We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern Holiday Inn close to city centre.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jesmond Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 1PR, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Modern Holiday Inn close to city centre.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Modern Holiday Inn close to Newcastle city centre. Free parking. Free and reliable wifi, though limited download for Sky Go etc. Hotel on main Jesmond Road so there is a little traffic noise at the front in the morning though not bad. Friendly reception staff. Bar doesn't have much atmosphere although there are petty options within short walking distance. There is a Fratelis restaurant next door but also plenty small Italians in the area. (We used Pizzeria Santana at 500 yds).
Will certainly stay here again. Would be a good option for a weekend away.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy C, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear ifand,

Thank you for taking the time to supply feedback regarding your recent stay. We are delighted that you would return to stay with us!


Kind Regards

Amy Callanan
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    170
    53
    15
    8
See reviews for
60
107
23
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

good situation. comfortable hotel with friendly staff and good service. good car parking for no extra charge. easy access to city centre. breakfast tasty and well presented. I would recommend this hotel. Jesmond has good pubs and entertainment and taxi in to riverside only £4

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy C, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear Wemdoc,

Thank you for your lovely comments after your recent stay! I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and would recommend us!

We hope you will revisit us again in the near future!

Kind Regards

Amy Callanan
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch,Essex
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed here a couple of years ago and thought the hotel performed very well. My only negative then was the horrible clear glass bathroom door. I was relieved to find, as I was staying with my sister, that the glass has now been obscured with frosted panels. Lovely quiet room on the 3rd floor. No view to speak of but no road noise either. Shower very good and no water issues as reported in some other reviews. Only slight whinge this time was the strangely positioned mirror at the dressing table. It is so low down I had to blow dry my hair whilst on my knees. Designed by a man obviously!

Didn't eat in the restaurant this time but the breakfast was of a very good standard, as is usually the case with this brand. The bar was comfortable and the drinks and service good.

Reception staff all very nice and very helpful. The girl on duty phoned a local Indian restaurant to check opening times for us when we had enquired about a good and local curry. Incidentally Mrs Ali's is a 5 minute walk and very, very good!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy C, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear quizbunny,

Thank you so much for your amazing feedback!

I am very fortunate to work in such an amazing hotel, and work with such a fantastic team! It’s great that you had such a fantastic stay!

We are currently investigating the mirrors in the bedrooms - sorry if this caused any inconvenience.

I do hope we will see you in the near future,

Kind Regards

Amy Callanan
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haltwhistle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Holiday Inn, Jesmond, on Valentine's night this year and will definately return at some point in the future. Easily accessable from the main road, there are plenty of spaces in the car park so that relieves stress straight away. The staff at the reception desk were polite, down to earth, and very friendly, the room we stayed in was spacious, clean and modern and the bed was very comfortable.
There was only one (minor) negative - the main wall mounted shower would only produce luke warm water, but at the same time there was a hand held shower that produced hot water so this wasn't really a great issue. We had breakfast sent up to the room the next morning, and apart from a small mistake with the order which was corrected very quickly, we enjoyed what we had. Overall a good relaxing night away from the kids.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy C, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you so much for such amazing feedback! We are very lucky to have an amazing hotel with amazing team members.

I have passed on your fantastic feedback to our team!

We look forward to seeing you again

Kind Regards

Amy Callanan
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

A smart and welcoming hotel. Although Jesmond Metro stop is just a few minutes away from the hotel, it is nice to take a15 minutes walk into the city. The reception staff were very friendly and a clean and crispy look to the rooms.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy C, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
What fabulous feedback. We really do appreciate all our feedback and I will pass on your great comments to the Reception team!


Thank you once again!

Amy Callanan
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I only stayed the one night and didn't eat in the hotel but the reception staff were lovely, the room was business fine and the shower good. Wifi was good too. All that I wanted of it. Will stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy C, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for such a fantastic review - I am delighted that you will choose to stay with us again, we will certainly look forward to that!

Thanks again,


Amy Callanan
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Usual Holiday Inn standards as you would expect but recently refurb end by the looks of things so all very smart and clean and sparkly.

Great location, few minutes walk from Jesmond Metro stop and close to the city. Plenty of parking and easy to find if coming by car.

Very friendly receptionist, recommended a local Indian restaurant and bars, which were very good.

Amazingly this hotel provides free wifi, a first for Holiday Inns in my experience. Got log in access for iPhone and iPad for duration of stay. TV has a record and watch later facility too.

All in all, very impressed for the price.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy C, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for a great review!

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were very impressed for the price! Our reception team are very knowledgeable of the area and I am pleased that they made a good recommendation for you at the Indian restaurant.

We hope you will return to stay with us again in the near future.


Thanks again

Amy Callanan
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond

Address: Jesmond Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 1PR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#8 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#11 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The contemporary 4 star Holiday Inn Newcastle-Jesmond is conveniently just 2 minutes by Metro from Newcastle's City Centre. The quirky bars and restaurants of affluent Jesmond are right on our doorstep, and we're only a 10-minute stroll from the atmospheric terraces of St James's Park, home of Newcastle United FC. Located only 20 minutes from Newcastle International Airport. The hotel's well-equipped meeting rooms are ideal for conferences, and complimentary wireless Internet throughout makes it easy to stay in touch with the office. Unwind after a day of meetings and socialise over drinks in the stylish Terrace Bar. Jesmond Metro station is right next to the hotel, providing easy access to Newcastle's fine shopping, dining and entertainment. Closer to the hotel, Newcastle's vibrant Quayside is renowned for its nightlife and overlooks the River Tyne. Stroll down to Fratello's, Holiday Inn Newcastle-Jesmond's street-side Italian restaurant, and watch as chefs toss the dough to make our delightfully crispy pizza. In the adjoining glass-fronted Lobby, colleagues and friends meet and mingle. After a busy day, retreat to your contemporary Guest room which features wireless internet connection and a TV that allows you to save programmes for a time that suits you. The hotel's Fratello's restaurant is popular for its wood-fired pizza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;