We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, shame about the breakfast!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Copthorne Hotel Newcastle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Copthorne Hotel Newcastle to your Saves list
Copthorne Hotel Newcastle
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Close | Quayside, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3RT, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Mid Calder, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, shame about the breakfast!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

Nice hotel situated on the Quayside with great view over the river.
The hotel is in decent condition with car parking in a multi - although it was £5 a day parking.
It's not a cheap hotel and I feel the parking could have been thrown in - but no matter.
Staff very nice - friendly and attentive, and room was excellent with all the usual frills in place.
Had dinner on first night and the food was excellent. Reasonable prices, with usual steep prices for wine!
The breakfast though was a huge letdown.
The cooked 'traditional' served from a buffet consisted of cold unappetising food which looked as if it had been lying there cooling for a few hours. The 'candles' heating the tureens weren't up to the job.
Quite simply the worst fry-up I've ever had.

Had a croissant too - which I reckon was a day or two old.

Such a pity. The rest of the stay was really enjoyable.

Room Tip: All the rooms face the river so great view guaranteed - we upgraded to the connoisseur rooms (5th fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    377
    303
    169
    68
See reviews for
105
403
57
309
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
England
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

Tried Sunday lunch - starters were insipid (pate fridge cold, toast WET having been in chiller on plate, mine a smoky chicken salad I could have bought at a Tesco express for two quid and it would have been served more imaginatively!) Chilean Merlot wouldn't have been my first choice - especially at twenty-odd quid - and indeed it wasn't my first choice, but they'd run out of that hardly rare or hard-to-source marvel the 'Cotes du Rhone'! (presumably in all the bars as well?!). Inertia kept us there as a plate of overcooked vegetables and some grey meat - thinly sliced, fatty (and apparently medium-rare topside, though I'd beg to differ) were plonked in front of us. The 'everything ok for you there?' question, so beloved of shabby places wishing to forestall complaints, and conclusive proof of low aspirations was much in evidence. (Try 'How's your meal?' sounds almost as though you mean it then!) Puddings were inedible - the cherry pie smelled of Play Doh (which may explain the lumps in the custard?) and the cheesecake was a long-term resident escaped from a sweet carousel and returned whence it came unmolested. Once told to revert to the two course plan, the staff gtariously made a fuss of offering us the chance to be charged only for two courses (Doh!) as though bestowing a favour. Also asked my details so the manager could contact me - the absence of a manager on the day may explain a lot. (They already had my details from when I booked, and i wouldn't return anyway!) Ah well, live and learn. If you liked school dinners, this may be right up your passage, although you'll still be dsappointed by the service and the general air of not giving one. Meh!

Room Tip: You don't have to aim this low!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jarrow
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

Prime location for both city and quayside. The staff were pleasant and very helpful. I would really recommend a meal in the restaurant.

Room Tip: All rooms have a river view but the suites are fab. We stayed on the upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

Supposed to stay at hotel for one night due to been doubled booked at another hotel. On arrival hotel seemed nice but as soon as i got to my room i knew i didnt want to stay. The room was very dated, the bathroom was dirty as there was black in between the tiles and stains on the walls. The sink had a very large crack in it and the hinges on the wardrobe door were broken and cracked!! The seat for the dressing table was torn and the room was generally tatty.We had a view of the quayside but were very close to the bridge which the trains crossed which meant there was a loud noise of the train passing every couple of minutes. After around 10 minutes we decided to leave the hotel. We even asked for change of rooms but the hotel manager said there is no point as all rooms the same and each one will be dated.Supposed to be 4* how on eartrh i do not know!There is no way I would have had a comfortable night here. Heres a tip if your looking to stay at this hotel....DONT!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham City
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

This was once a grand hotel overlooking the river tyne.
We could watch the fishermen from our river view room. Just a little walk into town for all of the restaurants and bars
The only criticism that can be levied is the somewhat dated decor of our room

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

Our first impression was very good. The receptionist was extremely friendly and although the room we were allocated was a little basic for the price, the fantastic view of the river made up for it. Toby Jones (British Actor) was staying at the hotel at the same time and it made my husbands day!!! Bed was comfortable and breakfast was substancial. We got a discount as we were part of a wedding party - don't think I would have been so happy if we'd had to pay full price though as although it was a really nice hotel it isn't anything special. Staff were all lovely but we were a bit upset to find a £5 car park charge had been added to the bill.

Room Tip: We were very close to the metro line and did have some disturbance but the metros couldn't be he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

I visited The Copthorne with my mum for a spa day - which we got at a very good price on living social. I am pleased that we did not pay the full amount for the day as the facilities were most definitely not up to standard. I must point out that the treatments we received, and the girls who provided them were second to none however. The whole day was let down by the dark, dank and dismal changing facilities, the broken loungers, the missing ceiling tiles in the otherwise nice pool area, need I go on. The treatment rooms were cold and poorly laid out - at one point my therapist had to leave the room to get fresh water as there were no facilities in the room. Having since spoken to a friend at work who also had the same deal and went earlier in the year it seems there have been no changes - the broken lounger was there then - and it's surely a health hazard!

I would sorely recommend that you don't bother with a spa day here - which is a huge shame as, like I said before, the girls who provided the treatments were absolutely lovely and are sorely let down by the facilities provided for them to work in.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Copthorne Hotel Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Newcastle

Address: The Close | Quayside, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3RT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.