We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Novotel Newcastle Airport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Newcastle Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Newcastle Airport to your Saves list
Novotel Newcastle Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ponteland Road | Kenton, Newcastle upon Tyne NE3 3HZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Novotel Newcastle Airport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Stayed one night, a Saturday. Hotel is very nice with excellent staff. Good room, exceptional value for money. Would happily recommend stay here. Only negative was noise in corridor in early hours from young people returning from Newcastle, didn't seem to be any regatd for other guests and was a pain for at least an hour. C'est la -------- was young once myself!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sha909, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
"Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, [Sheena Hodgson General Manager ]
"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    357
    142
    53
    29
See reviews for
256
202
63
167
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

At the end of January I had occasion to stay at the Novotel Newcastle Airport. I booked three rooms, for five people, a week before our intended visit for a family funeral nearby. Due to work commitments we arrived at approximately eleven o'clock. The staff member on duty was polite and helpful, checked us in quickly and let us know that the bar was about to close in case we should require a nightcap. We took our bags up to the rooms, all on the second floor and all identical, and returned to the bar for a drink.
The Rooms
The rooms were clean and tidy with the basic facilities you would expect of an Airport hotel, Coffee/Tea, Iron /Ironing board, hair-drier and bathroom supplies. The toilet is separate from the basin and shower and although a basin in the same room as the toilet would be nice it is not a issue worth worrying over. The temperature can be controlled adequately and the double glazed windows provide ample soundproofing from the motorway.
The Hall
The hallway is standard with the addition of a shoe buffer that came in handy due to the nature of our visit. The lifts were slow to respond and on one occasion stopped before we got in though the staircase is well lit and leads straight into the lobby should you be of an able bodied, fit persuasion.
Breakfast
The breakfast is expensive if booked on the day but is approximately half the price if booked with the room. The Toby Inn, within walking distance, provides an all you can eat buffet breakfast for ~£5 including tea or coffee although the small layout becomes overwhelmed with demand. The Novotel breakfast, if bought with the room, is good value for money and a better option if in a hurry or during popular periods.
Extended Stay
We had booked all three rooms for two nights but required one of the rooms for the following evening. On asking the member of staff at the reception desk were told this would not be a problem and that even though we were on a low rate late booking the extended stay would be billed at that rate.
The Bar
The drinks in the bar are priced as expected for an airport hotel, slightly more expensive and with less choice than the Toby Inn nearby. The staff are great and even late in the evening are helpful and courteous.
The Gym,
Included in the price of the room access to the gym is available at reception. It consists of an adequate number of standard machines maintained well and very clean.
Summary
This Novotel is located well for the airport and a good place to stay for business or a short trip.
The rooms are clean and well maintained with all the expected facilities.
The breakfast is good and value for money as long as it is not paid for on the day.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sha909, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
"Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, [Sheena Hodgson General Manager "
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

very clean and comfortable room - slept extremely well. The staff were friendly and approachable and nothing was too much trouble . Room service kept to the time given and the food was excellent ( I even rang the kitchen to give my feedback ) I would recommend anyone to stay at this hotel. Well done to all staff at the hotel .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sha909, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
"Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards, [Sheena Hodgson General Manager ]
"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I recently stayed at the Novotel near Newcastle Airport in an upgraded family room. I have to say I was very pleasantly surprised at how nice it was. We had a lovely dinner and lunch the next day at the hotel restaurant. One of the best dinners we have had at a hotel and very reasonably priced as well. They paid special attention to my little one and were very family friendly. A cute little swimming pool, king sized beds, huge sofa bed and flat screen tv. For my first taste of Novotel I have to say I am very very impressed. So much so I have already booked with another Novotel in Europe and thinking about the one in Leeds now as well. Value for money is incredible. I hope the rest of the Novotels live up to the Newcastle hotel. I can't believe the hotel is only given a 3 Star rating. In my opinion it is definitely a 4 Star.

Room Tip: If you are a member of the Accor scheme you can usually get upgraded to a superior room no problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sha909, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Many thanks for posting the review on this site. I am deligted that you had a great stay with us and enjoyed the experience. As you are now looking at other properties within the Novotel chain, I can guarentee that your best price will always be available on our own websites always at Novotel.com. Many thanks again and I look forward to welcoming you back. Sheena Hodgson General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louth
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I stay at this hotel every few weeks - the staff are always warm and welcoming, to the extent I receive personal recognition whenever I stay. Should I wish it, there is a small pool, sauna and fitness equipment, which is good for a supposed 3-start property. Although it is away from the city centre, it suits me well for getting around the area when I'm working. The rooms are spacious, and well-equipped, with excellent showers.
To be recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sha909, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thanks for your recent esponse and the really positive comments in your review. Look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Regards Sheena Hodgson (General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I thought it's time to give the Novotel a big thank you!

In Feb 2012 my self and my partner decided to get married. After looking at a few venues we called into the Novotel by chance after weekly shop at the near by Tesco.
First look round and we booked there and then. The hotel has a nice modern feel to it and the staff were all friendly.
During the next 10 month we organised the whole thing with lots of help from Emma (left to pastures new) and then with Rachel. Nothing was a problem and any thing we asked about was answered quickly with no hassle.

The big day arrived mid December and everything went like clockwork!

The layout of the function room was fantastic and all our guests commented on the great food during both the day and night time. The bar staff (Amy &co) were brill and had great 'craik' with everyone.

The bed rooms were nice, clean and comfortable and can't be faulted. Our 2 kids sadly were not very well on the day beacuse of a winter bug. I asked Rachel if an extra bed could be put in our bed room so they could be looked after and it was sorted straight away!

All in all for a wedding function we were so glad we chose the Novotel. Great relaxed modern hotel with staff that were fantastic. All our guests have commented on how nice the day was. Oh and the price?!?! It cost less than half of the quotes we had from some other venues!!!!

Special thanks to Rachel & Stewart. Going the extra mile to help the day go so well was good of you both.

A geat day with great friends in a fantastic place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sha909, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Many thanks for placing your review. I am delighted that you had a great experience and look forward to welcoming you back for any future events and celebrations. Regards Sheena Hodgson General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Newcastle Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Newcastle Airport

Address: Ponteland Road | Kenton, Newcastle upon Tyne NE3 3HZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Novotel Newcastle Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Newcastle Airport offers state of the art facilities with stylish new design. Located 5 min drive from Newcastle International Airport now offering shuttle service and flight information screen. 126 en suite rooms including accessible rooms andinternet. Elements Bar and Restaurant. Ideally placed for conference and events with 8 rooms (200 persons) and leisure suite with indoor heated pool, sauna, gym. Easy reach of city centre night life, Metro Centre shopping and the Northumberland coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, ACCOR, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Novotel Newcastle Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Newcastle Airport Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Novotel Hotel Newcastle Airport
Novotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Upon Tyne Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Newcastle Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.