We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a night or two” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Newcastle Gosforth

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newcastle upon Tyne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Travelodge Newcastle Gosforth
Save
You added Travelodge Newcastle Gosforth to your Saves list
Rotary Way | North Brunton, Newcastle upon Tyne NE3 5EH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great for a night or two”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Had a weekend in Newcastle to visit relatives and stayed at the Falcons Nest Travelodge. Could do with a bit of TLC in the bathrooms but overall it was very clean, comfortable and basic. Tea and Coffee available in the rooms which was very handy, not always found in budget hotels.
The location was very good, handy for a quick trip into the city or to the airport, we drove up from Gloucester.
Bed was very comfortable, which is very important for a single nights stay, you don't want to be tired for the return trip of a 300 miles drive the next day!

The adjoining 'Falcons Nest' pub restaurant was very good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    70
    25
    24
    12
See reviews for
44
63
12
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I can't agree with a lot of the comments on here about this place being shabby and grubby, or even sometime described as dirty. First of all, its a Travelodge. Its not a 5 star.
I stay in Travelodges all the time and I have to say that this was as good as any. Better than most in fact. the room was a good size. Clean enough, bit of dusting here and there would have improved it but we aren't living there. The bathroom was clean enough. The bed was comfy and the housekeeping was professionally done and the room looked nice when we returned later in the day.
Now to my only criticism . The housekeeping. On both mornings we stayed there we had a knock on the door from housekeeping who then started to let themselves in but pretty quickly retreated when we made it clear we were still using the room. Every hotel I stay in has a 'do not disturb' sign to hang on your door. Not this one. Its quite disconcerting to think that someone might walk in at any moment. That needs sorting. Apart from that can't really fault it. About £10 quid taxi into Newcastle. Good Vintage Inn on site. As well as a McDonalds and a Co-op.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We booked this Travelodge because it was just down the road from friends. Ok, to be fair we got it on an autumn offer, £130 for 4 nights however there is simply no excuse for filthy shower curtains. These thin curtains can be soaked for minutes in soapy bleach or washed in a machine. They cost pennies to buy so they could have a change, one being used, one in the wash. The shower tray needed a good clean with a scrubbing brush and bleach to clean up the moulding around it. All these little jobs take minutes not hours of cleaning!!
On a positive note the staff were friendly and the beds were comfy.
This hotel needs some updating as it is shabby I would not have been happy had we paid full price.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawlish, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Firstly, good location and a very acceptable Vintage Inn, the Falcons Nest, on site to dine at. Co-op store and Macdonalds also on same site.
However the rooms let this place down. What sparse furniture they contain is much dated and desperately in need of replacing. The bathrooms have also seen better days and also require a complete overhaul.
Travelodge can offer such terrific value but all too often let themselves down by not getting the bare minimum standards right.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GosforthManager, Manager at Travelodge Newcastle Gosforth, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank You for your review, we take our guests feedback with the upmost importance and your feedback has been gratefyully received.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future back to the Travelodge Gosforth.

Paul Waters
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, UK
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Everything a place open to the public to stay should not be.
Long overdue a total refurbishment and spring clean!
So bad moved elsewhere despite having prepaid for the rooms.
Good location but despite how exceedingly cheap it is, without it being clean any price becomes irrelevant.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Nice cosy rooms which are less sparse than the newer travelodges I have been to. Quite and clean what more could you ask for. Food available in pub next door and McDonald's two minutes walk for breakfast

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GosforthManager, Manager at Travelodge Newcastle Gosforth, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank You for you review, I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Gosforth Travelodge and hope to welcome you back very soon.

Paul Waters
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

what a wonderful hotel..very clean friendly and easy to get to...very good price for stay will stay again...breakfast was self service and served from 5am. staff very friendly and rooms very spaciuos very close for airport and restaurant just over the road and pub too

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Newcastle Gosforth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Newcastle Gosforth

Address: Rotary Way | North Brunton, Newcastle upon Tyne NE3 5EH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just outside the city centre, the Newcastle Gosforth Hotel offers a peaceful way to enjoy Newcastle with plenty of access to the surrounding areas as well. With Cramlington train station just over 5 miles away, and Newcastle International Airport and Newcastle International Ferry terminal both within easy reach, travel during your stay will be hassle-free.Enjoy an exciting day out at Newcastle Race Course, just over half a mile away, or indulge in some retail therapy at the expansive Metro Centre, 7.4 miles away. Families will enjoy a trip to the impressive historic site of Alnwick Castle (9.9 miles), just one of the many attractions in the area. For hungry travellers, an adjacent Vintage Inn offers somewhere convenient and comfortable to eat and drink.Useful InformationShowers & bathsGuests should be aware that all rooms at this hotel have a shower but no bath. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Travelodge Newcastle Gosforth Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Newcastle Gosforth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.