We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jesmond Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 1PR, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

4 of us stayed for a night in the Holiday Inn Jesmond while visiting friends. The location is ideal - the hotel is a very short walk from Jesmond Metro (1 stop from city centre and 3 from Central) and within walking distance of both the Osborne Road bars and the 2 Archbold Terrace clubs, but far enough away that there is no night time noise.

The room we stayed in was a Standard Room, but was spacious with a king bed. It was clean and well equipped with the only complaint being that the bathroom floor was very cold! We heard a bit of noise from the corridor during the night as other guests arrived home, but no more than other Holiday Inns I have stayed in before.

The staff we encountered were friendly and helpful. We had an issue on arrival with the car park being full, and they dealt with this in a courteous and polite manner.

We would definitely use this hotel again when visiting Newcastle.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy C, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a great review, I am pleased that you would revisit us again when your next in the area.

It is lovely to read that our staff were friendly and helpful!

We look forward to you staying with us again.

Kind Regards

Amy Callanan
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    183
    53
    16
    9
See reviews for
62
116
23
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I have stayed here a few times now when down in Newcastle on business and I have to say each experience has been excellent. The rooms have been comfortable, clean; the breakfasts have been good (except marmalade seems to be in short supply in th is part of Newcastle) and the staff have been consistently excellent. The hotel is a convenient distance from the organisation I visit in Newcastle and is not too far from the city centre and I regularly walk it in 15 minutes or so. Overall, I think the Holiday Inn Jesmond Road is pretty damned good and I'd recommend it for anyone visiting Newcastle.

Room Tip: 113. The view isn't fantastic but very quiet with no 'through traffic' in the corridor o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy C, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank you so much for a fantastic review.

I am delighted that you feel that the hotel is 'pretty damned good!' I will be sharing all your comments with the team.

Please email me direct on foh@hinewcastle.co.uk when your on your next visit and I will make sure we have some marmalade waiting for you at breakfast.

Thank you again for such a great review, we hope to see you again very soon.

Kind Regards

Amy Callanan
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Staff were welcoming and friendly, service very good, rooms clean and comfortable with good heating adjustable system, a great shower. Only problem was the mirror - A narrow horizontal job that I could only see my head in if I rested it on the dressing table top. Bizarre. My photo illustrates...I hate drying my hair without a mirror and can't believe Holiday Inn got this so wrong.

Restaurant was friendly, food ok - Italian - 6 out of 10. Couldn't do Carbonara - they had nor cream. Selected light meal - pizza with salad was fine but the pizza was way too big. A great selection at breakfast - only exception being tea - which was self service - water well off the boil in flasks. Changed to coffee. It was fine. I'll be back, but I'll beware of the 'light meals' and make sure I take a mirror.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy C, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank you for your recent review on the Holiday Inn - Newcastle Jesmond.

Firstly I would like to apologise for the mirror in the bedroom, we are in the process of investigating this further.

Secondly I have passed your comments made to the chef regarding your experience in the restaurant, we hope this hasn't deterred you from trying out the restaurant again on your next visit?

Thank you for commenting yon our staff and service, I will share this with the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future,

Kind Regards


Amy Callanan
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Ideally situated for visiting Longbenton, as the Metro stops just round the corner. A modern hotel, with an excellent Italian restaurant, small gym, friendly staff and good breakfast.

My room was a good size, had everything needed including complimentary wifi (up to 500mb in 24 hours). Quite a limited choice of free TV channels, but otherwise couldn't fault the room. Complimentary newspaper, bottled waters, orange juice and chocolate bars in the fridge in the room were a bonus.

Recommended!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy C, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Many many thanks for such an amazing review!

I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay would recommend us!

I have passed on all your great comments to the team.


Many thanks again

Amy Callanan
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

The staff are very smartly presented and Proffesional. Bar and waiting staff seem to be pros not earning min wage in their spare time... Room is spacious and modern. No much of a view but never came to a city centre for that. Complimentey mini bar... Great hotel!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy C, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
What a fantastic review!!

Thank you so much for your kind comments especially regarding our team.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future!


Regards

Amy Callanan
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I stayed here for a week before Christmas. My room was small, freezing and musty. The first morning there was no water - there was a burst pipe. These things happen I guess so I was given another room on the other side of the hotel - it was nice and spacious, bright and the shower was really good. I stayed again this week and was told that side of the hotel was closed. The room I got was OK, not great. I checked the water and it was luke warm at best so I contacted the desk and was told the maintenance man had fixed it that day and it would be fine in the morning. Well, the next morning I couldn't get in the shower, it was too hot and no water from the cold tap at all. I complained again and got moved to a room opposite - the shower was very poor but I could at least get into it. The window was broken so wouldn't close properly and the bathroom was freezing. I will never go back - if you decide to chance it, insist on the left side of the hotel (as you look at it) or preper for a miserable stay. Generally most of the staff were fine and friendly, a couple weren't, but I got the distinct impression they were all very inexperienced. Breakfast was hit and miss - cold more often than not.

Room Tip: Insist on the left side of the hotel as you look at it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Peter B,

We certainly appreciate you taking the time to convey your thoughts regarding your stay with us. I am glad our location suited your needs. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the shower issues. I will make sure that your comments will be forwarded to the appropriate departments and be reviewed. Your comments are truly valuable, as this will give us an opportunity to look for areas to improve. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to host you again on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Irish V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

This hotel is great for a visit to Newcastle. Located in a quiet area outside the city centre but still very handy as it is very near an underground station or approx. 20 min walk into the centre. Taxi back at night only cost £4.OO. Lovely comfortable, clean hotel and helpful staff. Hadn't stayed in a Holiday Inn before but definately would again if they are all as good as this one!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy C, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Many many thanks for such an amazing review!

I am thrilled you would stay with our brand again in the future!

We are very proud of the team who always work so hard to ensure our guests have a great stay.


Many thanks again

Amy Callanan
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond

Address: Jesmond Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 1PR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#9 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#11 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The contemporary 4 star Holiday Inn Newcastle-Jesmond is conveniently just 2 minutes by Metro from Newcastle's City Centre. The quirky bars and restaurants of affluent Jesmond are right on our doorstep, and we're only a 10-minute stroll from the atmospheric terraces of St James's Park, home of Newcastle United FC. Located only 20 minutes from Newcastle International Airport. The hotel's well-equipped meeting rooms are ideal for conferences, and complimentary wireless Internet throughout makes it easy to stay in touch with the office. Unwind after a day of meetings and socialise over drinks in the stylish Terrace Bar. Jesmond Metro station is right next to the hotel, providing easy access to Newcastle's fine shopping, dining and entertainment. Closer to the hotel, Newcastle's vibrant Quayside is renowned for its nightlife and overlooks the River Tyne. Stroll down to Fratello's, Holiday Inn Newcastle-Jesmond's street-side Italian restaurant, and watch as chefs toss the dough to make our delightfully crispy pizza. In the adjoining glass-fronted Lobby, colleagues and friends meet and mingle. After a busy day, retreat to your contemporary Guest room which features wireless internet connection and a TV that allows you to save programmes for a time that suits you. The hotel's Fratello's restaurant is popular for its wood-fired pizza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.