We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casual Weekend Away” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park

Save Saved
You added Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   High Gosforth Park, Newcastle upon Tyne NE3 5HN, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Perth, Scotland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Casual Weekend Away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We got a great deal booking through the Royal Bank Royalties program (they use super break, but give an additional 10% off).
Arrival - When you arrive at the hotel, you are presented with a large well laid out building set in massive grounds - tip ..follow the road to the right as that takes you to the car park at the front of the hotel unlike us who turned left, we entered the hotel through the conference centre entrance.
Check-in - Very impressive lounge area adjacent to the reception desk, we were checked in by a very friendly and helpful young lady, very efficient and took only a couple of minutes.
Room - On the third floor,of a very good size and cleaned to a high standard. Facilities included an iron press, Iron and Ironing board,hair dryer, soap shower gel and shampoo. The TV was new and came with a wide range of freeview and some premium channels (e.g. sky sports 1 and 3 I think), also included is a range of pay per view for movies..... The bed was very soft and will suit those who like a soft bed, probably not so good for firm bed fans.
Breakfast - Absolutley brilliant (it takes a bit for me too go that far), the staff in the restaurant are so attentive, but without being a pest, within a minute of finishing with a plate, they arrive and it is gone. There is an omelette station for fresh omelette to your specification, great range of sausage bacon etc ... good range of fresh fruit, cold meats smoked salmon etc - a worthy 10 out of 10
Dinner - Looked at menu and swithered, but when you see the bar prices for beer/wines/spirits etc, very quickly decided we would not get value for money (wow bar prices are definitely designed to keep the riff raff out) - so no comment on dinner - did go across the road to the Falcon's Nest and got great service and god quality food - will review separately.
Leisure Facilities - again really excellent, warm friendly welcome, spotless changing room and the lockers operate with a returnable £1 lock(in the male locker avoid no12 its lock and key are bent and very hard to operate ... The pool temperature was perfect not too warm and not too cold, a standard hotel length pool (approx 15-17 m), and a safe 1.2m deep at the deepest point. Jacuzzi large and great temperature - Steam room had loads of space and a good quality of steam (some eucalyptus oil or similar) - great experience - only in the sauna for a couple of minutes, but that was as good as any sauna I have been in.
Overall, I would rate this stay as excellent, and I would definitely return - Bad points -every review has got to have them ... well that is easy.... the crazy lift (only one lift working, so service could be slow) we were on the 3rd floor, so when we called a lift it arrived we selected ground floor, but every time we paid a visit to the fourth floor, and there was never anyone there ... bizarre, and as a token room complaint - the hot/cold mixer tap was a little loose. - that is as picky as I can make it - if you get a deal, take it (but also take your own booze if you partake of more than a pint - watch the mixers swell)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    142
    164
    79
    30
    12
See reviews for
56
158
24
107
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Redcar, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I stayed here with my boyfriend for my birthday and it was absolutely perfect.
The hotel itself is very beautiful along with the location.
We had the evening meal and the breakfast and both were spot on the and the service was fast and friendly.
The room was very comfortable and clean.
We also used the pool which was great, there wasn't a lot of people in at 10am so it wasnt too crowded.
The hotel is a 5 minute drive from the metro centre and the train station which was really handy too.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Rooms ok,food good but very pricy .gym ,steam room,sauna,,jacuzzi,and pool very good ,breakfast is the best ,staff and service ok .this hotel is ok but is 1970 decor rooms need refurished .I will returning to this hotel again

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Party of four had sunday lunch, the piano was playing which we all thought was a nice touch. Plenty of staff all polite. We ordered our lunches, could not fault anyhting we had it was perfect well presented. Would defo go back, please keep the music in the ground it was very nice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

I recently attended a spa day at this hotel. We arrived at the beauty place, had to ask twice for a drink and had nowhere to sit at the pool. The treatment rooms were cramped but aside from these minor annoyances, the attitude of the owner was absolutely disgusting. I have never before witnessed such atrocious customer service. I queried my bill and she actually shouted at me whilst stood in her tiny, cramped reception! She was aggressive and rude, she even went so far as to call me a liar.
Don't waste your money going here, there are lots of lovely beauty clinics in newcastle where you are actually treated with a little respect. She does not deserve any business.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Convenient location between the Airport and the Cobalt Business Park. Nice gym, steam room, sauna, jacuzzi in the hotel. Beds are soft and sweet, temperature control good in the rooms. Breakfast is the best although dinner seems to be slightly pricy!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stay at both the Newcastle Marriotts quite regularly and normally book whichever one has the best room rate at the time. There are lots of different rates and packages so it can be hard to compare like for like. Look out for the bed, breakfast and dinner rates - they can be a good deal. Both hotels have positives and negatives:

METROCENTRE

Positives:

Customer service - excellent. Cannot fault it. The staff all go out of their way to help, say hello and make us feel at home, especially Walter. They usually remember us even if we haven't stayed for 6 months or more, and always make a fuss of my step-daughter. That kind of service is priceless.

Rooms - spacious and clean. Some have 2 double beds which is great if you have kids staying with you. There's double glazing so you hardly hear the roads outside. The shower is powerful and bathroom is spacious.

Location - good if you need to be near the Metrocentre and the A1 and not far from the city centre.

Gym/pool/spa - recently refurbished.

Parking - it's free.

Negatives:

Beds - the mattresses are old and need replacing. They're too soft (mattress toppers) and have a large dip in the middle which you end up rolling down and it makes for a bad nights sleep.

Rare restaurant - the room is cold and the food is patchy. It's fine for breakfast but you're better off eating dinner somewhere in the Metrocentre or getting a taxi to the city centre. Also you can't pull your chair far enough under the table due to the table bases being too big.


GOSFORTH PARK

Positives:

Beds - more comfortable than at Metrocentre Marriott.

Interiors - the general areas are quite grand and luxurious. There are lots of corners with comfy chairs, sofas and cushions to relax in with a drink.

Location - the surrounding park and woodland is very relaxing and gives a great view from the pool and gym. It's nice to go for a walk or jog through the woods and the racecourse.

Plate restaurant - sometimes the food is excellent.

Negatives:

Old building - very outdated and in need of massive refurbishment. The lifts have been on their last legs for over a year. The pool/spa area also needs refurbishment.

Rooms - outdated. The showers are very low pressure and the radiators are noisy. There's no double glazing. Smaller than rooms at Metrocentre. We often have to ask for an extra robe and slippers if we're in an exec room.

Plate restaurant - sometimes the food is patchy.

So which one is the best?

It depends on what your priorities are. In my opinion, if they were both priced the same then the Metrocentre Marriott would be superior due to it's excellent customer service, spacious rooms and power showers. We have recently booked Gosforth Park as the rate is normally cheaper and the beds are more comfortable, although now that the exec lounge is closed at the weekends it's looking a lot less attractive.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park

Also Known As:
Newcastle Marriott Gosforth Park
Marriott Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Upon Tyne Marriott
Address: High Gosforth Park, Newcastle upon Tyne NE3 5HN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#12 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#13 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 12 acres of parkland near the vibrant city centre and Newcastle International Airport, the Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park offers the ideal setting for short breaks and business travel. Contemporary by design, this premier Newcastle hotel blends gracious service with thoughtful amenities that all travelers will appreciate. The chic lobby leads to spacious, beautifully renovated guest rooms featuring luxurious new bedding and convenient high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.