We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoyed the stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Avenue Hotel

Save Saved
You added Avenue Hotel to your Saves list
Avenue Hotel
Avenue Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Avenue Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Manor House Road | Jesmond, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2LU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
uk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“enjoyed the stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I stayed at The avenue for the great north run weekend and found the staff there very friendly and helpful and they recommended a great ( and cheap!) taxi firm and good places to eat out.
The room was very clean and the breakfast was lovely. I felt that they looked after me while I was there and would recommend them to others.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie2450, Manager at Avenue Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thankyou for your kind words about The Avenue and the staff. We always recommend the same taxi firm as they have always been reliable.
Hopefully we will see you again next year fitness allowing for The Great North Run?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    13
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
13
5
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

My wife and I recently spent two nights at the avenue and had a very pleasant stay. The guest house is in a good location and the staff were very helpful and friendly. The tasty breakfast was served in a bright,airy and cheerful dining room overlooking Jesmond cricket ground. The bedroom was spacious,very clean and had plenty of storage space with good en-suite facilities. We look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

We stayed at The Avenue to visit Newcastle for the first time. The bed and breakfast was ideally situated in a quiet residential area opposite the Newcastle cricket ground. We had a lovely room with a superb view of the ground. The room was a reasonable size and was very clean and well presented. The staff were very friendly and helpful,they even suggested we visit St James Park to have a tour as I am a huge footie fan. Breakfast was a very well presented full English,very tasty. We walked into the city on two occasions which took us around 20 minutes and was very pleasant.A taxi to the Central station on our departure was only £5.50 . Would definitely like to return and will be recommending to all of our friends to stay at The Avenue. Thankyou!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the cricket ground
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Staff were very friendly and helpful. Although room was small,it was clean and warm. Bathroom was also clean.Would recommend as a cheap and friendly bed and breakfast. Our only fault, was that it was far from the centre and had to take a bus, taxi, or metro to get there.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Workington, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

Stopped at the Avenue for 5 nights while my mother was in Freeman hospital. Place clean and tidy, staff very friendly and helpful. The Jesmond cricket club just over the road is a great place to chill out and have a good pint.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julesavenue, Manager at Avenue Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2011
Thankyou for your kind remarks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights in October 2011. The room was very shabby and although fairly clean, could have done with a coat of paint and a new carpet. During our stay we only saw one member of staff - a very pleasant young girl who was on her school holidays and was helping out. The bathroom was tiny, the shower was covered in mould, the toilet seat loose and although we pointed this out nothing was done. I would never stay there again as i think it is very poor value for money.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julesavenue, Manager at Avenue Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2011
Im sorry you were disappointed with your stay at The Avenue. The property is currently undergoing a total refurbishment and unfortunately you stayed in one of the two remaining rooms which hasnt been completed yet. We are planning to complete all work by early next year.
You only mention your bedroom having problems so I hope you enjoyed the other areas you were in which have been updated.
Thankyou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

The avenue is situated about a mile and a half from the city centre. We found it a little bit too far to walk especially if your going to walk round the city when you get there but the bus service seemed pretty reliable . Last bus back was about eleven so nightclubbers would have to get a taxi. We had a recently refurbished double ensuite on the first floor which wasnt over large but ample for the two of us . It had a flat screen tv ,comfortable bed and nice modern shower and toilet. We were given the option of the family room on the same floor which was a lot larger but hadnt been refurbished and on the whole the double room was nicer. The hotel is a little bit out of the way but there are a few bars and restaurants on Osborne Rd about 5mins walk , and there is the advantage of it being in a quieter area , we had two very peaceful nights sleep .Breakfast was served between 7.30 and 8.30 and was very nice ,well cooked and well presented. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the place was kept very clean. Would stop there again if in the area .

Room Tip: Room 4 was a recently refurbished and modern double ensuite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julesavenue, Manager at Avenue Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2011
Thankyou for your honest review and compliments for our refurbished room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Avenue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Hotel

Address: 2 Manor House Road | Jesmond, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2LU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 77 hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Avenue Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Avenue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avenue Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.