We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Newcastle Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Newcastle Airport to your Saves list
Novotel Newcastle Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ponteland Road | Kenton, Newcastle upon Tyne NE3 3HZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Comfortable and Friendly

Novotel Newcastle Airport – Ponteland Road NE3 3HZ

This lovely modern hotel has large rooms with comfortable beds.
There is a separate toilet and separate bathroom to each room. The standard of decoration in the rooms is good, and there is plenty of room to move around, and store the suitcase.

The restaurant serves excellent quality food, and an ‘Indian Cuisine’ is also offered, as well as the usual English Menu.
Main courses start at £9, with steak being £16. Beer is around £4.50 for a 330ml bottle, Sparkling Water is £3.50 a bottle.

The en suite bathrooms have very deep baths which can be tricky to get out of.

This Hotel could be of a very high standard, if a little extra push with maintenance were implemented. (eg:- remote bath plug; the odd blown bulb; some door keys faulty)
All things being considered, this is a good Hotel to stay in for a short time.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHodgson, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
"Many thanks for your kind review. I am glad my team made your stay enjoyable and equally pleased to receive some very honest and constructive feedback . I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back. [General Manager Sheena Hodgson]
"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    357
    142
    53
    29
See reviews for
256
202
63
167
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
north yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We stayed for one night at the end of May with our sons aged 7 and 12. The staff were very welcoming on our arrival and throughout our stay. We used the swimming pool twice and the boys enjoyed using the iMac in reception. The grounds are beautiful and we sat out on the terrace. Good to have the outside play area to use for younger children. Our room was very clean and the power shower was excellent. Good choice at the breakfast buffet and novelty of the pancakes! We stayed over into the afternoon before our flight. So convenient and a stress free 5 minute drive to Newcastle airport. Have recommended the hotel to our friends and would certainly return ourselves.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHodgson, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
"Thank you very much for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Novotel Newcastle Airport. I really appreciate that you have made recommnendations to your friends. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, [General Manager Sheena Hodgson]
"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Excellent price / quality. Perfect if you have a plane to catch on the next morning. We couldn't find the entrance to the hotel with the car at first, it is badly indicated from the road. Good location, comfortable bed.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHodgson, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
"Many thanks for your kind review. I am glad my team made your stay enjoyable. [General Manager Sheena Hodgson]
"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Haag
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We stayed at the Novotel at Newcastle airport . Staff is very friendly and helpful,on site ( paid) parking was a plus . Rooms clean and beds were very comfortable.

Only downside was one of two elevators was not working and then the second stopped as well! They tried their best to get some one out to repair it , but since there were specialized spare parts needed,it didn't get done until the next day.The front desk did help people with their bags.

The nicest surprise was the Indian food at their restaurant. We had non vegetarian food from the Kerala and Tamil Nadu regions of South India. The variety and quality was a pleasant surprise this far north. Breakfast was good,buffet style.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHodgson, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
"Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. I note the comments regarding the lifts and apologise for the inconveninece which this caused.I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, [General Manager Sheena Hodgson )
"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

We got a good deal for this hotel as we needed a short stay over recently.

The room size was good and the bed was comfortable too.

The entrance was lovely with modern computers available.

The cost for breakfast was high so we didn't buy breakfast here.

All in all an OK stay.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHodgson, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
"Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. PLease look out for the pre-paid breakfast offer on Novotel.com which makes a great differnce in price. I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Kind regards, [General Manager Sheena Hodgson)
"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Novotel Newcastle Airport. We are a family but were here on business and the main thing that stood out for us were the cleanliness and the staff in the hotel. They are really friendly and helpful and respond to your inquiries very quickly and efficiently. The breakfast was delicious (perhaps expensive in a competitive market) but the produce was lovely and the staff - again couldn't be more helpful. Upon arrival, we were upgraded free of charge from a superior room to an executive room (which we were told would've been £170!) We paid the rate of a superior room but to be honest would've not been satisfied to pay £170 as the decor was a bit too old fashioned and the toilet being separate from the bathroom wasn't to our taste. However, the free wi-fi, nespresso machine, iPod doc and TV were all really nice features (and of course the extensive toiletries which were lovely products). The hotel was also spotless! Overall, we would stay again but we would prefer for the room to be at lower cost.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHodgson, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
"Thanks for your review. I am glad you had a good stay with us. See you on your next trip hopefully! Kind regards, [General Manager Sheena Hodgson )
"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Newcastle Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Newcastle Airport

Address: Ponteland Road | Kenton, Newcastle upon Tyne NE3 3HZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 83 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Novotel Newcastle Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Newcastle Airport offers state of the art facilities with stylish new design. Located 5 min drive from Newcastle International Airport now offering shuttle service and flight information screen. 126 en suite rooms including accessible rooms andinternet. Elements Bar and Restaurant. Ideally placed for conference and events with 8 rooms (200 persons) and leisure suite with indoor heated pool, sauna, gym. Easy reach of city centre night life, Metro Centre shopping and the Northumberland coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, ACCOR, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Novotel Newcastle Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Newcastle Airport Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Novotel Hotel Newcastle Airport
Novotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Upon Tyne Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Newcastle Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.