We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for our needs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jesmond Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 1PR, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Perfect for our needs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for the weekend when attending a wedding at another nearby hotel. It has been recently refurbished and looks modern, bright and welcoming. The staff at reception were very efficient and courteous and nothing was too much trouble for them.
Our room was great for our needs, typical for a Holiday Inn. The room was clean and of a usual corporate hotel size.They provided complimentary bottled water which was a welcome relief in the early hours, after a night out!!
The location was excellent if you are there to explore what the city has to offer and Jesmond itself has a good range of bars and restaurants.
We had breakfast on both mornings. It was standard buffet fare but was replenished frequently and there was quite a good variety.
We did not eat in the restaurant, Fratello's, but it did come highly recommended. The bar was definitely worth a visit. Zio bar is a destination bar as well as being in the hotel. They served great cocktails and there was a nice 'buzz' about the place.
On the whole it was very enjoyable stay and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy C, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to post a lovely review on our hotel, it is a delight to read that your stay was perfect for your needs!

We are pleased that you would definately stay with us again and look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Kind Regards

Amy Callanan
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    164
    159
    47
    15
    8
See reviews for
55
96
22
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Porth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Lovely quirky hotel, different from the usuall corporate template. As soon as you enter the reception area you know this lovely modern, airy environment is going to be different.
Staff are friendly, knowledgable and helpful.
Accomodation follows on from the modern public areas throughout, lovely and modern deco with all the usual mod cons
The bar area is a lovely modern relaxing environment with good food and drink offers available. Plenty of televisions around the room to enjoy a relaxing evening.

I am due to return in early December for a business event and would recommend others give it a try if visiting Newcastle.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy C, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for sharing your feedback - I am pleased to read such fantastic comments regarding the hotel! Thank you!

We look forward to welcoming you back in December!

Best Wishes,

Amy Callanan
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

Stayed one night for work. Reception efficient and friendly, all clean and pleasant if slightly characterless. Double room was an ok size, TV options etc were good, you can plug in your own devices for the entertainment system thoug I didn't investigate this.
Room very clean and nicely decorated in a dark colour scheme. Choice of pillows. Bathroom good, shower worked well. Juice /water provided. Lots of lighting choices but none very bright, e.g. Full length mirror near the door in a dark corner, but no way of lighting it up. I dried my hair in a fairly dim desk light.
Breakfast fine, reasonable amount of choice and hot food seemed fairly fresh. Tiny quibble that only sugar available is in lump form thwarting my (childish, I know) habit of sprinkling sugar in my cereal.
Location wise, I walked with my case from Jesmond metro, not too far and easy to find. However there's not a lot in the immediate vicinity, it's not in the heart of Jesmond with its shops, restaurants as such. I guess that is probably walkable, just not visible.
So, small quibbles but I would be happy to stay again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy C, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for sharing your feedback - I am pleased to hear that you would be happy to stay at the hotel again.

We take on board your comments made regarding the lighting in the bedrooms and will investigate this further.

Next time at breakfast we will be happy to provide you with granuated sugar that you can sprinkle on your cereal.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel very soon.

Best Wishes,

Amy Callanan
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Really great little hotel - very central and very clean. The staff were great - very very helpful and on the ball. Room was nice and clean and the bed very comfortable. The Italian restaurant provided really lovely food and it was very well priced and breakfast was comprehensive.

The only slight niggle was some of the signage for the rooms ws a bit confusing and I was in a party of three of us staying on different floors and each of us got lost at one point during the stay.

I would definitely stay there again - and would recommend to anyone on a Newcastle break - work or pleasure.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy C, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us - we take on board your comments made and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel very soon.

Best Wishes,

Amy Callanan
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster UK
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Well used to short stays in cities, it was a refreshing event to stay in a well-appointed environment, seemingly remote from the busy main road which affronts this hotel. I have stayed at the same hotel previously when under a different owner / group and the differences are overt. The garden area created outside seemed to buffer the hotel from the very busy route into the city centre just outside and looks quite stunning.

Friendly staff members attend the reception desk (in a vast entrance space) and coped with all our questions; the formal process of booking in was easy. Later chatting at check-out was also a pleasurable experience!

So to the (standard) double room – well designed, not overly big and with pretty basic amenities but did the job efficiently without any unwanted surprises.

The bar (1 of 2) we attended was fine for a pre-event snack and served with attention and detail of the presentation was fine. We did not dine here in the evening but would do so given more time.

Arriving back very late (the next morning) the entrance was staffed by a friendly guy who was eager to help with the baggage we had accumulated following our evening celebrations at our son’s 21st.

Breakfast was served efficiently and offered all that could be expected with a ‘cool’ environment without rush or problem overlooking the traffic that seemed far distant.
Staying here reinforces the thought that a short stay away in a city environment can be restful too!

We didn’t manage to take advantage of the leisure facilities so I can’t comment on them but they are there!

Overall a relaxing time without problems and an efficient car parking system.

Room Tip: nothing to add
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy C, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Great review- we look forward to seeing you again next time your visiting the area!

Kind Regards


Amy Callanan
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had a lovely mini-break here. Easy walking distance to city centre allowed us to go shopping without worrying about parking - only about 20 minutes to Eldon Square. Breakfasts are generous with plenty of choice. Restaurant provides good Italian food - crispy pizza, fresh salads. Rooms are stylish if a little cramped and dark. Friendly staff, plenty of car parking. Stylish decor helps the mood too.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms close to function areas if you want to miss the late disco.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy C, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us - we value your comments and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel very soon.

Best Wishes,

Amy Callanan
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Best Holiday inn I've stayed in I think. Spacious rooms. Excellent bath rooms with a waterfall shower . Very nice breakfast. Helpful and friendly staff. Very handy for the city centre........and complimentary kit Kate's in the room!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy C, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel when your visit brings you back to the area.

Kind Regards


Amy Callanan
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond

Address: Jesmond Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 1PR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#8 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#11 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The contemporary 4 star Holiday Inn Newcastle-Jesmond is conveniently just 2 minutes by Metro from Newcastle's City Centre. The quirky bars and restaurants of affluent Jesmond are right on our doorstep, and we're only a 10-minute stroll from the atmospheric terraces of St James's Park, home of Newcastle United FC. Located only 20 minutes from Newcastle International Airport. The hotel's well-equipped meeting rooms are ideal for conferences, and complimentary wireless Internet throughout makes it easy to stay in touch with the office. Unwind after a day of meetings and socialise over drinks in the stylish Terrace Bar. Jesmond Metro station is right next to the hotel, providing easy access to Newcastle's fine shopping, dining and entertainment. Closer to the hotel, Newcastle's vibrant Quayside is renowned for its nightlife and overlooks the River Tyne. Stroll down to Fratello's, Holiday Inn Newcastle-Jesmond's street-side Italian restaurant, and watch as chefs toss the dough to make our delightfully crispy pizza. In the adjoining glass-fronted Lobby, colleagues and friends meet and mingle. After a busy day, retreat to your contemporary Guest room which features wireless internet connection and a TV that allows you to save programmes for a time that suits you. The hotel's Fratello's restaurant is popular for its wood-fired pizza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.