We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Newcastle Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Newcastle Airport to your Saves list
Novotel Newcastle Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ponteland Road | Kenton, Newcastle upon Tyne NE3 3HZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Barnoldswick, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel a few times in the last year the rooms are a nice size and clean ,although the swimming pool isn't massive its always clean and well maintained in general the staff are very helpful and always available. Food is available at the hotel or if you don't fancy that theres a tobys carvery pub next door which our son loves ! to sum up a nice clean inexpensive hotel, we will be back to Newcastle later this year and will hopefully be booking in here.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHodgson, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
"Many thanks for your kind review. I am glad my team made your stay enjoyable. [General Manager Sheena Hodgson]
"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    328
    132
    49
    28
See reviews for
240
182
61
152
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

We booked directly on the novotel website two rooms for a Sunday night.
We managed to get an upgrade to an executive room for just £4 and breakfast at little more than half price
The hotel is well located for the airport/town/metro centre and has plenty of parking (shame about the £5 per day parking. But cheaper than many other hotels)
Both rooms were on the 3rd floor and were exactly as described with nespresso coffee maker/slippers/gowns and coffee for the nespresso provided!
Great modern bathroom with bath and shower and separate WC.
Room was spotless and had nice little touches like moveable desk space and safe.
Good quality breakfast with lots of choice and even a pancake maker!
Nice spacious lounge and bar area.
Would visit again without hesitation

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHodgson, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
"Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards, [General Manager Sheena Hodgson]
"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Stayed here for one night as a late booking. Very impressed with spacious room and separate bathroom/toilet, and the modern decor. Good parking facilities. Reception team were efficient and pleasant. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHodgson, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
"Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards, [General Manager Sheena Hodgson]
"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Stopped here for 1 night en route to Northumberland so the children could go on the Metro the following day. Booked through lastminute.com which would appear to have been a bargain - £50 for a family of 4 including breakfast. Room was adequate, with double bed and sofa bed, and having the toilet separate from the bathroom was a bonus.
Breakfast was amazing - usual cooked assortment, fresh pineapple, watermelon, meats, cheeses, pancake machine, baguettes etc. Close to Newcastle, and local Tesco so we could buy the essentials for subsequent journey to Wooler.
Easy to find, but downside of having to pay £5 to park for the night.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHodgson, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
"Thanks for your review. I am glad you had a good stay with us. Please note - if you book your room on accor.com, you will never find a cheaper rate elswhere - look out for our special promotions.
See you on your next trip hopefully! Kind regards, [General Manager Sheena Hodgson )
"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised by the Novotel Newcastle. First, it was easy to find by car and had ample parking. Our room was a standard Novotel room, however the shower/tub room had been recently renovated in a modern style that was clean and inviting.
Our room faced the back of the hotel towards the highway, but it was not too loud and would have been quiet if we had wanted to keep the window closed. As well, we did not hear any noise from other rooms at night, even over a weekend.
Traveling on a budget we appreciated the picnic tables and garden in the rear, as we were able to eat our meals there purchased from a large Tesco a 10 min walk away.
Location wise, we liked being close to the highway for easy access to Hadrians Wall, Durham and Whitely Bay Beaches. As well, with the metro within a 10 minute walk, getting into Newcastle without a car was a breeze. The metro tickets were easily purchased by machine at the station and the ride in was not long at all.
I would recommend anyone staying in Newcastle to consider the Novotel.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHodgson, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
"Thank you very much for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Novotel Newcastle Airport. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, [General Manager Sheena Hodgson]
"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Durham
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Stayed here for one night after a work social gathering
Arrived at hotel but parked in travelodge car park as had previously read £5 to park which I think is most unfair, checked in with ease and found room
Room was superior queen with one queen bed and one queen sofa bed and free wifi. Very clean, spacious and modern....huge walk in shower which was magnificent
Used the leisure facilities straight away gym is small on second floor but did the job
Pool is lovely with enough room for lengths or to relax, steam room lovely also
Had a couple of minor problems first being upon going to make tea looked in the kettle to find it stuffed with leaves! Reported to reception it took twenty minutes to get a new one. Second problem was when using the built in hair dryer it blew up and consequently shorted all electrical sockets in the room, unfixable at the time so reception moved us rooms slightly inconvenient but ended up same floor, same type of room and free drinks vouchers as a sorry so made up for it
Didn't eat breakfast as at £13.95 each that's a bit pricey instead just ate a bacon sandwich at the bar which was yummy and filled with bacon comes with a coffee for £4.10.....bargain
An all round pleasant stay and would be more than happy to return

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHodgson, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
"Thanks for your review. I am glad you had a good stay with us - apologies for the technical issue.. See you on your next trip hopefully! Kind regards, [General Manager Sheena Hodgson )
"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Newcastle Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Newcastle Airport

Address: Ponteland Road | Kenton, Newcastle upon Tyne NE3 3HZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Novotel Newcastle Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Newcastle Airport offers state of the art facilities with stylish new design. Located 5 min drive from Newcastle International Airport now offering shuttle service and flight information screen. 126 en suite rooms including accessible rooms andinternet. Elements Bar and Restaurant. Ideally placed for conference and events with 8 rooms (200 persons) and leisure suite with indoor heated pool, sauna, gym. Easy reach of city centre night life, Metro Centre shopping and the Northumberland coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, ACCOR, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Novotel Newcastle Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Newcastle Airport Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Novotel Hotel Newcastle Airport
Novotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Upon Tyne Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Newcastle Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.