We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caledonian Hotel Newcastle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Caledonian Hotel Newcastle to your Saves list
Caledonian Hotel Newcastle
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Osborne Road | Jesmond, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2AT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

A large group stayed in this hotel on a very busy weekend, the hotel seemed to be fully booked. as it was a surprise for a 70th birthday staff had upgraded the birthday girls room free of charge which was a very nice surprise, we had a table for 12 booked in the bistro and the food and service were both excellent, couldnt be faulted.
the rooms are a little dated and do need redecorating but they are immaculatly clean and well presented. clean sheets, clean surfaces and clean bathroom (which are all a must)

the staff both front of house and restaurant/bar staff were excellent, friendly and very helpful.

i would recommend this hotel for any type of stay, and we also noticed they do wedding packages for £2500! this seems excellent value and i will certainly be looking into this in the future. much cheaper than a lot of the other local hotels and venues.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    101
    65
    24
    28
See reviews for
37
111
14
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I booked the caledonian via a third party company clear cut weekends for my stag party. I have to admit I have stayed in some less than desirable places when travelling as a group before and I was expecting the same here. However this was not the case. The hotel seems to be in quite a trendy/upmarket area and seems to be popular with groups, however I would still stay here as a couple. There is quite a few amenities in the hotel room and a good hotel bar which operates a happy hour. In the immediate vicinity you have a waitrose/tesco and quite a few restaurants to choose from including a good pizza express within a minute walk. The service there was faultless. I would recommend this hotel if you are looking as staying as a group and visiting newcastles night life.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

A group of us stayed at this hotel last week. Accommodation was good and the rooms were clean although some of us had rooms at the front of the hotel and the club opposite was rather noisy into the early hours. The food however was dire. We had the same vegetables for three days and the roast potatoes were unrecognisable. After 3 days we complained en masse and for the remaining two days of our stay the food improved. We had several tables allocated to us but the hotel insisted that we sat in the same seats for our meals! We have never heard of this in any other hotel and complained, but complied with their request. This prevented us from mixing with other members of our group as we like to interchange our seating to keep in touch with everyone. A rather strange and unnecessary request.

Room Tip: Choose rooms away from the main road as the hotel/club opposite was rather noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The hotel has plenty of bedrooms and although the road and bars outside (as well as the one inside the hotel) are full of people enjoying themselves especially at the weekend we have never suffered any noise problems in the bedrooms we have used there. There are also decent restaurants opposite. It is also convenient for the city centre.

Room Tip: ask for a room at the back and on the 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northumberland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stayed at the hotel following a wedding celebration on 22nd June. The room we had was on the second floor looking out on to Osborne Road, it had a huge bed with white bed linen which was immaculate - ver comfortable with many pillows. The bathroom had a double shower with plenty of hot water and nice white fluffy towels plus the usual complimentary toiletries for an overnight stay. The only fault with the rooms, if any, was they were very warm even with the windows open. There is adequate parking at the rear of the hotel for those guests arriving by car.
The food was good and the waiting staff were very pleasant and efficient.
The breakfast was good with the usual fruit juices, cereals, hot selection of back bacon, sausages, mushrooms, beans, fried and scrambled plus hash browns and then to finish Danish pastries, croissants and toast.
All in all very good value for money and a definite recommendation for a good three star hotel close to the city centre for anyone travelling to Newcastle. Plenty of taxis are regularly outside the hotel and it is only 5 minutes away. It must be good as it was fully occupied the night we stayed.
On a final note if you are considering having a wedding here just ring and speak to Christina, the wedding planner - she is a star and excellent at her job.

Room Tip: If you don't mind hearing the nightly entertainment of the local bars on Osborne Road ask for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I stayed in this hotel quite a few years ago, and was a bit apprehensive to be booked into this one again from work. However, I was very pleased with how it is nowadays. The hotel itself is very comfortable, had free wifi which was good for catching up on t'internet and email etc. The bar has a pub feel to it, and had public as well as private custom, and football and sports on. also Jesmond is now quite trendy and OSborne Raod has a good selction of eateires to choose from within walking distance. It's close enough to all these, but quiet enough to not be disturbing. I would quite happily stay there again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We came here on our "Golden ticket" deal from The Peel Hotel Group, we go with friends every year, The Caledonian didn't let us down. The upgraded room was so comfy, huge comfy bed, fridge, drinks cookies and even a pack of crisps for those late night munches. The bathroom was extremely well fitted out with a range if very nice toiletries and cotton ball, sewing kit etc. the hotel staff are so efficient and friendly nothing was too much trouble, pointing out attractions and the best places to shop etc. the food selection and quality were also very good.
we will certainly go back for another visit.

Room Tip: Either use a golden ticket deal from the chain or pay the extra to upgrade, it's well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Caledonian Hotel Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caledonian Hotel Newcastle

Address: Osborne Road | Jesmond, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2AT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 79 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Caledonian Hotel Newcastle 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Caledonian Hotel Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caledonian Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caledonian Hotel Newcastle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.