We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jesmond Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 1PR, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Certificate of Excellence
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

This hotel is a pretty decent standard.
I've stayed a number of times and the rooms do vary considerably in size and shape, some with a bath, most with just a shower. If you have a preference you should ask. If you have IHG status you ought to get an upgrade unless the hotel is full.
The bedrooms are generally quite dark, with small windows. The rooms at the front get noise from the road outside.
But, its modern and reasonably well maintained. Its also quite convenient as it is just a short walk to the metro station which connects to the city centre (just one stop) and to the airport.
As mentioned elsewhere it does also have free parking but the space can be tight and busy.
Get a decent price and I think you will be satisfied for a short stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sachin S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you for your time and writing a review on Holiday Inn Jesmond

I am glad that you found the location of the hotel suitable to your needs. As a loyal IHG guests we try our level best on all occasion to upgrade out Gold and Platinum elite members when the hotel is not fully booked and also offer welcome amenity for your loyalty. I would like to sincerely apologize if this was missed on this occasion. Please feel to email me on your next visit on foh@hinewcastle.co.uk and I will personally make sure that the room you been allocated is a superior room.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when your travel brings you back to Newcastle!

Warm Regards

Sachin Shingal
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    223
    61
    16
    12
See reviews for
73
145
25
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Nice setting and good parking off road made this a nice hotel to visit.
The reception staff were great and very helpful with the events lady looking after me to an excellent standard while I was holding a training session in the Jesmond room for business.

Very clean and very quiet atmosphere within the hotel with very approachable staff apart from one gentleman who seemed to look down at me when I asked a question but the other staff were indeed a great advert for the hotel.

Many thanks for a pleasant time with you !!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sachin S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you for a fantastic review on the Holiday Inn - Newcastle Jesmond!

I will make sure your comments are passed to all our team members.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when your travel brings you back to Newcastle!

Warm Regards

Sachin Shingal
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

The best thing about this hotel is that rare commodity; free parking which obviously is a fantastic feature.
On our arrival we were checked in and allocated our room on the first floor. We were a bit disappointed, it was dark and overlooked a brick wall and numerous air conditioning units.
The room was clean, but the bathroom a bit small. Our big gripe, was the bed. It had a 'V' in the middle that we both rolled into. Not good.
Breakfast was averagely ok.
The hotel itself is within easy walking distance of the city centre.
I try to be careful with my reviews of hotels. A cheap B&B is never going to be as good as a 5 star city hotel, and you need to be aware of that. Likewise, this hotel certainly isn't the most expensive in the area, and as a consequence the facilities cannot be expected to be as good.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sachin S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you for your time posting your comments for our hotel Holiday Inn Jesmond-

I would like to apologize that you found our rooms not satisfactory, if you happen to be in our hotel please email or call us and ask for a higher floor room and we would be more than happy to assist you.

More over I am glad that you found the location of the hotel good and close to city.

We look forward to welcome you in future.

Warm Regards
Sachin shingal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barton-upon-Humber, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

My partner and I stayed one night in this hotel as a way-point on the way to Northumberland. It's a great location, a short walk into town, and a slightly longer, but still manageable, walk to the Quayside. It's also perfect for exploring Jesmond Dene and other nearby areas, and not too far to walk further east towards Heaton. It's also very close to Jesmond metro station, in case you don't fancy walking everywhere.

The hotel itself was near perfect. We didn't have any drinks or meals in the hotel, but parking was free, the room very comfortable and modern, and we were surprised to find that some of the drinks and KitKats in the minibar were free! The bed was enormous and comfortable (a little on the firm side but still had a good night's sleep) and there was a choice of thick and thin pillows. The bathroom was modern and well-equipped with lovely toiletries (plus some extras like a nail file and cotton buds), and it was nice to have a window in the bathroom to avoid an overly hot and steamy room after showering.

The only small fault with the room was that we could not get the bluetooth to work on the media centre. There was the option to bluetooth a device (in our case, a smartphone) to the media centre in order to play music in the room. My phone recognised the media centre, but a PIN was supposed to be displayed on screen at the push of a button, which we could not get to work. Still, this was a feature we weren't expecting, so we didn't feel too hard done to.

Despite being on the front of the hotel, our room was very quiet. This might be different when the students are in residence, however.

Overall a great stay. The very brief contact we had with staff was during the lightning-fast-check in and check-out, and they were very polite and friendly. Definitely one to consider for our next trip to Newcastle!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sachin S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for a fantastic review on the Holiday Inn - Newcastle Jesmond!

I will make sure your comments are passed to all our team members.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when your travel brings you back to Newcastle!

Warm Regards

Sachin Shingal
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We were looking for a cheap stay in Newcastle for graduation and the Holiday Inn Jesmond appeared as one of the cheapest in the area.

Good value for money, the room was spotless, decent size and just what we needed. Free parking was a bonus.

Only slight problem would be the pillows were either a choice of very soft or very hard on either side of the bed, no in-between but we still got a good nights sleep. Considering it is on a main road we couldn't hear any traffic noise at all.

Paid for breakfast the next morning - £10 each - bit steep, probably wasn't worth that but very tasty none the less and plenty of hot cooked breakfast items to chose from.

All in all, very convenient location for town and Jesmond, Highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sachin S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Thank you for a fantastic review on the Holiday Inn - Newcastle Jesmond!

I will make sure your comments are passed to all our team members.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when your travel brings you back to Newcastle!

Warm Regards

Sachin Shingal
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Good location for Osbourne Road bars etc and Jesmond in general. Access to city centre very good, Taxi, Metro or walk. Found Taxi the best. Priced very well and rooms good with great service (and free parking). Definitely will stop again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sachin S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Thank you for a fantastic review on the Holiday Inn - Newcastle Jesmond!

I will make sure your comments are passed to all our team members.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when your travel brings you back to Newcastle!

Warm Regards

Sachin Shingal
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We stayed for three nights. The room was satisfactory. I think the rooms on the other side of the hotel (West side) are generally better, but no real problems apart from the wifi which was intermittent. ( Again it seems better on the West side). There was a function on, on the first night, but we heard no noise. There was a function on, on the second night, but again we heard no noise.
Breakfast in the restaurant was good. We ate in the restaurant twice - good dining on both occasions.
The ambience of the hotel is fine internally. However if they are looking to do any refurbishment, the seating area outside could do with a bit of thought. Red chairs, purple pots and pretend grass placed right next to the main road. But there were plenty of people enjoying it over the weekend so who am I to criticise?

Room Tip: West side rooms are better - but they only have a shower - no bath - I think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sachin S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Thank you for a fantastic review on the Holiday Inn - Newcastle Jesmond!

I will make sure your comments are passed to all our team members.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when your travel brings you back to Newcastle!

Warm Regards

Sachin Shingal
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,068 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#7 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,484 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#22 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 stars 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Ci...
#25 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 stars 842 reviews
0.5 mi away
The New Northumbria Hotel
The New Northumbria Hotel
#18 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 stars 460 reviews
1.0 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#28 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 stars 1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond

Address: Jesmond Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 1PR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#7 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#10 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#11 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The contemporary 4 star Holiday Inn Newcastle-Jesmond is conveniently just 2 minutes by Metro from Newcastle's City Centre. The quirky bars and restaurants of affluent Jesmond are right on our doorstep, and we're only a 10-minute stroll from the atmospheric terraces of St James's Park, home of Newcastle United FC. Located only 20 minutes from Newcastle International Airport. The hotel's well-equipped meeting rooms are ideal for conferences, and complimentary wireless Internet throughout makes it easy to stay in touch with the office. Unwind after a day of meetings and socialise over drinks in the stylish Terrace Bar. Jesmond Metro station is right next to the hotel, providing easy access to Newcastle's fine shopping, dining and entertainment. Closer to the hotel, Newcastle's vibrant Quayside is renowned for its nightlife and overlooks the River Tyne. Stroll down to Fratello's, Holiday Inn Newcastle-Jesmond's street-side Italian restaurant, and watch as chefs toss the dough to make our delightfully crispy pizza. In the adjoining glass-fronted Lobby, colleagues and friends meet and mingle. After a busy day, retreat to your contemporary Guest room which features wireless internet connection and a TV that allows you to save programmes for a time that suits you. The hotel's Fratello's restaurant is popular for its wood-fired pizza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, BookIt.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.