We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay for Newcastle break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jesmond Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 1PR, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Halifax, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Excellent stay for Newcastle break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Easy to find hotel with bonus of on site parking.
Metro is a stones throw up the road & into city centre in no time.
Rooms were spacious & clean.
The stay were very friendly & explained everything we would need to know.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy C, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely comments!.

We are very proud of our hotel and especially the service our employees provide to all our guests!

I do hope we will see you again in the future,

Kind Regards

Amy Callanan
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    185
    54
    16
    9
See reviews for
63
118
23
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reigate, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights over Easter as visiting family. Great location, 15 minute walk to Northumberland Street and close to Osborne Road.

The man on reception was very helpful on check in. He saw we had a very young baby so gave us a large room. Someone assembled a travel cot within 10 minutes of our arrival which looked brand new.

Room was large. Bathroom had shower and a bath. Only downside was our room was freezing on arrival and only seemed to warm up by the time we were leaving. We never found the bathroom heating so that was rather chilly. Room has hair dryer, water, kit kats and cartons of orange juice.

The reception staff said the hotel does not host stag or hen parties. We think this is dubious having seen a group of about 10 lads going out! The noise on Saturday night was also very loud from people slamming doors and screaming in the corridors. However it didn't ruin our stay and our baby probably woke up the noisy people the following morning!!

Free car parking and wifi. We will be back

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy C, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear ReigateF,

Thank you for your lovely review.

I was very sorry to read your comments regarding your heating in your bedroom, I have noted your comments and passed these over to our Maintenance Manager to investigate further.


Thank you and if you are in the area again we hope you choose Holiday Inn - Newcastle Jesmond as your preferred choice.


Kind Regards

Amy Callanan
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Workington, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed for one night as part of a leisure break. Have stayed in a lot of Holiday Inns in various parts of the country and found this one to be a very clean and modern hotel, rooms spotlessly clean, I was offered an upgrade which was a nice surprise.
The staff were very friendly and helpful the atmosphere in the bar was very relaxed and comfortable

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear maybe quieter as it faces a main rood
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy C, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Richard,

Thank you for your lovely comments after your recent stay! I am delighted that you enjoyed it so much, and hope we can welcome you back in the future.


Kind Regards

Amy Callanan
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Just returned from newcastle stayed in holiday inn newcastle jesmond.would recommend the hotel,nice staff lovely food and great king room,near osbourne terrace,wine bars and restauraunts. and 5 min from quays.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy C, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to post such a positive and fantastic review!

We are delighted that you would recommend our hotel and hope to see you again in the near future!

Kind Regards


Amy Callanan
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I have stayed in many hotels over many years and have been a PCR Platinum elite member for too many years to remember. In this time I have NEVER been met with such a warm, friendly, smiling, happy receptionist as the lady Kim at this property. I hope the management realise what a shining star they have. As a snarl is the norm on many occasions nowadays, I felt this praise needed to be shared.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel if you're a light sleeper as there is a little road nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy C, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
It is a delight to read such a fantastic review on a member of our team, I will pass over this information to her.

Thank you for taking your time to write a lovely review on Kim, we are truly thankful she is part of our hotel and appreciate the excellent service she supply's to all of our guests.

We hope you will revisit us again in the near future,

Kind Regards

Amy Callanan
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Incompetence from beginning to end. Woke up both mornings by an unwanted wake up calls. Hounded by housekeeping to clean room at 4pm when getting ready to go out. Breakfast staff on last morning very rude. Accused myself and my husband of not paying for breakfast either day and refusing to pay. Had paid for bed and breakfast both days in advance on Holiday Inn website. Think carefully before booking.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy C, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you for your recent feedback regarding you recent stay with us. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry you were not fully satisfied with the accommodations received.
I am personally investigating the issues raised and hope you will give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

If you wish to discuss your recent experience with me further, please do not hesitate to contact me direct on foh@hinewcastle.co.uk.


Kind Regards

Amy Callanan
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Modern Holiday Inn close to Newcastle city centre. Free parking. Free and reliable wifi, though limited download for Sky Go etc. Hotel on main Jesmond Road so there is a little traffic noise at the front in the morning though not bad. Friendly reception staff. Bar doesn't have much atmosphere although there are petty options within short walking distance. There is a Fratelis restaurant next door but also plenty small Italians in the area. (We used Pizzeria Santana at 500 yds).
Will certainly stay here again. Would be a good option for a weekend away.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy C, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear ifand,

Thank you for taking the time to supply feedback regarding your recent stay. We are delighted that you would return to stay with us!


Kind Regards

Amy Callanan
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond

Address: Jesmond Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 1PR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#8 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#11 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The contemporary 4 star Holiday Inn Newcastle-Jesmond is conveniently just 2 minutes by Metro from Newcastle's City Centre. The quirky bars and restaurants of affluent Jesmond are right on our doorstep, and we're only a 10-minute stroll from the atmospheric terraces of St James's Park, home of Newcastle United FC. Located only 20 minutes from Newcastle International Airport. The hotel's well-equipped meeting rooms are ideal for conferences, and complimentary wireless Internet throughout makes it easy to stay in touch with the office. Unwind after a day of meetings and socialise over drinks in the stylish Terrace Bar. Jesmond Metro station is right next to the hotel, providing easy access to Newcastle's fine shopping, dining and entertainment. Closer to the hotel, Newcastle's vibrant Quayside is renowned for its nightlife and overlooks the River Tyne. Stroll down to Fratello's, Holiday Inn Newcastle-Jesmond's street-side Italian restaurant, and watch as chefs toss the dough to make our delightfully crispy pizza. In the adjoining glass-fronted Lobby, colleagues and friends meet and mingle. After a busy day, retreat to your contemporary Guest room which features wireless internet connection and a TV that allows you to save programmes for a time that suits you. The hotel's Fratello's restaurant is popular for its wood-fired pizza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.