We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too noisy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Station Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Royal Station Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Station Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Neville Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5DH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Too noisy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Stayed here recently for two nights. This would be an ideal hotel for stag / hen parties. Right in the centre of Newcastle and the nightlife and also a short walk to the quayside. It is a beautiful hotel. Just don't expect to get much sleep. I slep with ear plugs in and was constantly woken by the music, ambulances etc.

We stayed in a family room. One single be and one double. The double bed was really small. There was a TV in the room with the single bed but not the other. The pool was absolutely freezing and the jacuuzzi was like sitting in a pan of boiling water.

Brill location but would not stay again.

Room Tip: May sound daft but it would probably be quieter on the side where the train station is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    315
    166
    73
    78
See reviews for
72
237
95
213
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

I recently stayed one night on business, and I really liked this place. Well situated next to the station and Metro, and close to the city centre. Possibly the friendliest and fastest check-in I've experienced in a hotel. The rooms are nicely decorated and spacious, and the fridge in the room contained complimentary water, orange juice, milk, chocolate biscuits and beer! A really nice touch and I'm sure much appreciated by guests. There's a touch of "faded glamour" about this hotel, but I liked it. Much better than the endless, faceless Travel / Premier / Hospitality Inns that most of us stay in on business trips. The breakfast was excellent, with a full range of cereal, pastries, cold meats & cheese, and the usual cooked options. The only criticism I could make was that the lack of air con made the rooms quite warm and stuffy at this time of year. Overall, I would recommend this place.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Lovely stay for me and my 2 young children at the Royal Station Hotel. We had a lovely swim before heading to the quayside for tea and had a good night's sleep in our comfy bed. Very good value for a sunday night stay, will come again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Stayed here from Friday-Monday as we were down for the weekend for a friends 21st birthday. Honestly don't know why people complain about this place. Great location as there are so many places to eat, drink and go clubbing nearby. Also very handy for us as we travelled by train so literally stepped off into our hotel. We used the train one day to go to the metro centre which was fantastic! The staff could not have been more helpful! The cleaner provided us with more than what we needed and continued to top up our fridge! Can't believe how much we got for free. We had never really stayed anywhere in the UK like this before so it was a treat! We even ordered room service one morning which was lovely! The hotel itself is very grand and Victorian. Extremely clean from what we could see and can't really complain about anything. Would definitely come back to stay on our next visit!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Stayed here 1 night on a business trip

Travelled by train so found the hotel in a ideal location. Loads of restaurants and bars within 5 mins of walking.

Hotel staff very friendly, breakfast was excellent.

Room was very spacious with a large bathroom, leisure facilities very good

I would definitely stay here again

Room Tip: Room 217 was a very good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

This hotel is very grand in typical old fashioned railway station fashion, and outstanding value for city centre mid week (£53 + £7.50 for a good breakfast). Location is very convenient for all Newcastle central amenities.
Only potential downside was my room - as nice as it was, had a window which looked out into a bricked up void space, which looked like it had last been whitewashed in about 1962. Very scruffy indeed ! It didn't really matter to me as I was only staying one night and only literally showered and slept in the room, however I can imagine it being a major issue for some.

Room Tip: There can be noise issues at the front side of the hotel from noisy party-goers at weekend or from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pudley234, Manager at Royal Station Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Hi Malcolm,

Many thanks for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay with us.

We offer very competitive rates especially through the week so I am pleased that you were able to take advantage of this.

I am sorry to hear that the view from your hotel room was not satisfactory, I only wish you had informed reception of this issue and they would been more than happy to move you to a more suitable room with a view.

On your return please call the hotel directly prior to arrival and we will ensure that you do not experience the same problem.

We look forward to welcoming you back

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

All the staff very friendly indeed, especially the cleaner, she was lovely. Front of house staff always willing to help. Room perhaps a tad bit hot with the recent weather, but nothing a fan didn't solve. Good location next door to the train station. Room very clean and nice big bathroom (superior double). Would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pudley234, Manager at Royal Station Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Hi Tim,

Many thanks for your fantastic review of the Royal Station Hotel, it is always lovely to hear that we made a lasting impression.

The front of house staff deliver first class customer service, they will be very happy to hear that this has not go unnoticed,

We really look forward to welcoming you back on your return visit

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Station Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Station Hotel

Address: Neville Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5DH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 77 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Station Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Royal Station Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Station
Royal Station Newcastle Upon Tyne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Station Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.