We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Christmas Meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pinocchio Restaurant

Pinocchio Restaurant
61 Westgate Road, Newcastle upon Tyne, England
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Postcode NE1 1SG Phone 0191 232 0708
Bedfordshire England
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Good Christmas Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Visited for lunch and had the option of the regular menu or the Christmas meal. Good choice on the special menu but good that the usual options were available for those with smaller appetites. Really lovely service although quieter than we would have expected. All the food was served quickly and was of a really good standard with special requests catered for without a problem. The pasta starter was a large portion and the main courses equally big and tasty. Great value and ideally situated for those travelling by train.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    56
    26
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Whitby, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“festive night out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Visited for the first time last night. Food super, service quick and friendly. We will go back
Many Thanks

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leek
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Friendly busy restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We enjoyed a very tasty meal here on a busy Friday night. The staff were efficient and very friendly. The restaurant was very busy but service was excellent. Would have liked to return the next evening but unfortunately it was full and we made the mistake of trying Roberto's next door.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A GENUINE ITALIAN RESTAURANT”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

This was no fake Italian restaurant which sold American pizzas or had some vague idea how to copy good food this for me and my wife was the Italian " I am " . It had the feel of rugged and rustic decor . With a genuine Italian waiter who looked like he might have been part of the mafia :-) But only knew how to give good service and nothing dangerous .
We both ordered a beef filet which came soon enough , thoroughly done , a lovely wine sauce with mushrooms and onion . The beef was the best I had EVER tasted , the size of a very large hamburger and about 3 cms thick .
Our topic of conversation was how good the meal was . Very satisfying . . She was not offended . It was true . I hope my mother is not offended either .
i had to admit to my wife that this was probably the best meal I had ever eaten .She was not offended . It was true . I hope my mother is not offended either .
So we decided before we were finished eating " we must come back again before we fly home " Guess what ...we did . Same beef steak , same satisfaction . A return plane ticket does not cost me too much ....mmmmm....

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East England
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good service... If they're not busy!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

My partner and I have been to Pinocchio's 3 times now. On all 3 occasions the food has been good, nicely cooked and generous portions. Prices are not bad and the staff are generally pleasant.

The first two times we went it was middle of the week, around 5:30pm and the restaurant was pretty empty. We had decent service, not overly chatty, but fast enough and pleasant. However, the 3rd time, which was last night, Saturday and close to Christmas, the service was very poor. The restaurant was very busy, people were being turned away and they only had 2 waiting staff on to take orders. We waited 30 minutes just to have our order taken. We were also going to a concert, so we had to skip the starters as there was no way we would have made it.

The staff were nice, but they really don't seem to cope well when the restaurant is busy. They had a lot of bookings, so they knew how many tables they'd have and they should have put extra staff on.

We probably would go back as the food is good and prices aren't bad, but maybe not on a weekend or close to Christmas again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pinocchio Restaurant also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Pinocchio Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pinocchio Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.