We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoyed our stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Avenue Hotel

Avenue Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Avenue Hotel to your Saves list
Avenue Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Manor House Road | Jesmond, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2LU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
“enjoyed our stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Staff were very friendly and helpful. Although room was small,it was clean and warm. Bathroom was also clean.Would recommend as a cheap and friendly bed and breakfast. Our only fault, was that it was far from the centre and had to take a bus, taxi, or metro to get there.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    14
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
14
6
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Workington, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

Stopped at the Avenue for 5 nights while my mother was in Freeman hospital. Place clean and tidy, staff very friendly and helpful. The Jesmond cricket club just over the road is a great place to chill out and have a good pint.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julesavenue, Manager at Avenue Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2011
Thankyou for your kind remarks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights in October 2011. The room was very shabby and although fairly clean, could have done with a coat of paint and a new carpet. During our stay we only saw one member of staff - a very pleasant young girl who was on her school holidays and was helping out. The bathroom was tiny, the shower was covered in mould, the toilet seat loose and although we pointed this out nothing was done. I would never stay there again as i think it is very poor value for money.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julesavenue, Manager at Avenue Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2011
Im sorry you were disappointed with your stay at The Avenue. The property is currently undergoing a total refurbishment and unfortunately you stayed in one of the two remaining rooms which hasnt been completed yet. We are planning to complete all work by early next year.
You only mention your bedroom having problems so I hope you enjoyed the other areas you were in which have been updated.
Thankyou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

The avenue is situated about a mile and a half from the city centre. We found it a little bit too far to walk especially if your going to walk round the city when you get there but the bus service seemed pretty reliable . Last bus back was about eleven so nightclubbers would have to get a taxi. We had a recently refurbished double ensuite on the first floor which wasnt over large but ample for the two of us . It had a flat screen tv ,comfortable bed and nice modern shower and toilet. We were given the option of the family room on the same floor which was a lot larger but hadnt been refurbished and on the whole the double room was nicer. The hotel is a little bit out of the way but there are a few bars and restaurants on Osborne Rd about 5mins walk , and there is the advantage of it being in a quieter area , we had two very peaceful nights sleep .Breakfast was served between 7.30 and 8.30 and was very nice ,well cooked and well presented. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the place was kept very clean. Would stop there again if in the area .

Room Tip: Room 4 was a recently refurbished and modern double ensuite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julesavenue, Manager at Avenue Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2011
Thankyou for your honest review and compliments for our refurbished room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

This is a small, clean, friendly B&B run by Julie who gives a warm greeting to all guests. I had an ensuite double room on the ground floor which looked as if it had been recently renovated. The shower was one of the largest and best for this grade of accomodation. It is situated in Jesmond a student are with retaurants nearby. Its possible to walk into the city centre from here.
I would throughly recommend this B&B if you are looking for reasonably priced accomodation in the city.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julesavenue, Manager at Avenue Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2011
Thankyou so much for your kind remarks. They are very much appreciated, it is always good to hear we are doing the right thing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

1st time to Newcastle & first impressions I thought hotel was middle of nowhere. It is in a quiet residential area, but in fact there are numerous, busy bars about 10mins walk.
There are 2 Metro stations about 15mins walk , and very regular/cheap service straight to Central Newcastle. In fact location was idea as peaceful yet easy access to other areas. (Maybe not suit those looking for heart for action non-stop Newcaslte nightlife).

Rooms very clean & average size. Nice bathrooms & seemed fresh & airy. Our room, number 9 (top floor) overlooked the cricket pitch - so cricket fans would be in their element. Wasted on me though. Very welcoming & friendly staff.
At £30 pp per night BB - thought good value

Room Tip: Top floor - up 3 flights stairs. Not suit everyone
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2011

Enjoyed our first visit and would use again even though in one of the smaller rooms. Staff very helpful and friendly. Good value B and B. Quiet so slept well in good bed with lovely linen. Thanks

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avenue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Hotel

Address: 2 Manor House Road | Jesmond, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2LU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 79 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Avenue Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Avenue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avenue Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.