We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off the strip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jesmond Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 1PR, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Off the strip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Perfect venue for the area but avoiding the noisy late night crowds. as away from the "strip" but easily walkable. Very attenitve to our request for a quiet room. Car parking was such a bonus. Standard of breakfast was higher than norm - they put smaller amounts out more frequently so no congealing! Liked the bar for a start & end to night. Fair comments others have made about room size and lighting but that didn't bother us as we weren't in so much. Mattress was soft so not everyone's taste. We will be going back soon & will definitely go back there. Felt the price was right.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy C, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on the Holiday Inn - Newcastle Jesmond, we take all our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodation.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will revisit us again in the near future.

Kind Regards


Amy Callanan

Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    184
    53
    16
    9
See reviews for
62
116
23
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
england
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Nice arrangement with parking and no charge.Reception friendly and efficient. Wedding in progress but did hinder stay in any way.The design of the hotel is modern but with many dark colours .It tries to appear classy but the dark colour scheme is overdone.The bedroom was adequate but again the dark colour scheme made the already smallish room even smaller.Lighting in bedrooms inadequate.The breakfast was good together with plenty of fresh fruit options with the cereal although the price at £10 pp [no deal] was overpriced.Overall ,at the right price this hotel not a bad option but doesn't stand out.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy C, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Many thanks for your comments regarding your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn - Newcastle Jesmond.

It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. I appreciate the guest feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

We hope you will revisit the hotel in the near future

Kind Regards

Amy Callanan
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Stayed here the 11th of October. Plenty of parking spaces. Warm welcome at reception. Room was adequate but a little small. Free mini bar was welcome due to Priority rewards. Food was tasty at the Fratellos Restaraunt and service again was good. My role in my business means i now need to spend quite a bit of time in Newcastle and will be staying again next week 15th and 16th because i enjoyed the stay so would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy C, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for your great review, we are pleased that you will recommend the hotel to your friends and family and we look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Kind Regards


Amy Callanan
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Delicious breakfast. The bathroom and shower doors did not offer any privacy -they were glass. OK if you are on your own but if you have to share it's a no no. If you want total privacy do not use this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy C, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your comments made in relation to your stay with us, we have taken on board your comments made regarding the glass on the bathroom door and we have now frosted over the glass to increase privacy.

We hope you will revisit the hotel when your next in the area.

Kind Regards

Amy Callanan
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

My daughter and I stayed here for 2 nights on 6th and 7th October. The staff at the reception desk were friendly and helpful as were the restaurant and bar staff. The room was comfortable, clean and very quiet if not a little bit cold. There were two wedding receptions on the Saturday night, but we did not hear any noise at all in our room. We ate in the restaurant on the first night and in the bar on the second night. Both meals were very good. Excellent choice of food at breakfast - cereal, toast, fresh fruit, yoghurt or a full cooked breakfast. With free car parking, a Metro station 2 minutes away and only a 15 minute walk to the town centre, I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Newcastle. We will certainly be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy C, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us at the Holiday Inn - Newcastle Jesmond. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and I will share your comments with everyone within the hotel.

We look forward to you visiting us again in the future.

Kind Regards

Amy Callanan
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed here when visiting Newcastle University for their Open Day and were delighted with the standard of rooms, friendly staff and very nice restaurant attached to the hotel. It is very convenient both for the universities and town centre all within a 15 minute walk.

We were able to leave the car for free even though we had checked out and this was a real bonus. Friendly staff both in the restaurant and on reception helped with directions.

The only downsides are the road outside which is quite noisy if you want to open the windows and we did have to wait quite a while for our drinks in the restaurant but would definitely return when visiting Newcastle again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy C, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for posting a review on the Holiday Inn - Newcastle Jesmond, we welcome all opportunities to improve our products and services we offer to our guests and I have taken on board all comments made.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. We know you have many choices when it comes to hotels and we hope you will choose Holiday Inn – Newcastle Jesmond for your future travel needs.

Kind Regards

Amy Callanan
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire UK
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

Stayed with a group of friends over the Great North Run weekend. It is certainly convenient for the city centre and rail links (though finding it was difficult - not the fault of the hotel but of the woeful signposting on main roads coming into Newcastle). The rooms and facilities are fine, even if the corporate decor and carpeting in the public areas is rather lurid. Service at reception and bar was polite but slow, understandable allowing for the busy weekend. All in all it is a perfectly adequate hotel, comfortable and reasonably priced, but be careful with the restaurant - decidedly under par and less than ordinary on this occasion. I would stay there again but eat elsewhere.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy C, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us regarding your recent stay with us.

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and take on board the comments your made regarding the resturant, we welcome any opportunity to improve.

We look forward to serving you again when your travel brings you back to Newcastle.

Kind Regards

Amy Callanan
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond

Address: Jesmond Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 1PR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#9 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#11 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The contemporary 4 star Holiday Inn Newcastle-Jesmond is conveniently just 2 minutes by Metro from Newcastle's City Centre. The quirky bars and restaurants of affluent Jesmond are right on our doorstep, and we're only a 10-minute stroll from the atmospheric terraces of St James's Park, home of Newcastle United FC. Located only 20 minutes from Newcastle International Airport. The hotel's well-equipped meeting rooms are ideal for conferences, and complimentary wireless Internet throughout makes it easy to stay in touch with the office. Unwind after a day of meetings and socialise over drinks in the stylish Terrace Bar. Jesmond Metro station is right next to the hotel, providing easy access to Newcastle's fine shopping, dining and entertainment. Closer to the hotel, Newcastle's vibrant Quayside is renowned for its nightlife and overlooks the River Tyne. Stroll down to Fratello's, Holiday Inn Newcastle-Jesmond's street-side Italian restaurant, and watch as chefs toss the dough to make our delightfully crispy pizza. In the adjoining glass-fronted Lobby, colleagues and friends meet and mingle. After a busy day, retreat to your contemporary Guest room which features wireless internet connection and a TV that allows you to save programmes for a time that suits you. The hotel's Fratello's restaurant is popular for its wood-fired pizza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.