We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Room, Great Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rosebery Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Rosebery Hotel to your Saves list
Rosebery Hotel
2 Rosebery Crescent | Jesmond, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 1ET, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off 2 Night Stay
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Room, Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Had a stay here just over a week ago and loved it. The receptionist told me the hotel was recently refurbished - it's much nicer than the old (guest) photos in here! It's very unique in terms of style and furniture - the owners have clearly put a lot of thought and effort into the decor. Couldn't believe how nice the room was (photo attached).

It's in a nice area as well (Jesmond), close to the centre of Newcastle. Fantastic value - boutique hotel at an affordable price. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    51
    12
    9
    48
See reviews for
35
66
39
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

This is the most fabulous hotel tucked away in Jesmond just a couple of miles out of the Newcastle City Centre. The room we had was stunning I was very impressed for the price - great value. The staff couldn't have been more helpful overall a lovely experience. I would strongly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

Upon my check in, I was greeted by the lovely receptionist who was very helpful and carried one of my bags up to my room for me!
There's so much to look at before you even get to your room, it's brilliant!
I'd only looked at photos of gorgeous, stylish rooms until I stayed at the Rosebery, and I got to stay in one!
Not only do the rooms look good, but mine was spotless, with everything I needed right there.
I really enjoyed my in room 'picnic' breakfast, as it meant I could stay in my pyjamas! All the food provided was lovely.
I was able to come and go as I pleased and even treated myself to a takeaway in front of the telly one night!
Overall a great experience. I would totally recommend this hotel to anyone!

I only wish I had been staying longer!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

I never normally write reviews but I was compelled to do one for this wonderful boutique hotel as soon as I got home! My partner and I had an absolutely amazing service from all of the staff that worked at the Rosebery. They were kind, helpful and very welcoming!

After seeing a couple of negative reviews on here I was sceptical upon arrival. But I knew as soon as I got through that front door that I loved it. Although we arrived later than expected, the receptionist kindly showed us up to our room and told us about all of the amenities, services available etc. Whilst chatting away I gently probed about the bad reviews on Tripadvisor and she explained to my partner and I that they have a new hotel manager now that recently completely refurbished the entire Georgian building!

We were given an absolutely gorgeous bedroom with a luxury ensuite bathroom. The finishing touches to the decor were quite incredible. All done to a very high standard!

We can't wait to come back in the summer!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

this hotel charged me for 2 nights i did not stay. the receptionist is a disgrace. she cancelled bookings over the phone yet they went ahead to debit account. its shocking how they get away with these poor services. manager is a disgrace and very unhelpful. and i didnt get any refund till date. i pity any one taking the risk to lodge in this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
124susi, Owner at Rosebery Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
The hotel has terms and conditions which are reasonable and fair, as does every hotel. If guests cancel within the cancellation period, then they abide by those terms and conditions agreed to at the time of booking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newbury
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

As we were about to board our flight to Newcastle we received a call saying the receptionist was ill so we would had to let ourselves in, were given the door code and told where our room keys would be. We paid a lot for an en suite room, however, there was absolutely no hot water so we could not bath prior to going to our son's 21st birthday. There was nobody at reception either when we arrived or when we left the next day. I have tried many times to call the hotel but nobody answers and it says the voice mail is full! I have written to the Manager and had no reply. Our room was very expensive and it was the worse service we have ever had and not to be able to bath is outrageous. At the very least I would expect an apology and a part refund but the management seem to have disappeared!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
124susi, Owner at Rosebery Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
The hotel has been closed since September 1st 2013 and does not re open until the 17th March 2014. No guests have been accepted during this time. This review is clearly at attempt to damage the business. We are aware of it and It is being pursued via the appropriate legal channels. If you wish to see legitimate reviews from guests that have stayed, please visit other portals.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long buckby
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

We booked to stay 9/10 August back inJuly as I was having an operation at the Freeman, we have stayed here before.
Unfortunately the Freeman postponed my operation on the 6th August,which was a bit of a surprise to say the least, we rang the hotel to let them know, and that we would rebook as soon as we have a new date; we were told it was within the 3 day cancellation period therefore there may be a charge...it was 3 hours within that period!!...
We were told the manager would ring us back, a call was missed...and so we rang again, once again we was told our message would be passed on.
On the 12 August 2 nights accommodation was debited from our bank account without any discussion, I could understand I night ( although it would be uncaring)...but 2 nights is frankly disgusting, I have NEVER come across such a cold hearted attitude for business, especially from one that boasts on its website that it cares for relatives staying at the Freeman...all these people care about is money. The ironic thing is we would have rebooked, as would other relatives who also had to cancel their rooms...but not within 72 hours!!
It's worrying and expensive enough everyone having to travel from Northamptonshire to enable me to have treatment which I would not be alive without, but then on top of all this worry we are being blatantly robbed by those that offer support, yes it may be close to the Freeman, but they are morally a world away.
And so I am still waiting for my operation that was postponed as they needed the theatre for a more urgent case,I am getting sicker by the day, I am in pain and unable to eat...but also unable to stomach the despicable treatment by these people profiting on others pain.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
124susi, Owner at Rosebery Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
The Rosebery Hotel, as like any hotel, has terms of business when reserving with the hotel, which are clearly stated on the website. These terms are reasonable and fair.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rosebery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosebery Hotel

Address: 2 Rosebery Crescent | Jesmond, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 1ET, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 83 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rosebery Hotel provides the perfect accommodation for those who are looking for that something special, rather than just a run of the mill chain hotel. The tasteful interior of the hotel provides guests with a relaxing and welcoming feel, in a quiet location, next to Jesmond Dene Park. Our rooms are light, spacious and airy, with high ceilings and charming original detailing. Offering guests free in-room continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi, Freeview television, free unrestricted parking and (being only 5 minutes from the city centre) a quick commute into the buzzing city of Newcastle. The Rosebery is also the nearest hotel to the Freeman Hospital, which makes us ideal for relatives of patients or locum staff, who require long term accommodation. The hotel bedrooms have comfortable, good sized beds, a flat screen television with built in DVD, a refrigerator and a seating area for breakfast. Our en suite rooms have fabulous bathrooms, some featuring roll top baths and rainforest showers and our basic rooms share a toilet and bathroom, all very nearby. We do have ground floor rooms available and we cater for vegans & those who have special dietary requirements. For longer term guests we do offer free clothes washing facilities and access to an ironing board, also we can provide use of the hotel's kitchen for use of the microwave. We provide guests who need it, luggage storage and Late and Early Check in's can be arranged with the hotel. The Rosebery is a pet friendly hotel, so if you want to bring your furry friend along, just let us know! We offer great discounts to Commercial groups, contractors, shop fitters, TV and Theatre production companies and the like. Unfortunately we are unable to accommodate party groups or Stag/Hen groups. Save up to 30% by BOOKING Direct with the hotel either by phone or via our secure booking system. Third party booking portals charge more! Booking direct is much cheaper! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rosebery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosebery Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Rosebery Newcastle Upon Tyne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosebery Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.