We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't use as a take away” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Classico

Classico
235 High Street | Gosforth, Newcastle upon Tyne NE3 1HQ, England
0191 2849900
Website
Improve this listing
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Don't use as a take away”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We were told to wait 50 minutes before collecting two pizzas, only to find the order was wrong and both pizzas were cold. Terrible.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    31
    18
    26
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“What more could you expect from a groupon.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

So glad I used groupon as it was our first and certainly our last visit to classico.
Food very bland. Dough was really salty and hardly had any topping on pizza..
Pasta also lacked ingredients and dry..definitely not creamy as stated on menu.
Although staff were friendly we felt uncomfortable having them stand watching us whilst we ate...really off putting.

I know meal was cheap through the groupon but surely this should not affect the quality of food given.
You want customers to return not be put off..
Sorry :-/

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“more staff please”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

we bought a groupon deal to try this restaurant as we hadn't been to Classico before, we ordered olives for starter's they were very nice as was our main meal pizzas. food was very tasty, drink price's were a little high ( though we understand they have to make a profit). unfortunately classico was let down by the extremely low staffing level's , which led to very long periods of un'attention .

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Oh dear, what happened?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Visited Cassico again this week and sad to report that it was really disappointing :( I was wondering if it had changed hands as we have been several times before and really enjoyed it. We had what we usually have, the rib eye steak, which I must admit has been lovely in the past. On this occasion it was very ordinary, the quality of our steaks was not good, not cooked particularly well and the lovely chips of the past had been replaced by poor imposters. I ordered a portion of mushrooms and got about a tea spoon of really small mushroom pieces, reluctantly on this form it will be well down on my list of restaurants to visit in the near future.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Worst Dining Experience in a Long Tine”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Bought voucher through Groupon, ordered 2 Pizza's, one chicken & garlic, one Parma ham & rocket. The chicken pizza shouldn't be allowed to be called Pollo as there was hardly no chicken at all. The other pizza was just covered in rocket. I thought there would of just been a little for decoration, but it was ridiculous.
It is very overpriced, for everything, a 330cl bottle of larger costs £3.50, as does a small glass of house wine, small soft drinks are £1.95 and a bottle of house wine will set you back £12.95.
The waitress was very friendly, but doesn't understand everything you say.
Also it states on the kids menu that if an adult buys from the menu, up to 2 kids eat free, we enquired about this when we first arrived, as this would of been good if we were to go back with the kids while not using the Groupon voucher, but we were told that this only applies to ice cream, with is disgusting as it clearly states on the menu that kids eat free Monday - Wednesday and ice cream to me is not considered eating.
We will never go back to this over priced place as long as we live, and we will be telling everyone that we know how poor it is

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Classico also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Classico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Classico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.