We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice position disappointing food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Copthorne Hotel Newcastle

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Copthorne Hotel Newcastle to your Saves list
Copthorne Hotel Newcastle
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Close | Quayside, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3RT, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice position disappointing food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Another business trip to Newcastle for a one night stay in November as the Holiday Inn in Jesmond which I usually use was fully booked. The Copthorne is a 4* hotel rated by AA but it doesn't quite live up to that recommendation somehow. There is nothing wrong with this hotel exactly but neither does it offer anything special other than it is positioned on the river. My room felt dated and tired; lumpy bed, burn marks in the carpet, dusty on top of the wardrobe, sink didn't drain very well. Perhaps the most disappointing was the food - overcooked vegetables for dinner whilst breakfast was greasy. However everyone was friendly enough (usual Geordie charm and humour) and the view of the river is lovely.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,062 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    335
    277
    162
    63
See reviews for
91
359
54
287
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

My company booked me into this hotel - yet through a regular contract, so from that you can usually be assured of a good night. I wasn't disappointed.

On both occasions I've stayed here I've arrived before the 2pm checkin (just through train times) and been let into my room straight away. Facilities are great - big, comfy beds, fridges, iron etc, and plenty of space.

On this occasion the wifi wasn't letting me log on - usually I wouldn't be bothered for just one night, however I needed to do some work, so phoned reception. Within five minutes the manager was upstairs checking connections, and (from my room) on the phone to their wifi provider with my room number. Between them it was sorted within a couple of minutes - just a glitch of some sort, but fantastic service.

Breakfast was great too - and the staff very accommodating with late arrivals at the table.

Will be back when next in Newcastle or Gateshead.

Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tyne & wear
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Attended a Christmas Party Night at the Newcastle Copthorne Hotel, and wanted to share it with everyone. Can highly recommend this venue. sparking wine on arrival, and in a short time we were all seated at our tables. We did not have to pre-order our meals, but a selection from the 3 options were quickly delivered, piping hot from the kitchens to our tables. Everyone was happy with their choices and the food was delicious. There was no delay in the tables being cleared and then the party began in earnest with a variety of music for everyone. A nice point was that you could make music requests via requests sheets left on the tables, which meant everyone as catered for. A thoroughly enjoyable evening and certainly good value for money. Rooms were available to party goers for £80 which is great for the city centre, and although I did not stay overnight, members in our party did and they were very pleased with the rooms and the breakfast the following day. we will certainly be back again

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Many thanks for your great review. i'm delighted that you enjoyed your recent Christmas party here at the hotel, with particular regard to the high standard of service, quality of food, musical entertainment on the night, and the calibre of the bedrooms. Your positive feedback and recommendation of the hotel are greatly appreciated, and I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon. Thanks again, and all the best for the festive season.
Best regards,
Ken Elington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester-le-Street, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We held a family get together yesterday at the Copthorne Hotel in Newcastle and it was absolutely brilliant. From first making contact Alison and all of the team were most helpful and we were allocated a private room with Christmas decorations and a tree which we were able to place presents under for the children attending and they were all very impressed that Santa knew they were going to be there!! We chose the hotel following a very successful family wedding there earlier in the year. I would recommend the hotel for anyone's Christmas function whether it be an office or family function. The food was very good, the service was great and the value for money was excellent, my fellow guests could not believe the quality of the event for the price we paid.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Many thanks for your great review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your recent family Christmas party which was held here, with particular regard to the high standard of service, the quality of food, and value for money. Your recommendation of the hotel is greatly appreciated, and I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon. May we wish you all the best for the festive season. Thanks again.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I organised the Christmas party for all my work colleagues.

I would like to say that we all really enjoyed the night, there was positive feedback from everyone in our party. The service and food was spot on and the atmosphere was excellent. We would definitely choose the Copthorne again, it was certainly value for money.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Many thanks for your great review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your recent Christmas party night which was held here, with particular regard to the high standard of service, quality of food and value for money. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon, and wish you all the best for the festive season.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Business trip, just one night, easy to find and car parking very good, got a good rate which included free internet and car parking also breakfast ,best shopping around. A couple of minutes walk into the city centre, Hotel on the river front,great views. Stayed mid week, would be a very busy place at weekends!!.
Rooms clean but a bit tried, had a bar meal OK in the Afternoon.
Breakfast very good plenty of choice.
Would stay here again.

Room Tip: All rooms are river view. Noise from Metro can be heard, ask for a top floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Many thanks for your great review. I'm glad that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, with particular regard to the hotel location, the quality of breakfast, and the bedroom cleanliness. All bedrooms will have new curtains, lamps, tub chairs and desk chairs in place by 31 January 2015. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blace, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Room 420. Large room with great river view. Very close to bridge with small noisy trains crossing-over until 01:00... Stayed 3 nights. Night 1 not much sleep due to room being very cold. Complained. Next evening small portable radiator in centre of room. Night 2 TV didn't work. Complained. Next evening it was working. Free internet but need to ask at reçeption each day for new code - intermittent connection. Furniture in room seemed old with only one unused electrical socket. Cracked bathroom sink & floor. Renovation and better sound insulation needed.

Room Tip: Try avoiding the back & front of hotel - perhaps avoid train & car traffic noise at least. N...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Sorry to read that your perception of your stay has been a disappointing one, and that you felt the need to rate the hotel at such a level. Your review is by no means reflective of the normal standards in place here. All bedrooms will have new curtains, lamps, desk chairs and tub chairs in place by 31 January 2015. The temporary issue with the heating in this room which you mention is fully resolved.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Copthorne Hotel Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Newcastle

Address: The Close | Quayside, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3RT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.