We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business overnight stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Great North Road | Seaton Burn, Newcastle upon Tyne NE13 6BP, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Mold, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Business overnight stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

I spend quite a lot of time in the Newcastle area but this is the first time I have used the Holiday Inn. The grounds, entrance and reception were immaculate and the staff were very welcoming and check in was very straightforward. My executive room looked newly refurbished and the en-suite was excellent. it contained everything one could need for such a trip. WiFi was free throughout the hotel. The bar staff were freindly as were the restuarant team and both Dinner and breakfast were great. Access to Newcastle, the motorway network and Airport are all on the doorstep and I will certainly use this hotel again, great value for money.

Room Tip: I chose an executive room which was spot on and good value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_hinewcastle, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for your feedback Trevor R and foof such positive comments.
We are very proud of the new Executive rooms and are sure they will be very popular.
The finishing touches are almost in place & we will continue upgrading our rooms this year and next. hopefully see you on a future visit. Thanks again, Norrie Oswald, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    181
    115
    41
    16
See reviews for
116
122
16
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights on the way to Scotland and it was really nice.Fantastic atmosphere,we had a Nice and clean, satisfying room with a lovely bathroom. Staff couldn't of been more helpful and friendly. Food was yummy and was value for money. We would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_hinewcastle, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you Shopie p for a fantastic yet brief review. You manage to cover everything that a traveller welcomes and needs - clean rooms, friendly staff and yummy food. hope you had a lovely time in Scotland (my homeland). kind regards, Norrie Oswald, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

we stayed for three nights and have no complaints at all. Staff all lovely and very helpful. Room clean and beds very comfortable. Breakfast was great. Kids ate free:). A lot of work going on to update the place. Would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_hinewcastle, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you Pauline for your kind words and praise which is always appreciated by the team and by myself. The first section of rooms is almost there - just a few finishing touches to be added. We are very happy with the work so far. The kids eat free for breakfast was introduced by Holiday Inn many years ago and still remains very popular. Long may it continue. Hope to see you on a future visit. kind regards, Norrie Oswald, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Having stayed in many Holiday Inns around the country this WAS amongst our mostly highly rated until our recent stay!! Our room was so hot it was unbearable at times. There was an air-conditioning unit in the room which was not working and a small table fan. We mentioned to the receptionist about the air-conditioning and was very abruptly informed the air-con in all the rooms were out of action "which is why we do not advertise air-con on the website" She offered us a fan but the one we had was only circulating the warm air and felt another would not have made any difference. It made for 3 very uncomfortable nights.

Also each day after returning to our room after it had been serviced we found the keys did not work, again we told we this was probably because they had been kept next to phones in our pockets etc even though we kept the keys in the same place all the time and they worked when we returned to our room later in the evening.

I think the front of house staff need lessons from the housekeeping staff who were all very polite, helpful and courteous

Room Tip: As there is no lift - chose a ground floor room if your have trouble with stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_hinewcastle, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you Leedslassie1 for your review after your recent stay. I can only apologise that the aircon wasn't working and yes, we don't advertise this facility but we are adding more cool rooms each month with more planned later this year. In Newcastle there isn't always a need for cool rooms however an uncomfortably hot rooms leads to an unpleasant stay & we are in the position with new ownership to be working our way through the rooms to make them more modern and cooler.
As reception said keys can be cancelled by mobiles and other things and I am sorry that was the case. The coding system is not sophisticated enough to indicate what has caused the interference unfortunately. On a future visit please do feel free to contact myself or in house reservations to ensure you have a room with a working cooling unit. We would like to change the capital "WAS" back to "IS". Kind regards, Norrie Oswald, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosforth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Just stayed 2nights , hotel noticeably better than last time I stayed. Good points room spotless, hotel spotless, good decor, lounge a lot better nice place to sit and have a drink. Only had breakfast but it was of good quality and the dining staff were very polite and discrete in the way they served you. A general comment keep up the good work and the standards , a personal thank you to the housekeeping team they are doing a fantastic job. Look forward to seeing the results of the refurb. Hope the Stag and Hen parties that used to frequent the hotel stay away . Cheers

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_hinewcastle, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you coraddo for a great review and like you I hope the Stag & Hen parties enjoy the more central located hotels! your very positive feedback is greatly received and goes a long way to appreciate the work the team do carry out. Cleanliness was always a strong point and now we are having better facilities it helps improve our customers experience. The first section of rooms are open but will need the finishing touches of artwork and corridor carpet - we expect that to be carried out within the next 10 days. The next project will new air con units. Hope to see you on your next visit. Kind regards, Norrie Oswald, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Best feature was the big car park. Rooms were ok with probably the smallest double bed I've seen in a hotel. Didn't use the pool, but saw the gym, it looked smaller than the bed. Most disappointing feature was the buffet breakfast, it didn't need to be that average. our bedroom was hotter than the food. Not great, but I guess it one of those hotels you use for one night, and not a holiday.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_hinewcastle, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you george g for your review from your recent stay.
Our standard double room beds are 4'6" which are being replaced in our refurbished rooms with king size beds - for info the headboard needs replacing in order to change the beds. This will continue in 2014 & 2015.
We have 2 gyms available at the hotel and the plan is also to combine these - as you say they are not large rooms but very rarely is there anyone waiting to access the equipment which is more important.
I am truly sorry that the breakfast wasn't right for you and I do hope you informed the team on the day allowing them to make amends.
Thank you for your feedback, Norrie Oswald, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We asked for a quiet room and stayed in 144. The room was quiet, clean & comfortable. We ate in the hotel restaurant on both evenings of our stay. The food was very nice, presented well and portion sizes were good. The staff were very busy but were really nice, attentive and couldn't do enough to make our experience a good one. The reception and bar staff were very good. Housekeepers kept our room spotless, beds very comfortable. Although there are currently building works taking place this did not affect our stay at all. Definitely a place we would use again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_hinewcastle, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for your review and your very kind appreciation of the teams looking after you - it is very much appreciated. kind regards, Norrie Oswald, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park

Address: Great North Road | Seaton Burn, Newcastle upon Tyne NE13 6BP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 83 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
News update that Wi-Fi is now Free. With 154 spacious bedrooms each with an en-suite bathroom, Tea & Coffee making facilities, telephones, remote control flatscreen TV and hairdryer. Should you require an even higher standard of comfort, the hotel has 40 Executive bedrooms offering an excellent range of luxuries to make your stay that bit more special. In April & May 2013 our lounge, restaurant, bar and toilets have had a full refurbishment which we are very happy with. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, IHG, BookIt.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Upon Tyne Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.