and the room was cleaned daily. Bed was incredibly comfortable and although one of the guest in the neighbouring rooms was quite a snorer, I managed to have two lovely nights sleep. There was parking nearby at a small extra charge and the hotel is in a good location. The breakfast was good and the staff were excellent, I felt very safe going in at night seeing Steve the night staff sat just inside the entrance of the Hotel. If I was to stay in Newcastle again I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. Thanks Jo and Steve for making my stay so comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Not amazing but good for the price and all perfectly acceptable. TV didn't work very well, curtains let the light in. Great shower, didn't see much of staff except at check in, out and breakfast.

Location great if you, like us want to stay in jesmond. If you're looking for a Newcastle hotel there will be others more central but there is good transport.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I very much enjoyed staying here. The hotel was simple, but more than adequate and in easy walking distance of good restaurants, the location of which Julie was happy to describe. The introduction to the cricket club across the street was most welcome. She even loaned me an umbrella which came in very handy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie2450, Manager at Avenue Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thankyou for your kind comments the Cricket Club across the road is always a popular place to visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avenue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Hotel

Address: 2 Manor House Road | Jesmond, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2LU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 79 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Avenue Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Avenue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avenue Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.