We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great staff, don't expect great rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Copthorne Hotel Newcastle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Copthorne Hotel Newcastle to your Saves list
Copthorne Hotel Newcastle
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Close | Quayside, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3RT, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great location, great staff, don't expect great rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

We stayed here mid week for two nights and I was actually surprised by how comfortable we were, after reading all the reviews on the site. We had booked a standard double but were upgraded to a suite- a huge room with a bay window looking out over the river (all the rooms have river views). Soft furnishings were very dated though in good nick, but the furniture was definitely on its last legs and the room was generally not well equipped. There were one or two minor irritations (such as no hooks in the bathroom, no alarm clock, and more annoyingly it proved unbelievably difficult to get hold of a hairdryer - very primitive for a 4 star we thought). The only real problem with the room though was the small bed - slightly smaller than a normal 4' 6" one. We decdied to stick with it, having been shown a couple of other rooms with larger beds, and were glad we did. Though cosy, it was very comfortable and it is the quietest inner city hotel room I have ever stayed in- no traffic or people noise at all, just occasional rumbling from the metro.
Breakfast was good, though expensive. The staff are very friendly and helpful and from that point of view it feels more like staying in a small family run place rather than a big chain- they just don't seem to have enough delegated authority to make small improvements. Whilst there's no WiFi in standard rooms you can take a laptop down to the bar and buy an internet card -not too expensive and it was a fast connection. We didn't use the health suite so can't comment on that. Overall, we enjoyed our stay more than we expected to, but unfortunately because of the poorly equipped rooms it doesn't feel like good value.

Room Tip: Club rooms have kingsize beds but feel cramped
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopthorneNewcastle, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, June 13, 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review of the Copthorne Hotel Newcastle. I am pleased that you found your stay to be comfortable and that you appreciated the upgrade to a Suite.

It was also great to read that your room was one of the quietest inner city hotel rooms you have stayed in; we feel that the hotel is ideally situated in the quieter area of the City.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay as a whole and have taken on board your comments on the fabric of the hotel. For your information we do provide hairdryers in all our bedrooms, we will be carrying out a full check of the rooms to ensure that these are in place. We apologise for any inconvenience this caused you.

The bedrooms on our 1st and 5th floors all have king size beds so it may be on a further visit you may wish to consider requesting to be allocated into one of these rooms.

We do hope that you will return to the hotel and thank you once again for your comments which are very much appreciated.

Kind regards



Craig Campbell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,064 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    335
    278
    163
    63
See reviews for
91
361
54
287
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

The Copthorne is in a fantastic location, with great views, close to the Quayside bars and restaurants. However, the rooms are very tired, a very small double bed, in my opinion the rooms at a Premier Inn are far better!
We had a great time in Newcastle and would stay here again, but only if we got the same deal on the rooms, I find it hard to believe they charge £200+ per night for these rooms. I advise against using room service,unless you want to pay over £5 for beans on toast !
And please, invest in new T.V's !!..they dont cost much these days, even a Travelodge has a flat screen TV !!!..It spoils the room,and it looks VERY cheap..
My only other negative comment was to see the bar selling alcohol to a group of already tanked-up,loud revellers at 9am !. This spoilt the whole experience for us.

Room Tip: Book well in advance and get the discount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopthorneNewcastle, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, June 13, 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Copthorne Hotel Newcastle. We also believe that the hotel has a fantastic location with great views on the Quayside.

I am pleased that you had a great time in Newcastle and you would stay with us again. I have taken on board your comments on the room and we will ensure that these are taken into consideration for any future planned developments.

I do hope that your experience will not deter you from returning to the hotel sometime in the future.

Kind regards



Craig Campbell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

Forget what the websites say this hotel is definately not 4 star! The staff team are but they are fighting a losing battle once any guest sees the state of the rooms. I remember thinking the last time I stayed here that the rooms could do with a lick of paint, well it seems that certainly hasnt happened and Id be surprised if the hotel even have a maintainance team. The first room we were given was a disgrace, the furniture looked like it was 100 years old, the double bed was two singles pushed together and and the carpet was completely thread bare, you could make out more of the underlay than the pattern on the carpet. Needless to say we asked to be moved. The hotel staff were fine and moved us imediately. This time we were given a room equal in size to a large shoebox . The carpets were coming away from the walls and ruffled up, the tiles in the bathroom were smashed and filled in with cement, the same battered standard of furniture as the previous room and the mini bar had been removed. After speaking to reception we were told this was a standard double (we know its not after our previous stay) what it seemed to be was the bedroom from one of the suites as there were locked interconnecting doors. We were told a minibar would be sent up, we're still waiting for it to arrive now! After accepting every room in the hotel was probably going to be in the same state of disrepair we decided to make the best of it and get on with our break. We wont be staying here again until the rooms have had a refurb as there are plenty of 2 and 3 star options of a better standard. The hotel management seriously need to inspect the rooms as the public spaces and staff are 4 star but the rooms are nothing more than a cheap B and B! If you need to stay in Newcastle book the Hilton and when you arrive have a look accross the river and take pity on the poor people who have booked to stay at the Copthorne!!!!!!!

Room Tip: email ahead making hotel aware its a celebration
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

I spent a day at the spa at Copthorne hotel on Saturday and was very disappointed. I had organised the trip for a friends Hen party and as most of the hens were students was trying to keep it cheap so the price of £25 for spa facilities and lunch seemed like a good deal. Especially as the website made the place look lovely.

I was very wrong - we would have been better off at the local leisure centre.

When I called up the reception told me she would keep the afternoon free incase we wanted treatments, when I arrived i found there were only slots from 3.30, with 5 people wanting treatments and dinner booked at 7.30 some of us had to miss out.

Next came lunch, and although the food was lovely the service was lacking. The staff complained about the time we arrived (1.30 as arranged in advance), we had to go to the bar to order drinks, and ask twice for water and the TV was noisly showing the football. Not exactly the restaurant I had imagined.

Then back to the spa, which was pretty run down and a bit grotty. There was a sanitary towel wrappers on the floor, we all got changed and headed into the pool area. What a disappointment, there were 2 plastic sun loungers 2 tables and a some plastic chairs, not the luxury spa i had planned. They were also all taken up by another hen party. So we decided to sit in the jaccozzi, which we were told doesn't do proper bubbles!

Finally after a hen getting trapped in the loo, another hen being disappointed with her manicure and screaming kids in the pool we got ready to leave. Only to be told there were no towels and we had to wait for them to be brought over from the hotel.

yuck yuck yuck!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopthorneNewcastle, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, May 16, 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your spa day disappointment.

Firstly I was pleased to read that you found the food to be lovely when you had lunch in the hotel; I am sorry that the service was not up to our normal standard and I have addressed this with the team.

With regards to your feedback on your spa day. Your review has been passed to Fitness Express who manage the Club for the hotel and they have been asked to personally respond to your review, alternatively if you would like to contact the Leisure Club Manager directly at the hotel he will look into the issues you have raised.

Thank you once again for your review which is much appreciated.

Kind regards



Craig Campbell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

The hotel is in a lovely location overlooking the river and our room was spacious and clean. The hotel was very quiet. Our room was not ready for check in at 2pm but we didn't mind as we went to the nearby metro centre for some shopping. The local bars and restaurants in the centre of town are just a short taxi ride away (approx £4) and there were always taxis waiting outside which is handy. Staff were very friendly. The hotel is near a Lloyds bar so if you don't want to pay for the expensive hotel breakfasts I'd recommend the short walk to Lloyds. To walk back from town is about 20 mins. The hotel is useful if you're driving to newcastle as the car park is safe and is on site.

Room Tip: ask for a view overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopthorneNewcastle, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, May 16, 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your recent stay at the hotel.

I am delighted you enjoyed the quiet location and the facilities nearby.

It was also very pleasing to read that your room was spacious and clean and that the staff were friendly.

I do hope that your experience will encourage you to stay with us sometime soon.

Thank you once again for your review which is much appreciated.

Kind regards


Craig Campbell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathgate
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011

The hotel is definitely not been refurbished since the 90 s but apart from that I had a great 2 night stay . There was a slight problem with the tv in the room but the staff could not do enough to resolve the problem . The bar staff especially the woman from London was Superb ! The weather made the weekend even better and I would recommend this hotel !

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopthorneNewcastle, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, May 16, 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your recent stay at the hotel.

We are delighted to read you had a great weekend at the hotel and the weather was good.

We are sorry about the problem with the TV in the bedroom but are pleased to read that this was soon rectified.

Thank you for your recommendation; I look forward to welcoming you back sometime in the future.

Kind regards



Craig Campbell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011 via mobile

The positives are very comfortable bed and good quality linen. The bedroom was tired, and the corners, light fittings etc needed a good clean. The bathroom was tiny and showing it's age, despite the fact it was supposed to be a suite, but functional. Breakfast was a disappointment with poor cooked buffet and diffident staff. Am sure Newcastle has better to offer.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopthorneNewcastle, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, May 17, 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your recent stay at the hotel.

Thank you for outlining the positives of your stay; I was glad to read that you found your bed to be comfortable and the linen of good quality.

I am sorry that you were disappointed with breakfast - I will be addressing this with our Head Chef.

I do hope that you will consider staying with us sometime in the future.

Kind regards




Craig Campbell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Copthorne Hotel Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Newcastle

Address: The Close | Quayside, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3RT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.