We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem of a travelodge” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Newcastle Gosforth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Travelodge Newcastle Gosforth to your Saves list
Travelodge Newcastle Gosforth
Rotary Way | North Brunton, Newcastle upon Tyne NE3 5EH, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Saver rooms available
newcastle england
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A little gem of a travelodge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Little that I can add to other reviews - easy parking, good pub adjoining and also co-op garage and Mcd's.

Busses to the city stop outside, going through Gosforth which is an interesting place.with lots of pubs restaurants etc.

If you return from a night out, then (like all cities) private hire is far cheaper than the hacks.
Blueline and Budget (meter starts from £1!) are recommended.

Worthwhile considering rather than rather than a city centre hotel...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    64
    24
    23
    9
See reviews for
38
61
11
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland, UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

My fiancé and I came here at 8.40pm on a Friday night after seeing a film down at the Metro Centre. I was happy to go for a Metro eatery but him indoors fancied going to this place as some of his colleagues from Longbenton had been and raved about the place.

Initial view was that is was cosy, pub-like (well, effectively it IS a pub) and the atmosphere was decent enough. However, we waited at the bar for a good 10-15 minutes before we could see a staff member. I asked if they were still serving food and, tentatively, after checking her watch, the lady told us to go and find a seat.

We found a little private setting near a window. We ordered drinks (pint of lager for OH and a large rosé pour moi) but we waited nigh on quarter-of-an-hour before receiving them. We explained we were ready to order but were told the waitress would come back soon. I went for the fish Friday deal (2 courses and a glass of vino for £15) while he went for the boar burger and shared my dessert.

It was a leisurely 10 minutes before our order was taken then 15-20 minutes thereafter to receive our mains. The waitress was very amiable and smiley. I am no hurried eater and like to take my time, especially when I'm drinking as well as having a meal. However, my other half likes to 'eat and run' and passed comment about slow service (rare for him to comment).

The food, when it did arrive, was gorgeous. I had asked for chips instead of boiled potatoes and I wasn't disappointed. Everything was cooked to perfection and we got offered a selection of complimentary sauces. The only downer was my dessert, raspberry creme brulee, which was cremated by the blow torch on the top and the underneath was agreeably cold. I am forgiving and not one to waste so I ate it anyway but, after having shovelled mine in, heard someone on the next table complaining about theirs.

Overall, a decent enough meal (my deal was good value, had the sweet been as nice as the lovely wine and main) and we came here late on so we cannot expect 100 per cent optimum performance. The waitress was friendly, atmosphere was romantic and 'pubby', but service was slow.

I would go back, for sure. However, I won't be rushing as there are plenty of other nice places to try (for instance, the Jingling Gate near Denton, which is always amazing). Enjoy!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North York Moors National Park, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Stayed here for a night stop last minute.
We were pleasantly surprised, can't fault anything.
very swift and friendly check in.
Clean smart room.
We ate next door at the Vintage Inn and the food was excellent
Will stay again

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyne & Wear
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Fast check-in, large, clean room at the back of the hotel. Good quality towels and comfortable bed. Tea and coffee making facilities in the room. I didn't go into the pub next door but it was extremely busy, which I took to be a good sign. The Co-op on site had a good selection of food and drink.
I'd definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Good, clean Travelodge. Room tidy, fast check in, next to a restaurant, a MacDonalds and a garage next door. Ideal for stop-overs as close to key road networks. Shower very good, bed good, kettle. No iron in room. Only negative comment is the sound proofing. Seems like a low cost build has meant that it's pretty easy to hear from neighbouring rooms. Also - thank God for 3G data networks now, so the nasty wireless charges Hotels such as Travelodge try to achieve can be avoided. Overall, I was very pleased with this place and would recommend.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on other side from the car park and the smokers outside!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Just returned from a trip to edinburgh and stayed overnight on way to the North at newcastle. Chose this travelodge after reading reviews here and have to add my comments as this was an excellent travelodge with obviously recently refurbished ammenities. Bed was comfortable and towels of high quality. Check in was efficient. Very quiet location and slept really well.
Just be aware there is a pub next to the hotel however breakfast only served on weekends.
Quite close to newcastle city centre and easy to negotiate a trip into the centre.
Would highly recommend this place to stay. very good value.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Just returned home today after staying at this hotel and found it very good value for money its in a good location to visit surrounding places of interest and of course shopping. The room was light and airy, beds and pillows very comfortable and room very clean and tidy. Its next to a pub, 24 hour garage and shop and McDonalds. The Newcastle racecourse is afew minutes walk and generally I would say in a good location. We had the best fish and chips ever from North Bar Chippy in Gosforth delicious. I would definately return to this hotel and recommend to family and friends.

Room Tip: Dont forget your clock and toiletries.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Newcastle Gosforth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Newcastle Gosforth

Address: Rotary Way | North Brunton, Newcastle upon Tyne NE3 5EH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just outside the city centre, the Newcastle Gosforth Hotel offers a peaceful way to enjoy Newcastle with plenty of access to the surrounding areas as well. With Cramlington train station just over 5 miles away, and Newcastle International Airport and Newcastle International Ferry terminal both within easy reach, travel during your stay will be hassle-free.Enjoy an exciting day out at Newcastle Race Course, just over half a mile away, or indulge in some retail therapy at the expansive Metro Centre, 7.4 miles away. Families will enjoy a trip to the impressive historic site of Alnwick Castle (9.9 miles), just one of the many attractions in the area. For hungry travellers, an adjacent Vintage Inn offers somewhere convenient and comfortable to eat and drink.Useful InformationShowers & bathsGuests should be aware that all rooms at this hotel have a shower but no bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Travelodge Newcastle Gosforth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Newcastle Gosforth Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Newcastle Gosforth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.