We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel in need of refurbishment. Far short of 4 star.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Copthorne Hotel Newcastle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Copthorne Hotel Newcastle to your Saves list
Copthorne Hotel Newcastle
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Close | Quayside, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3RT, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Rogiet, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A hotel in need of refurbishment. Far short of 4 star.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

My wife and I have just spent our 20th wedding anniversary at this hotel on 1/2 October 2012. We had previously stayed at the Hotel approximately 3 years ago and had a wonderful experience/visit hence the reason we returned. I can only reinforce the comments regarding the rooms being very dated and the bathroom tiles were dirty. The bath panel was rotten in the corners and all in all the room was far short of 4 star. We were staying on the 5th floor (Room 506) and had therefore paid extra for the room so in our opinion the standard was quite a shock.
Aside from the room the standard of cleanliness by house keeping was found to be sub standard. On arrival we had previous guests half empty water bottle in the fridge. We discovered this around 6pm on the first day and reported this to reception as we left for a night out in Newcastle at 7pm. I for some reason expected to return to the hotel that evening and the items to be removed and replenished however this was not the case. The following day we spent the morning/early afternoon shopping in Newcastle and returned to our room at 2pm. The house keeping service had been into our room as we had new towels however the bed had been left in the same state as we had left it first thing, the rubbish remained in the fridge and we found a hair in the sink. You might think this is a petty comment but I am only trying to emphasise that the basin had obviously not been cleaned. At this point my wife had had enough of the poor standard and personally attended reception (again) to complain. The day duty manager attended the room shortly after and was very apologetic to our highlighted observations regarding the hygiene standards. At this point we were offered a free evening meal but we declined. For two reasons: one the restaurant was being refurbished (new carpet) that evening which meant we had to eat in an area within the main foyer. Hardly a romantic setting overlooking reception, entrance to the bar and the guest lifts. Secondly we were so disappointed with the hotel standards we choose to eat outside of the hotel.
We received another apology that evening at 1030pm after returning to the hotel after our 20th anniversary meal. It came in the form of a phone call from reception where they had a bottle of sparkling wine ready to serve in the room. I ask you why could that not have been provided in the early evening and who wants to drink a full bottle of wine at that time of night?
All in all I think the hotel is outdated and far short of 4 star. The reception are very poor communicators as they should have notified house keeping that there was rubbish left in the room which would have given the maid a chance to sort. Considering the maid on the 5th floor was supposed to be one of the star members of staff the standard of cleanliness was far short of 4 star.
To remedy the situation we had an offer of a evening meal in the foyer and a bottle of sparkling wine at 1030pm. To say it was a disappointing 20th anniversary is an understatement. Thankfully the city of Newcastle and the fine restaurant we found compensated for our experience at The Copthorne but we will look at the likes of the Hilton for future visits.

Room Tip: Location fine just the quality of the room was lacking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for your comments. Your review highlights a personal perception of what has clearly been a disappointing stay for you, which is regrettable. In fairness, every effort was made to rectify this matter to your satisfaction whilst you were here, and there is some divergence in our respective perspectives. I can assure you, and readers of this site, that the points raised are by no means reflective of the standards here at the hotel. Bedroom cleanliness, in particular, is normally one of the key strengths of the hotel.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,054 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    332
    275
    162
    62
See reviews for
90
359
53
283
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Stayed here on business, it was only a 5 min walk to the main town centre, had a large car park, decent leisure facilities (I had a look but didn't use anything). Bar is nice and large, ate in the restaurant, decent steak.

Had the Connoisseur room on the 5th floor, really comfy bed, spacious room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Many thanks for your positive review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, with particular regard to the hotel location, the food and beverage experience and the quality of the bedroom in which you stayed on the 5th floor. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

Went to the copthorne for the afternoon tea with the wife and 4 other couples and it was great the choice of sweet and savoury food that was served was more than enough even for the most heartiest of eaters and throw in a free half bottle of wine well sorted,the staff where very polite and nothing seemed to much trouble for them,it was a great start to a great day would highly reccomend it.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Many thanks for your positive review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your recent visit to the hotel for afternoon tea, with particular regard to the standard of guest service and the quality of food served. We're always keen to promote the afternoon teas here, as we believe that they offer great value for money, and really appreciate your recommendation. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Currently here on business for a week. As many other reviews have said the rooms are in need of a make over, carpets are worn, old CRT TV and furniture passed its best. I have noticed the rooms next to me have had new carpets fitted this week which should help freshen them up. The reception staff seem helpful and friendly and the buffet breakfast is nice. I have used the pool a few times and the changing areas are in need of repair, also the jacuzzi is no longer in service but the area seems clean. I would stay here again, beds are very comfy and the view is great, also some nice bars and restaurants along the quayside but be prepared to climb a hill to get in to the town. Would like to see it after the refurbishment as I think it could be back up to its 4* rating with a bit of work.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for your constructive review. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay overall, with particular regard to the standard of guest service and the quality of breakfast. As you spotted last week, we have just commenced an extensive programme of refurbishment, which includes new carpeting throughout most of the hotel and which will impact positively on the physical quality of the building. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arbroath, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

Enjoyed our weekend at this hotel. Staff were all very friendly and helpful . We were booked for bed and breakfast but did have dinner in hotel . Food was of a high standard and well presented. Buffet style breakfast was excellent with a wide selection to choose from. Our bedroom had a fantastic view of the river and was a good size . The only let down of this hotel was the small bed . Definitely will visit this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Many thanks for your positive review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, with particular regard to the high standard of guest service, quality of food, breakfast presentation and the hotel location. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Rooms are way past sell by date. Management keep referring to planned refurbishments but no evidence as yet. Despite showing a confirmed reservation, hotel had no record of it. Senior receptionist Alison was complacent and displayed poor attitude, others were very friendly and helpful. This hotel at weekends is really a base for hen and stag parties, so it is not condusive to a relaxed, civilised weekend. During the week, it is a standard business hotel. Location is excellent for river views and partying along quays, but you need to be fit to walk up the hills into the centre of town. Beware of very high weekend prices, much too high for the area. Many better options locally.

Stayed September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for your comments. Your feedback highlights a personal perception of what has been a disappointing stay, which is regrettable. I cam assure you (and readers of this site) that your experience is by no means reflective of the standards in place here. It is very rare (as evidenced by the positive feedback on these pages) for guest service to be an issue, as it is normally the biggest strength of the hotel. The refurbishment programme is already well underway, with the re-carpeting phase having commenced on 17 September in the public areas, and moving up to the bedrooms at the time of writing. The combined programme will make a big impact on the physical quality of the hotel.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed here when taking son to University. Asked for a twin overlooking the river, but was offered a double on arrival. They found us a twin overlooking the car park and with an old pair of shoes in it.
However, despite poor housekeeping, the front desk were very friendly, the beds very comfortable for a hotel, the location fabulous and the breakfast very good.
Do not go here for the spa facilities, whch really need renovating before being worth visiting for pleasure.

Room Tip: Be specific about what you want. Facing the river, especially.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for your constructive comments following your recent stay with us. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay overall, with particular regard to the standard of guest service, hotel location, and quality of breakfast. The housekeeping has clearly not been to our normal standard, however, as bedroom cleanliness is normally a key strength of the hotel. With regard to the leisure facilities, these are under review at present as to the best way of taking this element of the business forward. I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Copthorne Hotel Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Newcastle

Address: The Close | Quayside, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3RT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.