We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spa day” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Great North Road | Seaton Burn, Newcastle upon Tyne NE13 6BP, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Durham
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Spa day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

I purchased a spa day for two from groupon and thoroughly enjoyed the day. Staff at the spa were warm and welcoming and the hot stone massage was excellent. I had an enjoyable swim and the food in the hotel bar was beautiful. Very well priced. I have now arranged to come with 7 friends for another spa day in january and can't wait!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_hinewcastle, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review of both Beauty With Inn and the lounge/bar.
Alison and her team at Beauty With Inn have worked so hard to be successful and the feedback on the service they provide is showing it to be great value for money and great service. Your January visit will be something to look forward to. I will pass your kind comments to Alison and the BWI team.
Kind regards, Norrie Oswald, Holiday Inn General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    166
    106
    39
    16
See reviews for
107
112
16
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester UK
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
158 hotel reviews
Reviews in 125 cities Reviews in 125 cities
392 helpful votes 392 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is remotely located with nothing much around, tucked away behind a Little Chef / Burger King.

Ample free parking, this 2 storey 60's style block looked dated.

The layout was sole less, bar and restaurant dated and at best well worn, at worst a little grubby.

Following a welcoming and friendly check-in, i strolled the long worn corridors with it's seriously chipped doors and missing ceiling tiles to my room.

The room was reasonably well appointed and comfortable with modern plasma TV, lots of mood lighting, comfy bed with choice of pillows and electric heater with separate a/c for cooling only. No safe but coffee making facilities.

My room overlooked the roof fans so half of my window was blocked off with translucent film, making the room claustrophobic.

Bathroom was cramped, but the over bath shower was modern and worked well.

The hotel doesn't pretend to be anything it isn't, so it charges Travel Inn rates for a concept that offers better facilities such as a pool and gym. Albeit a little well worn.

WiFi chargeable even in the lobby.

Breakfast was the usual buffet affair, with lots of choice.

For the price paid it did offer good value for money when compared to alternatives, so for a cheap lay over I would return.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_hinewcastle, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for your review Nick.
It’s good to read you found the hotel to offer good value and that you would chose to stay with us again. For info the ceiling tiles were due to a serious burst hot water pipe that caused major damage however, good news is that they have been replaced.
The new TVs were fitted less than a week ago and are proving very popular.
These are part of a refurbishment programme that will see in early 2013 work completed in the restaurant, the bar and lounge and some bedrooms.
Our Wi-fi is being replaced in a month with a faster connection and bandwidth.
Whilst this will still be chargeable there will be a variety of time options to choose from. Kind regards, Norrie Oswald, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Could not believe the room we were offered as we came in from Middle East and had to carry our own luggage up two flights of stairs. When we were approaching the room I noticed that ceiling was missing in hallway. I asked what was the problem and told that they had a leak from the flat roof because of bad weather (rain). When we opened the door to the room the carpet was soaking wet plus very bad smell of damp and refused the room. We were shown another room but that was the same and eventually walked out of the hotel to another in the city. I am really disgusted at been offered this room to begin with as nothing mentioned at time of booking. I will never stay in this hotel again and have asked Priority Club to take up this issue.

Room Tip: before booking make sure they have got rid of the wet carpets and damp smell
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_hinewcastle, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for your review and so sorry that your experience was less than satisfactory. If you could message me your arrival date and name the room was booked under I will look into it further.
By means of an explanation we had a very severe burst hot water pipe that flooded half a floor and some rooms underneath. The drying out process is now complete but during that time we had carpets to lift and antibacterial sprays to use to minimise odours. We had a few rooms that required additional treatment and this has all been taken care of. The final part is the corridor roof tiles were all damaged and the replacements are due to be fitted this week.
Currently that area which happens to contain our best bedrooms (often allocated to Priority Club) is odour free and dry and after Tuesday that area will also look 100%.
Once I have your details I will reply and my apologies once more
Kind regards, Norrie Oswald, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

This hotel has some rooms with 2 good sized double beds. Ideal for a couple like us where the husband is tall and in a standard size double either his feet stick out of the bottom or he has to lie diagonally and I end up squashed in the corner! I've tried booking so called King size beds in other hotels but very often they are too small so this is a great option for us. The double/double with breakfast was only £82 and they had an offer where 2 could have dinner for £30 including a glass of wine each so all in all a good place to stay for around £100 all in. It's worth noting that the hotel isn't really near anywhere else to eat unless you want to drive the few miles into Morpeth. The bar snacks are tasty and the food in the restaurant is what I would call good pub standard. I had no problems with the breakfast it's a help yourself buffet with plenty of choice. The staff were helpful, pleasant geordie lasses and there is ample safe parking on site. It's well placed for the main roads to Newcastle and the Tyne Tunnel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_hinewcastle, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments after your recent stay with us. Your positive feedback is greatly appreciated and will be shared with the Team.
Hope to welcome you back soon
Kind regards, Norrie Oswald, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

We said 1 night in a family room while looking at newcastle university for our daughter. We booked it as a mystery hotel so didn't know where we were staying till we had booked, really large rooms, spotless maybe just a little bit too hot for us. Ladies on reception were very friendl, we had no hair dryer in the room and one was found for us right away, the evening we stayed there was a robbie Williams tribute night so bar was a little busy but we didn't hear any noise later on. The only thing letting this hotel down was breakfast all breakfast items eg eggs bacon etc were never ready at the same time, the poor cook apologised and told her there was only her cooking and serving not good really for the amount of guests in the hotel, they also had run out of tomato sauce how can a hotel run out of tomato sauce. Overall good hotel would recommend but needs to sort breakfast out as has been said in other reviews

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_hinewcastle, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments after your recent stay with us & my apologies that breakfast was a bit disappointing. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and will be shared to help improve standards and also to praise the departments that looked after you during your stay with us.
Kind regards, Norrie Oswald, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Britain
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

A pleasant quite, clean hotel, with friendly staff and good food in a rural position. We were part of a group of friends who all agreed that we had picked a "good hotel" We found this hotel to be an ideal spot to make our base while visiting the numerous places of interest in this area. We visited mid week and booked breakfast and 3 course dinner. No complaints about the food. No complaints about anything, which makes a nice change. What more do you need.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_hinewcastle, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for your lovely comments after your groups’ recent stay with us.
The very positive review reflects our teams focus on cleanliness, friendliness and good food. The surrounding area has some stunning attractions and landscapes making us an ideal base to explore Northumberland & Tyneside. Hope to welcome you back when next in the area.
Kind regards, Norrie Oswald, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welham Green - North Mymms
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I just would like to say that the Holiday Inn is certainly a very central place for a group to stay at and they certainly were very friendly and as a group we all enjoyed the facilities.
The food was very good and the bedrooms were very comfortable.

Room Tip: I found it very quiet in the hotel - so could not say where to choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_hinewcastle, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for your lovely comments after your groups’ recent stay with us.
As you mention our location and access to A1 & A19 is ideal for visiting the local attractions. Your kind comments will be enjoyed by the team and thank you for taking the time to post them
Kind regards, Norrie Oswald, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park

Address: Great North Road | Seaton Burn, Newcastle upon Tyne NE13 6BP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 79 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
News update that Wi-Fi is now Free. With 154 spacious bedrooms each with an en-suite bathroom, Tea & Coffee making facilities, telephones, remote control flatscreen TV and hairdryer. Should you require an even higher standard of comfort, the hotel has 40 Executive bedrooms offering an excellent range of luxuries to make your stay that bit more special. In April & May 2013 our lounge, restaurant, bar and toilets have had a full refurbishment which we are very happy with. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Upon Tyne Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.