We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic service and location but needs decorating.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Whites Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Whites Hotel to your Saves list
Whites Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   38-42 Osborne Road | Jesmond, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2AL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic service and location but needs decorating.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

This hotel is the perfect place for stag and hen parties or just groups of friends.
The location is fantastic and the staff there can not do enough for you.
Special thanks to Paris and Luke who where very helpful on our trip.
The rooms could do with some renovating but in the grand scheme of things this did not ruin our trip in any way.
The bar and resutaurant are great value for money and a very friendly atmosphere.

Would 100% stay at this hotel again. And would defintiely recommend to friends.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    43
    31
    19
    57
See reviews for
14
35
16
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

stayed here on a Wednesday night for a family reunion , phoned to ask for direction to the hotel was given directions by a female receptionist. when we arrived we were greeted by a friendly young lady, the check in process was very good and we were given a 10% discount card for their bar which was nice. When we checked in our room we were not impressed room was way too hot. after an hour my partner informed the receptionist about our room being too hot , she did try her best to turn off the radiators in our room however it did not work she kindly offered us another room couple of doors down the corridor and we accepted, the second room was nice and cool however the standards of the room was still very disappointing, walls and curtains very old and dirty. the receptionist phoned our room after 10minutes to see if everything was ok and we reassured her it was all fine, we were asked if we'd like any drinks on the house which I thought was very nice of her however we were ready to go out so couldn't accept the drinks offer but we appreciated it a lot. we enjoyed our night with the family and had a nice time in Newcastle, could have been better if the hotel met some basic standards within the rooms though!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Booked this hotel because of a deal, but even at the relatively low price (though 20 pound Sat supplement and no breakfast included) I would not recommend it.
It is in need of renovation and maintenance - light bulbs out, light fitting missing, bath seal gap, hair dryer broken, shower goes hot and cold. Bathroom extractor not working. Windows dirty, but maybe just as well because area at rear very unattractive!
Room not serviced - coffee cups, bin - after first night. Reception staff Ok but not particularly welcoming.
Evening meal in bar was dire (tiny overcooked fish portion) and the 'free' wine like Ribena. Didn't risk breakfast!
Probably most important if you want a good night's sleep - this hotel seems to be a hen/stag venue - groups returning noisily through the night and on one night some loud music till late. (Our room was 220 on staircase).
Another guest complained of loud plant noise near his room.

On the plus side - quite good location for walking into City, and free parking.

Room Tip: Better value from one of the modern budget chains, I think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I recently purchased this through groupon as a treat for my fiances birthday (some treat this was!),thinking we were getting a bargain at £65 for a 2 night stay including an evening meal & glass of wine each,as appossed to £214.90 which it should have cost (unreal).On arrival we were given room 112,this room is not fit for even a dog to stay in,it smelt so bad of urine weve never smelt anything like it!my fiance complained & receptionist appeared helpful but said they were no other double rooms available for that weekend,so was then put in room 217 which was 3 single beds (2 pushed together),this room was in no better condition than the previous but at least it didnt have the offensive odour,so we reluctantly accepted the dreary room.We then missed the evening meal as they stopped serving food at 7.30!when we were in bed unbelievably one of the single beds collapsed on us,the base actually looked like it was 'flat pack',needless to say we had a sleepless night as were then both in one of the 3 safest single beds!We complained to a differant receptionist the next day & she then moved us to room 115 (which suprisingly was a double bed after been told they were none available that weekend).After taking our luggage to the room we went out for 4hrs & on return,2 guys informed us it was there room & that they had been told to pack our stuff up & take it to reception!!!this is certainly NOT acceptable to allow guests to do that!!we then yet again had serious complaints to make & was then told they could only offer us room 112 (the original slum) or 217 (the one with the broken bed),then we were informed there was no food left...In all this chaos of complaining,there were other guests complaining about similar situations!also after talking to some of them we come to realise our stay wasn't unique!...One tip-Don't be fooled by the staff just because they 'appear' to be nice & helpful,our experience proved otherwise,they are only experienced at avoiding the truth!...We can't understand how this is still open,it seriously needs shutting down,what with 'unsafe' beds,cracked tiles,radiators hanging off the wall,plug sockets hanging off,badly stained mattresses,bad odours,the list is endless!!!...All the positive feedback on here is obviously from fabricated guests!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Dangerous plug socket hanging off. Dirty towels, wind howling thru window, leaking radiator making floor wet through, holes in walls/door, cracked tiles on bathroom floor, dirty curtains & skirting boards.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed for 1 night for a hen party, it was awful, we had room 217, the wind howled through the windows all night as they don't fit in the frame, the radiator leaked water all over the floor and made constant gurgling noises, the plug socket was hanging out the wall, there were patched up holes, dirty towels and thick dust on the curtains, all in all I would not recommend this as a dog kennel never mind a hotel, however I will say that the staff were very pleasant,

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Myself and my partner recently purchased a groupon for this hotel. We were travelling from Belfast and got the groupon at a great price. (deal 2 nights stay with dinner and a glass of wine £65) We then paid and extra £20 for using it at the weekend. getting 2 nights stay and dinner for £85 is still very reasonable. after travelling to the hotel and seeing what its like i think that is an all round average price based on this hotel. Paying the full price of £214 i would of been extremely disappointed. the hotel is glen and modern downstairs in the restaurant area. hallways and stairs could do with a refurb and the rooms are OK.. DO NOT eat in this hotel. food may be extremely cheap but it tastes horrendous. staff are very friendly and helpful. all in all its somewhere to put your head in a good location. VERY studenty and loud i wouldn't recommend for elderly people.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Whites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whites Hotel

Address: 38-42 Osborne Road | Jesmond, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2AL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Whites Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whites Hotel is a licensed 36 bedroom hotel, family run providing good facilities and service at budget prices. All rooms are en-suite with Flat screen colour television with up to 30 channels, radio, central heating, direct dial telephone, tea/coffee making facilities, hair dryers and irons are situated in all rooms. Free wireless internet is available through the hotel and rooms with a computer for guest use at reception foyer.The cocktail lounge provides meals at a very good prices from 12 noon till 2100hrs Monday through Thursday and 12 noon till 1900hrs Friday through Sunday. The hotel is situated in Jesmond, 1.5 miles from the centre of Newcastle upon Tyne known for its vibrant night life and a short walk away from the beautiful picturesque Jesmond Dene. The breathtaking North East Coast is also only 20 minutes by Metro, with stops at Tynemouth, Cullercoats and Whitley Bay, who can resist a day trip to the sandy beaches of the North East.The hotel has a private car park situated to the rear of the building which is constantly monitored by CCTV.Outside area for smoking and dining available.Lively bar on the premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Whites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whites Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.