We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, traditional hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park to your Saves list
Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   High Gosforth Park, Newcastle upon Tyne NE3 5HN, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free WiFi + Late Checkout
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hope Island, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice, traditional hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

This is not a modern boutique hotel, in fact until recently it was one of the best in Newcastle. Its still very good, service is excellent, parking free and plentiful, the rooms are comfortable but like the rest of the hotel, traditionally decorated but in good condition.

The hotel is out of the city (a £12 cab ride) so if you're planning to spend all your time in the center there are others which may suit better. Clientele seems to be slightly older, suited me as it was nice 7 quiet, I think a coach party of retirees was in.

Overall I enjoyed my stay and thought it excellent value for the price paid, including a very good buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    233
    105
    37
    13
See reviews for
67
220
29
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Very dissapointed with a recent stay.

Moved rooms 3 times due to awful smells and severe mould around the windows. No upgrade offered just 4 drinks vouchers.

Booked an offer which included3 course dinner, food was ok, nothing special. The service was awful the staff loitered around staring and made me feel uncomfortable.

We were woke up at 9am on saturday morning by a male cleaner walking into our room, i appreciate that they want to get started but why not check up and see if we have checked out instead of waking us up when on a leisurely break.

Breakfast was ok, food was luke warm at best and they cleared up promptly and told us no more food was available.

We complained at check out and the acting duty manager came to see us and wasnt very helpful. Said she would pass information on to duty manager who would write to us in due course. I doubt i will hear from her.....

Dont think we will be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.Lincs
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Spent a weekend relaxing and doing a bit of shopping and found this hotel perfect for us.
Staff friendly and very friendly, room exceptionally clean. Only drawback was prices within hotel were a little high even for a hotel. Will use hotel again but will eat else where.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Had a meal here recently, and have to say it was enjoyable, food was nice, but the the service was a little too slow (when the restaurant wasn't particularly busy!). Staff were friendly and was reasonable value for money - ideally 3.5 stars!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, England
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I have experienced this week my worst ever hotel stay. Having been delayed on the A1 and driven for four hours, I arrived just after 11pm, having rung ahead to check that hot food would be available after that time: it was. On checking in, I went to my room to find a loud sound of running water from the radiator. I asked the receoptionist if it could be sorted out, and was assured that it would be checked, as there was no other room available in the hotel that night. I went to the Bar, to find no "delicious international cuisine" in the Plate, nor "casual dining" in Chat's Cafe Bar, no, the food option promised was the 24 hour room service. The bar girl offered me only chicken tikka massala as the hot option, or a ham - or cheese - sandwich. Delightful. The generosity of the bar staff was genuine in offering me a packet of crips free of charge to go with my beer.

On returning to my room, I was locked out, so back down to reception to reactivate my keycard. Back up stairs, only to find the radiator still noisy. Now, I'm not a plumber, but it's pretty obvious to me that the radiator was full of air and needed bleeding. If I had a pair of pliers I would have done it myself. Back down to reception again, by which time, I confess, I lost patience. In my frustration, I tossed my keycard on the desk. It slid onto the floor at the night porter/receptionists' feet, who promptly lost his rag, telling me, before I had even had the chance to say anything, that my behaviour was completely unacceptable. No further help or pliers were offered; I was just told that there was nothing that could be done.

I worked out that by turning the thermostat down to a miniumum setting that the radiator valve would turn off after half an hour or so.

At least the towels were clean after I had a hot shower to warm myself up in the morning after a dreadful night.

I will not be staying at a Marriott ever again.

Despite being advertised as

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

our daughter & her new husband chose this hotel for thier wedding venue, we had a two night stay. most of our families booked in too! the service was excellent! staff were very friendly & could not do enough for everyone. breakfasts were fab, dinner in the plate restaurant was lovely (if a little slow service, but were informed they were short staffed). the wedding itself was perfect. fantastic wedding breakfast & evening buffet. the rooms were perfect, plenty of space, comfortable everyone raved about the soft fluffy beds. very clean, the housekeeping staff were all so lovely to everyone. this in all made everyones stay so pleasurable. well done too to kirsty mcdonald for co-ordinating the wedding.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Attended a wedding and pushed the boat out and stayed in a corner suite. Mattresses were like sleeping on a cloud, room service very quick and fabulous choice. We had a small reception for friends before the evening function and the hotel supplied all drinks and food at a very reasonable price, service was very good and the staff excelled themselves

Room Tip: The suites are divine
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park

Address: High Gosforth Park, Newcastle upon Tyne NE3 5HN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#11 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#11 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 12 acres of parkland near the vibrant city centre and Newcastle International Airport, the Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park offers the ideal setting for short breaks and business travel. Contemporary by design, this premier Newcastle hotel blends gracious service with thoughtful amenities that all travelers will appreciate. The chic lobby leads to spacious, beautifully renovated guest rooms featuring luxurious new bedding and convenient high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Marriott so you can book your Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newcastle Marriott Gosforth Park
Marriott Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Upon Tyne Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.