We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful staff, lifts in need of renovation!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park to your Saves list
Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   High Gosforth Park, Newcastle upon Tyne NE3 5HN, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Certificate of Excellence
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Helpful staff, lifts in need of renovation!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in a suite with our 4 month old daughter. Room was very large with a very large living room. We had requested a crib and on arrival an additional bed had been set up. Housekeeping rectified the situation very quickly and were very nice. The crib the hotel provided was great.

Our room rate had access to the Executive lounge. I went for complimentary 'light' breakfast on our first day but there wasn't any. Reception told me there were not enough people in the hotel to warrant it. I went to the restaurant to ask if I could have anything complimentary but was told I would have to pay £15.90. We were also told on check out we could have watched a film on our room rate. It would have been helpful to have been told this on arrival. I'm therefore feeling a little ripped off by the room rate and what it is supposed to offer.

The lifts in the hotel need fixing. There has been one out of service on and off for the last two years.

We will visit again as the hotel is perfect with a baby and the staff are so friendly. It is as others say in need of a revamp and to be clearer on what the room rate does/does not include.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    251
    113
    42
    14
See reviews for
77
243
30
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

A former grand hotel within the Newcastle area is now feeling very tired! Still very good service and super friendly staff (besides the bar troops that rather ignore you if you wait at your table), but in dire need of renovation, starting with lifts constantly broken, all the way to showers merely dripping and heavily us room furniture. At least wireless was installed just recently.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

Had Sunday lunch using a voucher. Excellent! Great choice for all three courses. Food and service both perfect. Great atmosphere with live background music. Very cosy with Christmas decorations. Would happily return and pay full price.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope Island, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

This is not a modern boutique hotel, in fact until recently it was one of the best in Newcastle. Its still very good, service is excellent, parking free and plentiful, the rooms are comfortable but like the rest of the hotel, traditionally decorated but in good condition.

The hotel is out of the city (a £12 cab ride) so if you're planning to spend all your time in the center there are others which may suit better. Clientele seems to be slightly older, suited me as it was nice 7 quiet, I think a coach party of retirees was in.

Overall I enjoyed my stay and thought it excellent value for the price paid, including a very good buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Very dissapointed with a recent stay.

Moved rooms 3 times due to awful smells and severe mould around the windows. No upgrade offered just 4 drinks vouchers.

Booked an offer which included3 course dinner, food was ok, nothing special. The service was awful the staff loitered around staring and made me feel uncomfortable.

We were woke up at 9am on saturday morning by a male cleaner walking into our room, i appreciate that they want to get started but why not check up and see if we have checked out instead of waking us up when on a leisurely break.

Breakfast was ok, food was luke warm at best and they cleared up promptly and told us no more food was available.

We complained at check out and the acting duty manager came to see us and wasnt very helpful. Said she would pass information on to duty manager who would write to us in due course. I doubt i will hear from her.....

Dont think we will be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.Lincs
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Spent a weekend relaxing and doing a bit of shopping and found this hotel perfect for us.
Staff friendly and very friendly, room exceptionally clean. Only drawback was prices within hotel were a little high even for a hotel. Will use hotel again but will eat else where.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Had a meal here recently, and have to say it was enjoyable, food was nice, but the the service was a little too slow (when the restaurant wasn't particularly busy!). Staff were friendly and was reasonable value for money - ideally 3.5 stars!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth...
#34 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
3.5 of 5 stars 525 reviews
4.3 mi away
Village Urban Resort Newcastle
Village Urban Resort Newcastle
#32 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 stars 286 reviews
4.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#7 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,487 reviews
4.5 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#28 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 stars 1,324 reviews
3.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park

Address: High Gosforth Park, Newcastle upon Tyne NE3 5HN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#11 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#13 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 12.5 Acres of woodland close to the vibrant city centre and Newcastle International Airport, the Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park offers the ideal setting for short breaks and business travel. Contemporary by design, this premier Newcastle hotel blends gracious service with thoughtful amenities that all travelers will appreciate. The chic lobby leads to spacious, beautifully renovated guest rooms featuring luxurious new bedding and convenient high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Marriott, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newcastle Marriott Gosforth Park
Marriott Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Upon Tyne Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.