We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst experience ever” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Solomon's Lounge

Solomon's Lounge
404 Chillingham Road | Heaton, Newcastle upon Tyne NE6 5QX, England
0191 2760906
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $19
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Solomon's Lounge offers you delectable Punjarbi/Kashmiri cuisine surrounded in a luxurios authentic setting with second to none customer service. We pride ourselves in using only the finest of ingrediants cooked to perfection ensuring you a memorable dining experience.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Worst experience ever”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

The food and plates were cold, staff were indifferent.... Terrible experience which was very expensive. Quite shabby furniture also. Would definitely NOT go back :-(

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    22
    15
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Don't judge a book by its cover!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Discovered this place after moving almost opposite to it. At first you could mistake it for someones house but venture in and you'll be rewarded.

I have found it a friendly place, with the visitors' book speaking for itself. The food is excellent and reasonably priced and the staff are very attentive. I often get a takeaway from here and always receive poppadoms and dips on the house.

I will be recommending this place to everyone as one of the best curries in Newcastle.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice food, not much atmosphere, bit pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

We had an ok meal here but were sat on our own in a separate room to everyone else. The food was tasty but added up to quite a lot. Not a very memorable meal- we won't be rushing back.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Visited solomons on Friday 09/11/12 for a birthday party group of friends and really had a great evening excellent food and service nice surprise from the staff who come singing to the table with a birthday cake thanks lads would definetly recommend .

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Tasty but.......”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Parking was a problem when we arrived, but we eventually found a space. The restaurant was empty and the waiter was vacuuming when we arrived, but it was only 5 minutes after opening. The service was timely, and the staff were very friendly. The food arrived, it looked and tasted very nice. Curry, rice, naan bread all of different varieties - but all very nice. (There was four of us). Other down sides to this restaurant are, the price, and the lack of atmosphere. We found it a little expensive for what we had. And, it was a shame there was only another two people in the restaurant the whole time we were there and that was over 3 hours. (We had a lot to catch up on). Maybe if they lowered the price or had mid-week specials, they might get more customers.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Solomon's Lounge also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Solomon's Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solomon's Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.