We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Marriot – Always delivers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park to your Saves list
Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   High Gosforth Park, Newcastle upon Tyne NE3 5HN, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free WiFi + Late Checkout
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire, England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“The Marriot – Always delivers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

This is our third stay at the Marriot in Gosforth Park and I’m pleased to say that it is just as good as before.

Check in was efficient and friendly (as to be expected in Newcastle) , we were offered help with our bags up to our rooms. For this stay I had booked two suites, Room 101 (nothing like the room in 1984) and 301. The suites were excellent, comprising of a bedroom, living room and bathroom. I was also pleasantly surprised to find that I got free Wi-Fi (Normally £15 a day, eeek!, though there is good 3G coverage, phew), Access to the executive lounge (though it is only open during week days, so can’t really comment on how useful this is, you can get in at the weekend, and it is nice and quiet in there but I don’t think there is any service) one free drink per guest per day and a free Movie. I’m not sure how much of this is standard and how much was a promotion.

The suite itself was clean and very well appointed, both the bedroom area and the living room had separate heating controls. The bathroom had a shower over the bath, there was plenty of hot water, and there was a grab rail making getting in and out of the bath easier.

A nice extra in the suite livingroom is an iPod dock, there is also a food chiller. The easy chair in room 301 could do with new springs, as when you sit down on it you sink.

I had four meals from room service, two breakfasts, both delivered on time, they could have done with being a bit hotter. The other two meals from room service though were delivered quickly and were hot.

There is currently only one of the two lifts in operation, so this does mean you can wait quite a long time for the lift to arrive. But hopefully this should be sorted out by the end of March as they are having a new lift mechanism put in. The staff will help you with your luggage if you don’t want to wait.

Overall an excellent stay and looking forward to returning next year.

Room Tip: Try out a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    243
    111
    39
    13
See reviews for
73
237
29
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dalbeattie, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed for a long weekend as we were going to the races. However due to the weather , the racing was cancelled. The Hotel was top class rooms very clean , leisure facilities were very good. Although i did find the food and drink expensive. I would say however the pub across the road does excellent bar food (The Falcons Nest)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We went to a dinner dance and decided to stay overnight.... The show was fab,the food was fab and the staff were excellent!!Our room was really spacious and lovely and clean......last but not least the beds were like sleeping on a cloud I don't usually sleep well in hotels but the beds were sooo comfortable that I didn't stir till morning!would definitely stay there again 5*.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed there for 1 night with a group of friends. The facilities are good. Sauna, Gym, Swimming pool etc. The food is good but we found the price of lager expensive over £5.00 for a bottle of Budweiser. The breakfasts are good and a nice variety. Rooms very clean. Its located out of the city and Mcdonalds is across the road.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

A tired building, lifts that are in desperate need of maintenance, cold evening food and three attempts at delivering the breakfast I actually ordered (by which time it was too late) all made for a pretty poor experience. The only good point is that the service is efficient and pleasant, I did get an apology and my food costs were waived so not a total disaster but certainly not what I expect of the Marriott brand.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Scotland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We got a great deal booking through the Royal Bank Royalties program (they use super break, but give an additional 10% off).
Arrival - When you arrive at the hotel, you are presented with a large well laid out building set in massive grounds - tip ..follow the road to the right as that takes you to the car park at the front of the hotel unlike us who turned left, we entered the hotel through the conference centre entrance.
Check-in - Very impressive lounge area adjacent to the reception desk, we were checked in by a very friendly and helpful young lady, very efficient and took only a couple of minutes.
Room - On the third floor,of a very good size and cleaned to a high standard. Facilities included an iron press, Iron and Ironing board,hair dryer, soap shower gel and shampoo. The TV was new and came with a wide range of freeview and some premium channels (e.g. sky sports 1 and 3 I think), also included is a range of pay per view for movies..... The bed was very soft and will suit those who like a soft bed, probably not so good for firm bed fans.
Breakfast - Absolutley brilliant (it takes a bit for me too go that far), the staff in the restaurant are so attentive, but without being a pest, within a minute of finishing with a plate, they arrive and it is gone. There is an omelette station for fresh omelette to your specification, great range of sausage bacon etc ... good range of fresh fruit, cold meats smoked salmon etc - a worthy 10 out of 10
Dinner - Looked at menu and swithered, but when you see the bar prices for beer/wines/spirits etc, very quickly decided we would not get value for money (wow bar prices are definitely designed to keep the riff raff out) - so no comment on dinner - did go across the road to the Falcon's Nest and got great service and god quality food - will review separately.
Leisure Facilities - again really excellent, warm friendly welcome, spotless changing room and the lockers operate with a returnable £1 lock(in the male locker avoid no12 its lock and key are bent and very hard to operate ... The pool temperature was perfect not too warm and not too cold, a standard hotel length pool (approx 15-17 m), and a safe 1.2m deep at the deepest point. Jacuzzi large and great temperature - Steam room had loads of space and a good quality of steam (some eucalyptus oil or similar) - great experience - only in the sauna for a couple of minutes, but that was as good as any sauna I have been in.
Overall, I would rate this stay as excellent, and I would definitely return - Bad points -every review has got to have them ... well that is easy.... the crazy lift (only one lift working, so service could be slow) we were on the 3rd floor, so when we called a lift it arrived we selected ground floor, but every time we paid a visit to the fourth floor, and there was never anyone there ... bizarre, and as a token room complaint - the hot/cold mixer tap was a little loose. - that is as picky as I can make it - if you get a deal, take it (but also take your own booze if you partake of more than a pint - watch the mixers swell)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcar, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I stayed here with my boyfriend for my birthday and it was absolutely perfect.
The hotel itself is very beautiful along with the location.
We had the evening meal and the breakfast and both were spot on the and the service was fast and friendly.
The room was very comfortable and clean.
We also used the pool which was great, there wasn't a lot of people in at 10am so it wasnt too crowded.
The hotel is a 5 minute drive from the metro centre and the train station which was really handy too.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park

Address: High Gosforth Park, Newcastle upon Tyne NE3 5HN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#11 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#11 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 12.5 Acres of woodland close to the vibrant city centre and Newcastle International Airport, the Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park offers the ideal setting for short breaks and business travel. Contemporary by design, this premier Newcastle hotel blends gracious service with thoughtful amenities that all travelers will appreciate. The chic lobby leads to spacious, beautifully renovated guest rooms featuring luxurious new bedding and convenient high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newcastle Marriott Gosforth Park
Marriott Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Upon Tyne Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.