We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food overpriced and awful” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park to your Saves list
Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   High Gosforth Park, Newcastle upon Tyne NE3 5HN, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free WiFi + Late Checkout
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dublin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Food overpriced and awful”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Expensive, greasy, tasteless. Hate this hotel. Beer priced a rip off. Breakfast better. Rooms cold. No mini bar. Internet slow as hell and expensive. Not returning.
  Expensive, greasy, tasteless. Hate this hotel. Beer priced a rip off. Breakfast better. Rooms cold. No mini bar. Internet slow as hell and expensive. Not returning.

Expensive, greasy, tasteless. Hate this hotel. Beer priced a rip off. Breakfast better. Rooms cold. No mini bar. Internet slow as hell and expensive. Not returning.
  Expensive, greasy, tasteless. Hate this hotel. Beer priced a rip off. Breakfast better. Rooms cold. No mini bar. Internet slow as hell and expensive. Not returning.
                                   
                                               
Expensive, greasy, tasteless. Hate this hotel. Beer priced a rip off. Breakfast better. Rooms cold. No mini bar. Internet slow as hell and expensive. Not returning.
  Expensive, greasy, tasteless. Hate this hotel. Beer priced a rip off. Breakfast better. Rooms cold. No mini bar. Internet slow as hell and expensive. Not returning.

Expensive, greasy, tasteless. Hate this hotel. Beer priced a rip off. Breakfast better. Rooms cold. No mini bar. Internet slow as hell and expensive. Not returning.
 











                                   
                                                               














                     
                                                               












                                   
                                                               













  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    233
    105
    37
    13
See reviews for
67
220
29
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

Would rather stay in a premier inn as there rooms are more modern and refurbished

Single glazing windows. We couldnt sleep as it was so noisy the room.

Old carpets and 16 pound for brrakfast....


Dont bother

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We realy enjoy staying at this hotel. Industrial from the outside BUT warm and welcoming on the inside. Staff again excellent, engageing and all done with that northeast warmth. Chats bar is a great place to chill. Sit in the Bar area and catch up with the news and sports ot sit a little away for a more peaceful drink. Draught beer was on offer so that's a bonus for me, £3 for a guinness happy days. The normal price of £4.95 well i think is to expensive for anyone's attitude. Three gripes from my visit. Bathroom was cold, no radiator or towel rail and it has been a freezing weekend. Marriot Burger was dry and i felt it was a quantity not quality meal, returned with well over half of it left. I must say that the salad was spot on and would ordered again. My last observation was on our leaving the car park was full of vans, some sort of seminar i believe. Not a problem for me but the folk trying to get disabled parking spots had no chance. The vans had taken what was there leaving the customers to walk further and over snow covered ground. Again enjoyable stay, please keep the guiness at £3 for next visit half term. Oh and one other thing, the bed we slept was sooooooo comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

On arriving on a snowy evening, I was looking forward to the luxury this hotel promised. Well so long as you don't want to sleep or get washed, you're in heaven. The breakfast was excellent, that has to be said, but the rest, just tired, very tired.
We were promised a queen size bed, but got two singles put together, with a duvet underneath the sheet, which was so lumpy we didn't need the five pillows we were given. The shower trickled, and there was so much air in the pipes, that when the water went down the plug hole; what a racket! The toilet seat was the wrong one for the pan, which made it very precarious, and the cold water hardly flowed from the basin mixer, which wasn't screwed down to the basin.
To be fair to Marriott though, when I complained they did refund the room charge, however that didn't make up for feeling so rough the next day.
Come on Marriott, sort this out; it has refit written all over it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

After a long drive to Newcastle I was looking forward to my comfortable hotel, at that price I thought they may have been a bottle of bubbly waiting (there wasn't)! The staff, although distant and not engaging we're helpful however the from check in to entering the room the whole experience of the hotel is how old fashioned and in need of a refit it is. Don't expect a modern styled or approach with this hotel, maybe we're all too used to smart boutique hotels? I will however never be able to come to terms with a hotel chain as large as Marriott who carry on charging for WiFi! Come on guy's move into the 21st century.

My overriding memory of my one and only visit however was the exceptional restaurant with a superb variety, quality and choice of food, probably one of the best I've experienced in a hotel chain.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel twice now on a weekend and found it to be really noisy. The hotel can have 3 separate weddings/functions etc on a friday/saturday night and has function rooms on the same floors as bedrooms. The music was pumping from quite early when we were getting ready at 5pm until midnight and there's just people everywhere. Difficult to get a moments peace. I don't know if this is the norm.
The bar area is nice and the breakfast/dining area and the breakfast was really good.
We stopped for a function and the meal was rubbish though...bland potato soup, meagre portion of boiled chicken, gravy and veg....didn't get offered coffee.
The best thing about this hotel is that the bed was the comfiest I have stayed in in my life! They all have luxury mattress toppers and on getting home I actually bought myself one of these mattress toppers....amazing!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Receptionist was lovely soo welcoming .. Rooms cleaned to a high standard, the bed was the best thing about the hotel so comfortable!! Room service was a little slow and the quality of the food was not high nor did it meet the value for the price. Overall lovely hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park

Address: High Gosforth Park, Newcastle upon Tyne NE3 5HN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#11 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#11 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 12 acres of parkland near the vibrant city centre and Newcastle International Airport, the Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park offers the ideal setting for short breaks and business travel. Contemporary by design, this premier Newcastle hotel blends gracious service with thoughtful amenities that all travelers will appreciate. The chic lobby leads to spacious, beautifully renovated guest rooms featuring luxurious new bedding and convenient high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Marriott so you can book your Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newcastle Marriott Gosforth Park
Marriott Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Upon Tyne Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.