We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exellent breakfast, good location and value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Copthorne Hotel Newcastle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Copthorne Hotel Newcastle to your Saves list
Copthorne Hotel Newcastle
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Close | Quayside, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3RT, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
SCOTTISH BORDERS
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Exellent breakfast, good location and value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We booken in to the Copthorne as we were on a Theatre trip. It's more a conference hotel but with a room on the 5th floor the views were wonderful. The staff were also friendly and helpful. At just over £100 a night for the two of us for a city centre hotel this was really good value for money. It's clear the hotel is undergoing some improvements but the room and public areas were clean and well kept. The breakfast was great value for money and lovely, well cooked food with tons of choice. Spa and pool downstairs too. Will definately book in here when we are next in Newcastle.

Room Tip: Book the 5th floor looking out on to the Tyne. 3 huge windows to see the town at night and the buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Many thanks for your positive review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, with particular regard to the standard of guest service, hotel location (all our bedrooms enjoy a river view!) and the quality of breakfast. I am sure that your balanced comments will be of benefit to other tripadvisor readers, and I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    378
    303
    169
    68
See reviews for
105
404
57
309
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We would never class this hotel as a four star. The one lift was overused and clunky. Some of the decor was dated. Rooms were fine, good location and view but we had a tv set that kept freezing and then wouldn't work and we reported it three times without anything much being done. The food was average to reasonable. The restaurant staff were very pleasant but unfortunately service seemed to be completely random and haphazard. Staff referred to us as mate, fella and darling. At one point the cream ran out and we were told the chef didn't have any more. On another occasion apple crumble was served without custard and when we asked where it was we were told the chef was still making it. Orders were taken and stuff delivered to other tables. One youngster almost dropped a tray of plates and told us " I haven't got the hang of this balancing lark yet." For quality of service we would award one out of 10. For entertainment value it would be nine out of 10

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
The hotel is in the midst of an extensive refurbishment programme at present, including refurbishment of both guest lifts (finishing late May) and new flatscreen TV's in all bedrooms (being installed w/c: 17 June). Service issues are extremely rare here, evidenced by the high volume of very positive comments on this site in this area. Your comments have been duly noted and actioned with the team. Whilst it is regrettable that your expectations have not been met on this occasion, your experience is by no means reflective of our normal standards here. I hope this clarifies the points raised.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Nice location within walking distance to the city centre. The Hotel is looking a little tired now , but is undergoing refurbishment. On site parking is good to be available. The rooms itself were large and had a balcony over looking the Tyne. I may be back, but leave it a few month to finish the uplift.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thanks you for your constructive review. As you state, the hotel is in the midst of a period of refurbishment at present. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lamorlaye, France
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

On the Tyne, in the centre of Newcastle with great views (if you have a riverside room), a stones throw from the railway station. Friendly staff, but the hotel feels a little old and in need of some TLC. The gym equipment is ancient and poorly maintained, but the pool is nice. Location is splendid.

Room Tip: higher the better and ask for a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for your constructive review. The hotel is in the midst of a period of refurbishment at present. All bedrooms have river-facing views, making the hotel unique in the city. Comments r/e: the leisure club duly noted. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrshire, Scotland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Reception staff were lovely and we were given a room on the 2nd floor. The room had a terrible stale(?smoke) smell, furniture that was extremely scratched & scored and a material tub chair that was absolutely filthy. We immediately phoned and asked for a change of room...no questions were asked and we were moved to a room on the 4th floor. This room smelt much fresher and did have a new carpet and bed which was comfy enough, however the bathroom carried the familiar smell (? stale smoke) of the previous room and a tap that had a mind of it's own whilst leaking all over the work surface and disgusting grubby grout on the tiles.......oh and a TV that is these days more commonly found on a skip!!

I know that the hotel is undergoing a renovation....and the General Manager will probably write a reply telling me this BUT......why can't rooms be refurbished completely one at a time instead of a new carpet and bed when the rest of the room is dated, tired and I dare to say disgusting with an ancient TV?

I am also angry, that we were initially given the original room which the staff obviously knew there were issues with and then only moved us to one of the refurbished rooms when we complained. For the record we booked direct with the hotel and not through a 'late deal' or external internet 'deal' provider.....I dread to think what quality of room you would be initially located in if you booked through such a medium!!

The breakfast was excellent but the big plus for the hotel was the lovely staff whom we couldn't fault, shame they have to work in such surroundings!

Room Tip: Don't stay until the refurbishment is finished !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
On the positive side, thank you for your kind comments regarding the standard of guest service. The physical product of the hotel, however, has clearly not met your expectations. As you state, the hotel is in the midst of a period of refurbishment at present, but these projects work on a basis of key items at a time eg. new carpets have already gone into most of the bedrooms last year with the remaining two corridors imminent, brand new beds went into all bedrooms in March this year, and new flatscreen TV's go into all bedrooms in June this year (I would challenge that an old TV warrants your comment above, however). Cleanliness is normally a key strength of the hotel. There is a great deal of work and investment underway within the building, and whilst it is regrettable that your expectations have not been met on this occasion, your stay is not reflective of our normal standards here. I hope this clarifies the points raised.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

Have stayed here numerous times before for work, but this visit prompted me to write a review.

The location is excellent for the city centre, with everything walkable (albeit uphill!), including a good selection of restaurants and bars.

The rooms though are extremely dated now - my colleague's sink tap broke, and mine barely worked. Beds not particularly comfortable.

We arrived for breakfast at 8.45am on a Monday morning, and found the restaurant empty and the staff re-laying tables for lunch. Seeing as breakfast ran until 9.30 we were well in time, but were made to feel like we were an inconvenience arriving at that time. Breakfast selection was plain and quite dull.

And the gym is so small that its nearly pointless. There was only room for one person to use the weights/core area at any moment. And one of the two treadmills was broken.

I would only stay here for the quayside location, if you're not fussy about quality of the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for your constructive review. The hotel is in the midst of an extensive refurbishment programme at present, with imminent works concentrating on installation of flatscreen TV's throughout (June 2013) and re-carpeting of the remaining bedrooms (imminent). The beds are also brand new top of the range Hypnos beds. Feedback on breakfast service duly noted, normally a key strength of the hotel. We also await delivery of a new treadmill at present in the leisure club. Hope this clarifies the points raised.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is right on the river and has great views, which are maximised by some rooms having panoramic windows. It's about a 3 minute walk from Newcastle city centre and 10 minutes walk from the railway station.

The staff are welcoming, friendly and very helpful. Stephen in the restaurant was great!

The breakfast was the usual hotel buffet and despite the hotel being busy, everything was topped up and tables were cleared quickly. We didn't eat any other meals there. There's a huge choice of restaurants nearby.

The rooms were in desperate need of refurbishment. The beds were really hard. The pillows were like concrete. This hotel markets itself as a 4* establishment, but even basic hotels have a choice of pillows and comfortable beds. Our hot water was scalding hot and despite being reported was not acted upon during our 3 night stay. Therefore showering was a hazardous experience. The bathroom tap required a degree in engineering to work out how it functioned and was obviously broken. Again, this was reported but not acted on. The sink was cracked. There was a lampshade missing, so housekeeping thought it was acceptable to leave a bare bulb in a 4* hotel. There were two tiny opening windows, which were so high up, required a ladder or chair to reach. However, some rooms had balcony doors, ask for one of those. The weather was cool and cloudy when we were there, but our room was hot and stuffy. The aircon was noisy and completely ineffective.

There was only one lift functioning whilst we were there and whilst it's appreciated essential maintenance needs to go on, it did prove to be a problem during check out time!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for your constructive review, with particular regard to your positive comments on the standard of guest service. The hotel is in the midst of an extensive refurbishment programme at present, which includes upgrading of the guest lifts (completing w/c: 13 May 2013) and flatscreen TV's (being installed w/c: 17 June 2013). Comments noted regarding the bathroom taps, but the comment regarding the water temperature issue is disputed (full controls are in place in line with national H&S water temperature regulations, as well as thermostatic controls). The bedroom temperature comfort system has also been very recently upgraded. I hope this clarifies the points raised, and that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel again.
Bst regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Copthorne Hotel Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Newcastle

Address: The Close | Quayside, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3RT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.