We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outdoor peoples paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rising Sun Country Park

Rising Sun Country Park
Whitley Road | Benton, Newcastle upon Tyne NE12 9SS, England
(0191) 643 2241
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Outdoor peoples paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Rising Sun Country Park an unspoilt bit of land near the city of Newcastle and historic Wallsend Roman Wall country, and a short trip to the coast. Lovely walks, farm, ponds and loads of birds.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    56
    7
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon tyne
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“An island of countryside with good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Great place to drop in for a bite to eat and cup of tea. Meals are tasty and well presented, staff are friendly and attentive. Location looks out over the Rising Sun Country Park Lake. Plenty of parking.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Little piece of heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

what a lovely place to visit, only a 10 minute drive from our address at the coast. So very scenic and a lovely little cafe to add. Really great country park

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hexham
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

this is a lovely place to eat or just have a cuppa. I take my grand children there often after a lovely walk or feeding the horses or donkeys. the food is fresh and it varies with the seasons. the views are great in winter or summer and there is a lovely outdoor area. the staff are friendly and helpful.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Good if you're in the area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

I live local to the rising sun and we go there from time to time. It's not somewhere i woud travel to.

I've been jogging along the various tracks and it's a nice place for that (better than roads thats for sure).

Been to the little cafe a few times, the scones (including lemon and blueberry) are delicious. I've only been for cuppa and cake but the food always looks nice and the different breads available look lovely. I would just like to say the cafe is used by a very wide spectrum of people. Young Mam's with prams/buggies and babies that sometimes cry (!! shock horror!!) and people with special needs etc. This isn't a fancy ladies who lunch place so bare that in mind.

There is an outdoor seating area in front of a stretch of grass and a little play area (which my son loves - it can be very muddy so again bare that in mind). There used to be/sometimes is a stall selling fruit and veg with an honesty box system. I believe this comes from the rising sun country farm.

There are toilets you can use which are seperate from the cafe.

We went to see santa here two years in a row which was lovely but they didn't do it in 2013 which was a shame.

They run various activities including bush craft days and teddy bears picnics.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rising Sun Country Park also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Rising Sun Country Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rising Sun Country Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.