We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happily Recommend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Great North Road | Seaton Burn, Newcastle upon Tyne NE13 6BP, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Happily Recommend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I have never had a problem when staying at a Holiday Inn and this was no exception. Nice, clean, spacious rooms with comfortable beds and a good shower and bathroom (heated tiles were a nice touch) as well as comfortable room temperature. Did not have a problem with any noise and the staff were nice and friendly.

It was well priced and catered to a request to have three adults in one room (this was harder to find than expected) and we travelled as one family of four and three friends and our rooms were conveniently close to each other.

Free parking was a definite bonus and it was well located with access to the main motorways.

There are only two gripes I have with this hotel: breakfast is NOT included and comes at a pricey £10 per head - we drove around for a bit and found a pub that did all-you-can-eat breakfast for £3.99 a head and WiFi, although included, only lasts for 30 mins with an access code you can get from the front desk.

Not a problem for a bunch of people travelling within the UK with unlimited data on their phones but may be an issue for anyone who doesn't have this luxury.

Overall: recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_hinewcastle, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for your review Krinkles28
It’s good to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found your bedrooms comfortable and warm.
We offer both Room Only rates and B&B rates which are better value IF you are taking breakfast. You, the guest, have the choice.
If we included breakfast in every rate, those guests not requiring breakfast would in fact be paying for it in their rate.
Additionally the great Room Only rate promos we can offer, would cost more.
For other reviewers info I have listed our breakfast offering on a previous review and you can read the favourable comments we receive. Thank you again Krinkles28 for your overall “recommend”.
Kind regards, Norrie Oswald, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    77
    137
    99
    37
    13
See reviews for
91
98
16
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Rooms were clean and big, bed comfortable. Nothing to moan about whatsoever!!

Friendly staff, lovely bathrooms, nice utilities and nice location. We stayed for 2 nights on a trip to Newcastle. Did not go for the Breakfast, as I think £10 might be a bit too pricey

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_hinewcastle, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for your review.
It’s a shame you did not try breakfast as we offer a wide selection of cold dishes (fruits, cheeses, yoghurts cold meats, cereals etc) and a hot English buffet selection (too many to list) plus toast, teas, coffees and fruit juices..
When you consider a coffee, a refill and an orange juice in coffee shops is £6 or so, personally I think it is great value.
For clarification to other readers our breakfast is £13.95 and at times we offer an advanced purchase breakfast for £10.00
Worth trying on your next visit Marco.
Kind regards, Norrie Oswald, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is the third Holiday Inn we have stayed in in the last few weeks.Every time they come up trumps. Great welcome at reception, acknowledged my priority membership and upgraded our room to executive,great touch.
Rooms as in all Holiday Inns,spacious and comfortable. Restaurant excellent especially the breakfast. Super.

Well done again

Ken D

Room Tip: Choose an execitive room for the little extras,bathrobe and slippers, fridge etc. A very quiet hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_hinewcastle, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely feedback and kind praise.
At Holiday Inn Newcastle we want you to feel relaxed and as a Priority Club Platinum member we will always upgrade your bedroom where we can.
Hopefully see you back again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Myself and my husband stayed at the end of August as his work colleague was being married in the hotel so we booked a room to stay overnight with breakfast the next day.
when we arrived on the Friday night I was quite taken aback at how nice the hotel was and what facillities it had, and the room we had was very nice, very clean and comfortable although the bathroom could do with updating a bit,
the breakfast the next day was lovely as well with an excellent assortment of fruit as well as cooked choices, on the whole a very nice stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_hinewcastle, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for your kind review and it’s very nice to read that you enjoyed your overnight stay with us. We all love a good wedding here at the hotel, and what a great idea to stay for the night and enjoy a full buffet breakfast the next day.
Your kind comments are greatly appreciated
Norrie Oswald, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stayed for one night. Room was very nice, clean with comfortable beds. The restaurant was a lot to be desired, quite disappointing. Workers were using this hotel to stay in while on a job elsewhere and they were getting food ordered in and using the hotel cutlery, plates etc. sitting in the lounge area.
Breakfast was good, hot and plenty to choose from.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_hinewcastle, Operations Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you Anne for your comments. As a rule we don’t encourage any guests to consume meals that are not purchased from the hotel, however on occasions if guests request crockery and cutlery we have supplied these.
I can only presume that the staff member providing the cutlery and crockery to the guests mentioned that they expected the guests to eat the meals in their bedrooms and didn’t see them eating in the lounge as we do not allow this.
Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

A good Holiday Inn and all as you expect from them however was very disappointed to be told the we would have to wait an hour for food, the hotel was far from busy and only about 10 people in the restaurant. The waitress had no explanation for this either so we went out for dinner into cramlington. Breakfast however was great and very quiet. Room ok and not too worn, hotel very convenient for A1

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_hinewcastle, Operations Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you for your feedback, I am sorry that we could not accommodate you for dinner in the restaurant on the night of you staying with us.
During busy periods we do stagger our dinner reservations to ensure each guest receives the service they deserve, although the restaurant may have only had a number of guests dining at the time you looked, it is likely we had a number of reservations or a large group due to dine, however I agree that a one hour wait is excessive and I am sorry that this was the case. In addition to the restaurant menu we also offer and extensive lounge and room service menu.
Thank you again for your feedback
Peter Auld, Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
isle of wight
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Stayed here for two nights to attend a family funeral. There were about 14 of us in all. Very welcoming and friendly staff on reception (better than at some southern hotels), which was good after a six hour drive the last bit in the dark and pouring rain. The entrance isn't that well lit and was quite difficult to find from the road.
Room nice and spacious - but so so hot. Turned all heating off and opened window. Nice to have underfloor heating in bathroom though. Comfy bed with soft and firm pillows. Pity only a bedside light on one side of the bed - we did ask for another lamp but it didn't arrive and this is only a small niggle.
We didn't have dinner as already eaten but the others did - three courses for two with wine for £29.95 - good value and nobody complained as the food was good and everyone served at same time. Good choice of bar snack menu.
We enjoyed our stay, although we were up there for a family funeral. It's a very busy hotel with business conferences, etc and reps and so on as well as usual guests - rather have it busy than half empty.
Breakfast was good - though please please can you have warm plates available!
Would stay again if we're up here in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_hinewcastle, Operations Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. Your comments have been passed to the relevant staff members to ensure we are checking the areas highlighted, for example that during busy periods the plates that are placed in the hot plate well are hot prior to putting them in as it takes time for these to get to temperature.
Thank you again for your comments
Peter Auld, Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne

Address: Great North Road | Seaton Burn, Newcastle upon Tyne NE13 6BP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 77 hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
News update that Wi-Fi is now Free. With 154 spacious bedrooms each with an en-suite bathroom, Tea & Coffee making facilities, private dial-out telephones, remote control flatscreen TV, trouser press and hairdryer. Should you require an even higher standard of comfort, the hotel has 14 Executive bedrooms offering an excellent range of luxuries to make your stay that bit more special. In April & May 2013 our lounge, restaurant, bar and toilets have had a full refurbishment which we are very happy with and will share some new photos very soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Upon Tyne Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.