We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“faux Victorian chic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rosebery Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newcastle upon Tyne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Rosebery Hotel
Save Saved
You added Rosebery Hotel to your Saves list
2 Rosebery Crescent | Jesmond, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 1ET, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“faux Victorian chic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Booked two nights at the Rosebery. I appreciated that I got a discount. I also was upgraded on arrival to a room with ensuite. And I got a welcome glass of wine. Its a quirky and characterful establishment. A lot of thought has gone into the decor, with lots of elaborate mirrors and ornaments on every available surface, and painted in bright blues and pinks.

It is in a nice leafy suburb of Newcastle, and once you get there parking was easy and it was pleasant and quiet. However getting at it from the A1058 was a bit tricky! The room was comfortable and the bathroom was good. Breakfast was DIY continental in the room. There was quite a lot to choose from, including croissant, pain au chocolat, instant porridge, blueberry muffin etc and you could make your own ground coffee or herbal tea.

I had done a days walking and was able to rest up and have a snooze before walking about 20 minutes into town, followed by a good nights sleep. The ornate decoration is not quite my taste, but I guess it would be a great place to stay for a girly weekend.

Room Tip: Mine was at the top which was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    47
    11
    9
    49
See reviews for
31
59
31
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

don't believe all you read on reviews. stayed at this hotel as it was close to our venue. beautiful building and interior. just my style, and the wifes. some reviews weren't fantastic. we had a great stay for family celebration. the hotel has recently been revamped and looks great inside. good size rooms. also got complimentary bottle of wine as we were celebrating an anniversary. breakfast served in the room. suited me fine, sometimes can't be bothered to sit in a room full of strangers and have to eat. all in all a very nice stay. would recommend it. dave stuart ***

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Gorgeous vintage styled room, with a lovely view! Hotel staff very friendly and was greeted with a complementary glass of wine upon arrival, which was a nice touch. Very comfortable bed, large room, en suite bathroom was stunning, room top bath. Quirky interior, funny signs all over the hotel to make you smile. Got a free continental breakfast. There was a seated area in the room where your breakfast was laid out, fridge, tasty croissants, filter coffee, cereals, muffins, jams etc.. Lots of choice. My boyfriend and I stayed 3 nights, one extra night, as It was so relaxing. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: All rooms are decorated differently, but all have feature beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

A lovely boutique hotel set in leafy jesmond. Great place to stay. friendly staff, gorgeous beds!
Quirky and fun if you're looking for something with personality. We loved our stay here as it was close to restaurants and also to Newcastle city centre for shopping

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

I'm a reasonably frequent visitor to Newcastle-upon-Tyne, having family in the area. Lovely as they are, my partner and I do like to have our own space. Looking at the options in Jesmond, we didn't want to spend a fortune, but were surprised to find a hotel with so much comfort and character at the price we paid. The Rosebury is more than good value for money, it has bags of character. The whole hotel has a vintage, Edwardian-era theme, with quirky touches that bring it up to trend. Our bedroom was spacious and airy, with a en-suite that had a roll-top bath. Fabulous! The staff were friendly and helpful, despite the hotel obviously being busy. Our little doggy was welcomed almost more than we were, but he's very cute so we're used to that! Oh, a nice surprise was the in-room breakfast. So nice not to have to face other people first thing! All in all a recommended choice if you want good value, but don't want to compromise on style.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a roll-top bath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Amazing hotel with friendly staff. Great place to stay, very impressive and clean. Wonderful and luxury . Room a good size, clean and tidy. Excellent location next to Freeman hospital. Definetely come back!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

This hotel is absolutely gorgeous - - the interior was very unique, far from your cookie-cutter standard you tend to see at other places. Was pleasantly surprised! We were there for a long weekend and it was a good base for our Northeast getaway - bear in mind it's not in the city centre, but that was what we wanted as it's near Jesmond Dene (beautiful for walks) and getting into town doesn't take too long. Would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rosebery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosebery Hotel

Address: 2 Rosebery Crescent | Jesmond, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 1ET, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 79 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rosebery Hotel is boutique bed and breakfast located within a stunning Edwardian building on a quiet residential street in Jesmond, Newcastle Upon Tyne. Overlooking serene Jesmond Dene Park , with its acres of natural woodland beauty, you will be surprised to discover that the bustling Newcastle city centre is just a 10 minute walk away.Offering value for money accommodation and a free continental room breakfast, The Rosebery has a range of beautifully refurbished rooms, from singles to large family rooms that can sleep up to four. The hotel caters for all the needs of any discerning traveler, with extensive free parking, free WiFi and a complimentary continental breakfast to set you up for the day.For those who prefer something lighter and healthy in the mornings, as a gesture of goodwill to our guests, we provide a free in-room continental breakfast to include cereals, yoghurts, fresh croissants and other freshly baked bread products, orange juice and fresh fruits. Plus tea, coffee’s and a range of herbal teas. Vegans, vegetarians and those with food intolerances are not left out – special dietary requirements will be made on request, such as vegan gluten-free breads, soya milk and vegan spreads. Please kindly enquire at the time of reservation.A boutique bed and breakfast in Newcastle can’t be without fresh bread from a local boutique baker. The French Oven supplies the Rosebery Hotel with delicious handmade breads, including lovely farmhouse white buns, delicious croissants, organic butter brioche breakfast rolls, and yummy Tea Loaf buns with mixed fruit, cherries, nuts and mixed spice.To wash down your scrumptious free continental breakfast there is fresh filter coffee, an array of specialty and herbal teas. Fresh fruit juices and decaffeinated teas for those who don’t need a caffeine hit in the morning.Please kindly note we do not accept any reservations for stag or hen parties or single or mixed groups looking for alcohol fueled party weekends. As we want to ensure that all guests have a relaxing and peaceful stay, not disturbed by other guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rosebery Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Rosebery Newcastle Upon Tyne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosebery Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.